WhatsApp is on the way.

You can already ask questions on the web or through Telegram.

On WebFull chat with charts, sources and follow-ups.TelegramSame answers, inside the app you already use.
Back to officials/NigeriaTHE PUBLIC RECORD
Current office

Shettima Kashim

Vice President of Nigeria

This term: 29 May 2023–present

Shettima KashimTHE PERSON

How to reach

Each line shows where it comes from. A listed contact is not proof it is answered or current.

Phone
Not yet on record
Suggest one
Email
Not yet on record
Suggest one
Office address
Not yet on record
All Progressives Congress (APC) national secretariat: No. 40 Blantyre Street, Wuse II, Abuja, Nigeria. This is the party’s office, not this person’s.Suggest one
Public life, in context

The record
over time.

Kashim Shettima is the Vice President of Nigeria, in office since 29 May 2023, and is again the All Progressives Congress (APC) vice-presidential candidate, as running mate to President Bola Tinubu, for the election of 16 January 2027. He was born on 2 September 1966 in Maiduguri, Borno State. His full name is Kashim Shettima Mustapha, and INEC lists him surname-first as "Shettima Kashim". He is married to Nana Shettima (née…

Read the full account

Kashim Shettima is the Vice President of Nigeria, in office since 29 May 2023, and is again the All Progressives Congress (APC) vice-presidential candidate, as running mate to President Bola Tinubu, for the election of 16 January 2027. He was born on 2 September 1966 in Maiduguri, Borno State. His full name is Kashim Shettima Mustapha, and INEC lists him surname-first as "Shettima Kashim". He is married to Nana Shettima (née Nana Usman Alkali), and they have three children. He attended Lamisula Primary School in Maiduguri and secondary schools in Biu and Potiskum, sitting his school certificate in 1983. He graduated from the University of Maiduguri in 1989 with a Second Class Upper degree, described as Agriculture on his INEC filing and as Agricultural Economics in his official biography, did national service in Calabar and took an M.Sc. in Agricultural Economics at the University of Ibadan in 1991. He lectured at the University of Maiduguri from 1991 to 1993 and then worked in banking, at Commercial Bank of Africa in Lagos, African International Bank in Kaduna and, from 2001, Zenith Bank, where he rose to General Manager. In 2007 he joined Governor Ali Modu Sheriff's cabinet as Borno Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development, later holding the local government, education, agriculture and health portfolios. After the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) governorship candidate, Modu Fannami Gubio, was shot dead by gunmen on 28 January 2011, the party chose Shettima at a fresh primary on 9 February 2011. He won the April 2011 election, and the PDP's challenge to it ended in his favour at the Supreme Court in February 2012. He became an APC governor when the ANPP merged into the APC in July 2013, was re-elected in April 2015, governed through the Boko Haram insurgency and chaired the Northern States Governors' Forum from 2015 to 2019. Elected Senator for Borno Central in February 2019, he chaired the Senate Committee on Interior. Tinubu named him running mate on 10 July 2022 and he gave up his Senate re-election ticket; suits by the PDP and others claiming a "double nomination" failed at every level, the Supreme Court holding on 26 May 2023 that the PDP had no standing. The ticket won the February 2023 election, and petitions by the Labour Party and the Allied Peoples Movement that named him were dismissed or withdrawn by October 2023. As Vice President he chairs the National Economic Council. He holds the national honour of GCON (2023) and honorary doctorates from the University of Maiduguri and Gombe State University. Several allegations have been made against him without any finding. In January 2012 a Boko Haram bombing suspect was arrested at the Borno governor's lodge in Abuja; the state government denied any link. In 2014 a presidential aide suggested the governor knew the truth about the Chibok abduction, which his office rejected; the fact-finding committee's report was never published. The EFCC denied a 2017 social-media claim that it had raided his residence, and a 2024 allegation about North East Development Commission contracts led only to police petitions by his supporters. None of these produced a charge or a published finding against him.

01 → 02 → 03

What happened. What was said.
What the evidence establishes.

Start with the questions

What should
citizens know?

Read the role, the response and the outcome together.

Follow the chapters

A life in the public record.

55 linked entries · 113 distinct source links
Review dates are separate from event dates.

55 entries · Whole record

1966

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Early lifeProfile record

Born

Shettima Kashim was born on 2 Sept 1966.

Sources not yet linked

1972

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Education & qualificationsReviewed record

Lamisula I Primary School

Certificate of Primary Education (FSLC)

Location
Maiduguri, Borno State
Institution
Primary

Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

1978

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Education & qualificationsReviewed record

Government Community Secondary School, Biu

Transferred to Potiskum in 1980

Location
Biu, Borno State
Institution
Secondary

Attendance recorded; qualification not completed.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

1980

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Education & qualificationsReviewed record

Government Science Secondary School, Potiskum

West African School Certificate / GCE (WAEC, June 1983)

Location
Potiskum (then Borno, now Yobe State)
Institution
Secondary

Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

1989

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Education & qualificationsReviewed record

University of Maiduguri

Second Class Upper degree in Agriculture, August 1989 (INEC Form EC9 wording) · Agriculture per 2027 INEC Form EC9; Agricultural Economics per State House, BLERF and press biographies

Location
Maiduguri, Borno State
Institution
University

Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Education & qualificationsReviewed record

National Youth Service Corps (NYSC)

NYSC discharge certificate (October 1989 – October 1990)

Location
Nigerian Agricultural Cooperative Bank, Calabar, Cross River State
Institution
Program

Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

1990

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Education & qualificationsReviewed record

University of Ibadan

M.Sc. Agricultural Economics · Agricultural Economics

Location
Ibadan, Oyo State
Institution
Masters

Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

1991

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Lecturer

University of Maiduguri, Department of Agricultural Economics

Industry
Academia
Employment
Employee

Lecturer after his M.Sc. at Ibadan and before his banking career. BLERF gives only 1993 (the year he left); news profiles give 1991–1993.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

1993

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Head of Accounts Unit

Commercial Bank of Africa Limited (defunct)

Industry
Banking
Employment
Employee

Ikeja office, Lagos. Some profiles call the role Agricultural Economist. Whether this was the Nigerian Commercial Bank (Crédit Lyonnais Nigeria) under another name is unresolved.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

1997

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Deputy Manager, then Manager

African International Bank (AIB) Limited, Kaduna Branch

Industry
Banking
Employment
Employee

Joined as Deputy Manager and became Manager in 2001. In his own April 2023 post he said he headed the branch's Corporate Banking Department when Mamman Daura chaired the board.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2001

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Branch Head, Maiduguri; later General Manager (North-East)

Zenith Bank

Industry
Banking
Employment
Employee

Pre-political banking career. Joined Zenith Bank in 2001 as head of its main Maiduguri branch and rose to Senior Manager, Assistant General Manager and Deputy General Manager/Zonal Head (North-East), becoming a General Manager before leaving banking in mid-2007 to become Borno State Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development. Earlier banking roles: Agricultural Economist…

Read the full account

Pre-political banking career. Joined Zenith Bank in 2001 as head of its main Maiduguri branch and rose to Senior Manager, Assistant General Manager and Deputy General Manager/Zonal Head (North-East), becoming a General Manager before leaving banking in mid-2007 to become Borno State Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development. Earlier banking roles: Agricultural Economist / head of accounts at the defunct Commercial Bank of Africa Limited, Ikeja, Lagos (1993-1997), then Deputy Manager and later Manager at African International Bank Limited, Kaduna Branch (1997-2001).

Reviewed 25 Sept 2026

2007

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Public appointment & advisory workReviewed record

Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development

Borno State Government (Executive Council)

Industry
Public administration

His first public office, taken in mid-2007 straight from Zenith Bank in Governor Ali Modu Sheriff's second-term cabinet. Only the years are known; the move to Local Government is dated 2008.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2008

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Public appointment & advisory workReviewed record

Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs

Borno State Government (Executive Council)

Industry
Public administration

Year-level dates only (Punch 2022 profile); no contemporary report was found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2009

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Public appointment & advisory workReviewed record

Commissioner for Education

Borno State Government (Executive Council)

Industry
Public administration

Year-level dates only. By January 2010 he was Commissioner for Agriculture, and by February 2010 Education was held by Dr Asabe Vilita Bashir.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Public appointment & advisory workReviewed record

Commissioner for Agriculture and Natural Resources

Borno State Government (Executive Council)

Industry
Public administration

Named in the post in January 2010 and still listed under Agriculture at a council vote in early January 2011; he appears to have moved to Health in January 2011. The start day was not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2011

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Public appointment & advisory workReviewed record

Commissioner for Health

Borno State Government (Executive Council)

Industry
Public administration

His last cabinet post, from about January 2011; he held it when the ANPP chose him as governorship candidate on 9 February 2011 and was still called commissioner on 20 February 2011. The day he left the cabinet was not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Party primaryReviewed record

2011 Governorship primary

Borno

Primary result
Won
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Recorded winner
Kashim Shettima (ANPP, affirmed unopposed)

All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) Borno governorship primary, re-run. At the first primary, in the early hours of 14 January 2011 in Maiduguri, Finance Commissioner Modu Fannami Gubio beat Deputy Governor Adamu Shettima Dibal 515 to 169 (709 votes cast); Shettima did not take part. Gubio was shot dead by gunmen in Maiduguri on 28 January 2011; the killers were never identified.…

Read the full account

All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) Borno governorship primary, re-run. At the first primary, in the early hours of 14 January 2011 in Maiduguri, Finance Commissioner Modu Fannami Gubio beat Deputy Governor Adamu Shettima Dibal 515 to 169 (709 votes cast); Shettima did not take part. Gubio was shot dead by gunmen in Maiduguri on 28 January 2011; the killers were never identified. ANPP stakeholders settled on Shettima, then Commissioner for Health, around 7 February 2011, and at a fresh primary ordered by INEC he was affirmed unopposed by delegates at about 2am on 9 February 2011 at Forshams Event Centre, Maiduguri. No delegate count was reported.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Election participationReviewed record

2011 Governorship election

Borno

Result
Won
Votes
531,147
Recorded winner
Kashim Shettima (ANPP)

Won on the ANPP ticket with 531,147 votes to 450,140 for Mohammed Goni (PDP) and 51,378 for Mustapha Baba Shehuri (CPC), carrying 23 of 27 LGAs. The declaration day was not found (probably 27 April 2011), and no vote share is stored because total votes cast was not found. Goni and the PDP petitioned; the tribunal dismissed the petition on 12 November 2011, the Court of Appeal…

Read the full account

Won on the ANPP ticket with 531,147 votes to 450,140 for Mohammed Goni (PDP) and 51,378 for Mustapha Baba Shehuri (CPC), carrying 23 of 27 LGAs. The declaration day was not found (probably 27 April 2011), and no vote share is stored because total votes cast was not found. Goni and the PDP petitioned; the tribunal dismissed the petition on 12 November 2011, the Court of Appeal ordered a retrial, and on 17 February 2012 the Supreme Court restored the dismissal. He was sworn in on 29 May 2011 as an ANPP governor and became an APC governor when INEC registered the ANPP–ACN–CPC merger on 31 July 2013.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
ElectedReviewed record

Governor

Borno

  1. Took office

  2. Service ended

Status
Ended
Party on this record
APC

Recorded periods in this office: 29 May 2011 – 29 May 2015; 29 May 2015 – 29 May 2019 (APC).

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2013

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Most Environmental Friendly Governor

Given to Borno State on 15 August 2013 for anti-desertification work and presented to the governor on 23 August 2013. Single source.

Awarded by
National Productivity Centre
Category
Other award

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Party membershipReviewed record

All Progressives Congress (APC)

Member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) since 31 July 2013, when INEC registered the merger of the ANPP, ACN and CPC; as a sitting ANPP governor he became APC on registration, with no separate defection, and he appeared at the party's Lafia rally in August 2013. Before that he was in the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP), Borno's ruling party, from about 2007, when he joined Governor Ali Modu Sheriff's cabinet (low confidence: the Borno government called him "new in the…

Read the full account

Member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) since 31 July 2013, when INEC registered the merger of the ANPP, ACN and CPC; as a sitting ANPP governor he became APC on registration, with no separate defection, and he appeared at the party's Lafia rally in August 2013. Before that he was in the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP), Borno's ruling party, from about 2007, when he joined Governor Ali Modu Sheriff's cabinet (low confidence: the Borno government called him "new in the ANPP" in 2007, and Wikipedia's "ANPP (1999–2013)" is unsourced); the ANPP has no party record here. He stayed in the APC when Sheriff left for the PDP in 2014, and was its candidate for Borno governor (2015), Borno Central senator (2019) and Vice President (2023, and again for 2027). INEC's final list for the 16 January 2027 election records him as the APC vice-presidential candidate on Bola Tinubu's ticket. No formal party office was found.

Current affiliation in the reviewed membership record.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2014

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Party primaryReviewed record

2015 Governorship primary

All Progressives Congress · Borno

Primary result
Won
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Votes
4,520
Recorded winner
Kashim Shettima (sole aspirant)

APC Borno governorship primary for the 2015 election, held on the evening of Friday 5 December 2014 at El-Kanemi Sports Centre, Maiduguri. He was the only aspirant (the others stepped down days earlier) and was affirmed by 4,520 delegates; the vote figure is that delegate count.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2015

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

LEADERSHIP Governor of the Year 2014

Citation published 23 September 2015; presented at the LEADERSHIP Conference and Awards, Sheraton Hotel, Abuja, on 7 October 2015. BLERF lists it twice ("2014 Governor of the Year" and "Leadership, Governor of the Year, 2015"); there was only one.

Awarded by
LEADERSHIP Newspapers Group
Category
Media award

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Vanguard Governor of the Year 2015

Announced on 30 December 2015, shared with Adams Oshiomhole, Ibikunle Amosun and Ibrahim Dankwambo. BLERF dates it 2016.

Awarded by
Vanguard Media Ltd
Category
Media award

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Public appointment & advisory workReviewed record

Chairman

Northern States Governors' Forum

Industry
Public administration

Elected on 18 May 2015 to succeed Niger's Babangida Aliyu (the handover day was not found) and served until his governorship ended on 29 May 2019, when Plateau's Simon Lalong took over.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Election participationReviewed record

2015 Governorship election

All Progressives Congress · Borno

Result
Won
Votes
649,913
Vote share
94.17%
Recorded winner
Kashim Shettima (APC)

Re-elected with 649,913 of 690,182 votes cast (94.17%); Gambo Lawan of the PDP came second (34,771 per Daily Post; Wikipedia has 34,731). INEC returning officer Prof. Yaganami Karta declared the result on 13 April 2015. Sworn in for a second term on 29 May 2015 at Ramat Square, Maiduguri.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2016

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Best Returned Governor of the Year 2015

Presented in Abuja on or about 21 February 2016 and received on his behalf by Deputy Governor Usman Mamman Durkwa. BLERF calls it "Governor of the Year, 2015".

Awarded by
Newswatch Times
Category
Media award

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2017

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Award of Excellence (FCT NUJ Merit Award)

For his handling of the Boko Haram crisis; presented on 28 October 2017 at the close of the NUJ FCT Council Press Week in Abuja and received on his behalf by aide Isa Gusau.

Awarded by
Nigeria Union of Journalists, FCT Council
Category
Media award

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Tell Governor of the Year 2016

Cited "for his rare courage and demonstrable leadership skills in managing the Boko Haram insurgency"; announced in Maiduguri (reported 15 May 2017) for conferment at the first Tell Awards for Excellence in Lagos, slated for 17 June 2017. BLERF merges it with the Zik Prize.

Awarded by
Tell Communications (Tell magazine)
Category
Media award

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Zik Prize for Leadership 2017

Presented in Lagos on the night of 4 June 2017 and received on his behalf by former Borno Deputy Governor Adamu Yuguda Dibal. BLERF attributes it to Tell magazine.

Awarded by
Public Policy Research and Analysis Centre (PPRAC)
Category
Other award

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2018

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

KADCCIMA Award of Excellence

Presented in Kaduna on the weekend of 10–11 November 2018 "in recognition of inspiring and stabilizing leadership role". Single source.

Awarded by
Kaduna Chamber of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture
Category
Other award

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Party primaryReviewed record

2019 Senate primary

All Progressives Congress · Borno Central · Borno

Primary result
Won
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Votes
2,735
Vote share
99.82%
Recorded winner
Kashim Shettima

APC Borno Central senatorial primary for the 2019 election. He polled 2,735 votes to 5 for Alhaji Ali Wurge (the share is computed, not reported). Committee chairman Ahmed Almaduzu announced the result on Thursday 4 October 2018, the date stored here; voting may have begun on 3 October.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2019

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Election participationReviewed record

2019 Senate election

All Progressives Congress · Borno Central · Borno

Result
Won
Votes
342,898
Vote share
80.9%
Recorded winner
Kashim Shettima (APC)

Elected with 342,898 votes to 75,506 for Mohammed Abba-Aji (PDP); returning officer Prof. Yusuf Yusuf declared the result on 26 February 2019. The 80.90% share is from Wikipedia citing the INEC result sheet, which could not be opened. Abba-Aji's petition was dismissed on 14 May 2019. He took his seat when the 9th Senate was inaugurated on 11 June 2019 and left it on 29 May…

Read the full account

Elected with 342,898 votes to 75,506 for Mohammed Abba-Aji (PDP); returning officer Prof. Yusuf Yusuf declared the result on 26 February 2019. The 80.90% share is from Wikipedia citing the INEC result sheet, which could not be opened. Abba-Aji's petition was dismissed on 14 May 2019. He took his seat when the 9th Senate was inaugurated on 11 June 2019 and left it on 29 May 2023, when he was sworn in as Vice President (no separate resignation letter was found; the Senate term itself ran to 11 June 2023).

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
ElectedReviewed record

Senator

Borno Central · Borno

Status
Ended
Party on this record
APC

Reason recorded for departure: Resigned.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Committee & oversightReviewed record

Senate Committee on Interior

Chair · Senate

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Legislation & decisionsReviewed record

Geospatial Information Regulation Bill, 2019

Senate bill SB. 131, sponsored by Sen. Kashim Shettima (Borno, APC). Recorded at First Reading in the 9th Senate (1st Session) on 7 November 2019.

Role
Sponsor
Stage recorded
First Reading
Chamber
Senate
Bill number
SB. 131
Stage date
7 Nov 2019

A bill’s stage, spending and delivery are separate facts.

Reviewed 25 Sept 2026

2023

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Party primaryReviewed record

2023 Senate primary

All Progressives Congress · Borno Central · Borno

Primary result
Withdrawn
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Recorded winner
Kashim Shettima (unopposed); replaced by Kaka Shehu Lawan

Won the APC ticket to return as Borno Central senator unopposed at the primaries held in Maiduguri in the last week of May 2022 (Daily Trust reported it on 29 May 2022; the exact day was not found). He gave up the ticket after Tinubu named him running mate on 10 July 2022. The Supreme Court (SC/CV/501/2023, 26 May 2023) found on the evidence that he withdrew as senatorial…

Read the full account

Won the APC ticket to return as Borno Central senator unopposed at the primaries held in Maiduguri in the last week of May 2022 (Daily Trust reported it on 29 May 2022; the exact day was not found). He gave up the ticket after Tinubu named him running mate on 10 July 2022. The Supreme Court (SC/CV/501/2023, 26 May 2023) found on the evidence that he withdrew as senatorial candidate on 6 July 2022, the date relied on here; the PDP argued he withdrew on 15 July 2022, the Action Alliance suit said his vice-presidential form EC9 went in on 15 July, and Daily Trust dates the submission of his name to INEC to 14 July 2022. Borno Attorney-General Kaka Shehu Lawan won the replacement primary on 14 July 2022.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Assets & financial disclosuresReviewed record

Asset disclosure record · 2023

Kashim Shettima submitted an asset declaration to the Code of Conduct Bureau on assuming office as Vice President, ahead of the 29 May 2023 inauguration (asset declaration is a constitutional precondition to swearing-in). The declared contents have not been made public: the CCB did not respond to a June 2023 Freedom of Information request for details of the assets declared by President Tinubu and Vice President Shettima, and SERAP has repeatedly (Dec 2024, 2026) urged that…

Read the full account

Kashim Shettima submitted an asset declaration to the Code of Conduct Bureau on assuming office as Vice President, ahead of the 29 May 2023 inauguration (asset declaration is a constitutional precondition to swearing-in). The declared contents have not been made public: the CCB did not respond to a June 2023 Freedom of Information request for details of the assets declared by President Tinubu and Vice President Shettima, and SERAP has repeatedly (Dec 2024, 2026) urged that their asset declarations be published. No asset values or asset items are on the public record.

Reported to
Code of Conduct Bureau
Recorded component value
No amount published in this record

Read the source to distinguish a declaration, a reported submission and an investigation. A component value is not a current net-worth estimate.

Reviewed 25 Sept 2026
Public appointment & advisory workReviewed record

Chairman (ex officio, as Vice President)

National Economic Council

Industry
Public administration

The 1999 Constitution (Third Schedule, Part I) makes the Vice President chairman of the National Economic Council; he has chaired it since taking office on 29 May 2023.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

D.Sc. (honoris causa)

Conferred by his alma mater at its 24th combined convocation on 18 November 2023.

Awarded by
University of Maiduguri
Category
Honorary doctorate

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Enyi Ndigbo

"Friend of the Igbo people"; conferred at the 32nd Ofala festival of Ukpo on 23 December 2023.

Awarded by
Igwe Robert Eze, Igwe of Ukpo, Dunukofia LGA, Anambra State
Category
Traditional title

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Enyioma Ndigbo

"A good friend of the Igbo people"; conferred in Bende, Abia State, on 29 December 2023 at the unveiling of the Peace in the South East Project.

Awarded by
Eze Linus Mbah, Chairman, Abia State Council of Traditional Rulers
Category
Traditional title

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON)

Conferred on Vice President-elect Kashim Shettima on 25 May 2023 by President Muhammadu Buhari at the investiture of national honours held at the Old Banquet Hall, Presidential Villa, Abuja, as part of the 2023 presidential inauguration programme. Under the Honours Award Act 1963 (LFN 2004), Nigeria's Vice Presidents are awarded the GCON, the second-highest national honour.

Awarded by
President Muhammadu Buhari
Category
National honour

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 25 Sept 2026
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Honorary Doctorate (honoris causa)

Announced on 6 October 2023 for conferment at the university's combined 10th–13th convocation; the convocation day and degree type were not found.

Awarded by
Gombe State University
Category
Honorary doctorate

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Election participationReviewed record

2023 Vice-presidential election

All Progressives Congress

Result
Won
Votes
8,794,726
Vote share
36.61%
Recorded winner
Bola Ahmed Tinubu (President) / Kashim Shettima (Vice President)

Running mate to Bola Tinubu on the APC ticket. Tinubu had filed Kabiru Masari as a placeholder running mate in June 2022, announced Shettima in Katsina on Sunday 10 July 2022 and unveiled him in Abuja on 20 July 2022 (some profiles wrongly date the pick to 20 July). The ticket won the 25 February 2023 poll with 8,794,726 of 24,025,940 valid votes (share computed); INEC declared…

Read the full account

Running mate to Bola Tinubu on the APC ticket. Tinubu had filed Kabiru Masari as a placeholder running mate in June 2022, announced Shettima in Katsina on Sunday 10 July 2022 and unveiled him in Abuja on 20 July 2022 (some profiles wrongly date the pick to 20 July). The ticket won the 25 February 2023 poll with 8,794,726 of 24,025,940 valid votes (share computed); INEC declared the result at 4:10am on 1 March 2023. The Presidential Election Petition Court upheld it on 6 September 2023 and the Supreme Court on 26 October 2023. Sworn in on 29 May 2023.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
ElectedReviewed record

Vice President

Nigeria

Status
Current term
Party on this record
APC
Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Electoral caseDismissed
The record

APM v. INEC, APC, Bola Tinubu, Kashim Shettima & Kabiru Masari

Role in this matter
Respondent
Record type
Adjudicated
Court / authority
Presidential Election Petition Court (Court of Appeal), Abuja
Court file
CA/PEPC/04/2023

Being named in a court record does not by itself establish wrongdoing. A claimant, respondent and legal representative have different roles.

Response on record

No separate response is linked. Read the court outcome and the original sources for the full account.

Last documented outcome

Dismissed

Petition dismissed. The PEPC held that the complaint about the nomination/double nomination of Kashim Shettima as APC vice-presidential candidate was a pre-election matter outside its jurisdiction, that the petitioner (APM) lacked locus standi to challenge another party's nomination process, and that Shettima was not guilty of double nomination (he had withdrawn his Borno Central senatorial candidacy after being nominated as running mate).

Dated entries in this matter 1 entry
  1. Outcome recorded · Dismissed

    Petition dismissed. The PEPC held that the complaint about the nomination/double nomination of Kashim Shettima as APC vice-presidential candidate was a pre-election matter outside its jurisdiction, that the petitioner (APM) lacked locus standi to challenge another party's nomination process, and that Shettima was not guilty of double nomination (he had withdrawn his Borno Central senatorial candidacy after being nominated as running mate).

Sources reviewed 25 Sept 2026

2024

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Economic Advisory Leadership award

Presented at the second Economic Confidential lecture and book launch in Abuja (reported 14 August 2024). Reported only by the organiser's own outlet.

Awarded by
Economic Confidential
Category
Media award

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Fellow, Capital Market Academics of Nigeria (FCMA)

The association's highest membership status, conferred at the State House, Abuja, on 17 September 2024.

Awarded by
Capital Market Academics of Nigeria (CMAN)
Category
Professional fellowship

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2025

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Distinguished Fellow, Nigerian Economic Society

Conferred on 8 September 2025 at the society's 66th Annual Conference in Abuja.

Awarded by
Nigerian Economic Society
Category
Professional fellowship

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Herbert Wigwe Award for Excellence

Billed for the festival's opening night in Lagos on 2 November 2025; whether he attended or was represented was not reported.

Awarded by
Africa International Film Festival (AFRIFF)
Category
Other award

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

UI at 75 Ambassador Plenipotentiary

The university's highest alumni award, presented at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, on 25 July 2025.

Awarded by
University of Ibadan
Category
Alumni award

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2026

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Honours & recognitionReviewed record

Odoziani 1 of Aniocha

"The one who restores the glory of the land"; conferred on 18 April 2026 during a condolence visit to the Elumelu family home at Onicha-Olona. The conferring ruler was not named.

Awarded by
Aniocha community, Delta State
Category
Traditional title

An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2027

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Election participationReviewed record

2027 Vice-presidential election

All Progressives Congress

Result
Pending

INEC final list of candidates (Presidential), published 2026-09-12 — SN 6; INEC name: SHETTIMA KASHIM; age 59; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC GENERAL CERTIFICATE OF EDUCATION B.Sc Running mate to President Bola Tinubu again. The APC confirmed the ticket on Friday 10 July 2026, when the nomination forms were handed to the party chairman a day before INEC's 11…

Read the full account

INEC final list of candidates (Presidential), published 2026-09-12 — SN 6; INEC name: SHETTIMA KASHIM; age 59; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC GENERAL CERTIFICATE OF EDUCATION B.Sc Running mate to President Bola Tinubu again. The APC confirmed the ticket on Friday 10 July 2026, when the nomination forms were handed to the party chairman a day before INEC's 11 July upload deadline; Tinubu later presented him with a running-mate certificate (reported 16 July 2026). INEC listed him on its final list of 12 September 2026. Poll day is 16 January 2027.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

Dates not recorded

KEPT OUTSIDE THE DATED CHRONOLOGY
Public family connectionReviewed record

Nana Shettima

Spouse

Context
A family relationship alone does not establish influence or wrongdoing

Second Lady of Nigeria since 29 May 2023 (wife of Vice President Kashim Shettima); First Lady of Borno State 2011-2019. Maiden name Nana Usman Alkali; married Kashim Shettima in 1998. Born 22 July 1975 in Kano State.

Reviewed 25 Sept 2026
The unwritten pages

What else should
citizens be able to see?

A useful profile shows the limits of its evidence as clearly as the evidence itself.

Contribute a sourced record
Spending & project delivery

This profile does not yet link expenditure or completed projects to documented responsibility. Approval alone does not establish delivery.

How sources and review work

A reviewed source may establish that an allegation was made; it does not establish guilt. Open each record’s sources to read its evidence. Historical reporting may not establish a case’s current status.

Help improve the record

Community proposals (0)

Suggest a correction ↗

Suggestions from the community, awaiting review. These are not verified profile facts. Votes help reviewers assess suggestions; they do not establish whether a claim is true.

No community proposals are awaiting review. Know something missing or incorrect? Suggest a correction and include a source.

Public life. In public view.

Profile viewed 29 Sept 2026. Each record carries its own event and source-review dates.

Back to the record ↑
OurNigeria · Source file