WhatsApp is on the way.

You can already ask questions on the web or through Telegram.

On WebFull chat with charts, sources and follow-ups.TelegramSame answers, inside the app you already use.
Back to officials/Abia Central · AbiaTHE PUBLIC RECORD
Former office

Darlington Nwokocha

Senator for Abia Central Senatorial District, Abia State

13 Jun 2023 – 4 Nov 2023

Darlington NwokochaTHE PERSON

How to reach

Each line shows where it comes from. A listed contact is not proof it is answered or current.

Phone
Not yet on record
Suggest one
Email
Not yet on record
Suggest one
Office address
Not yet on record
Suggest one
Public life, in context

The record
over time.

Darlington Nwokocha (listed by INEC as Nwokocha Darlington Gideon, 59) is the Labour Party (LP) candidate for Abia Central Senatorial District in the Senate election of 16 January 2027 (INEC final list, 12 September 2026). His home town is Umungalagu, Eziama Nvosi, in Isiala Ngwa South LGA. He served two terms in the Abia State House of Assembly (2007-2015) on the PDP, for Isiala Ngwa South according to Leadership and Daily…

Read the full account

Darlington Nwokocha (listed by INEC as Nwokocha Darlington Gideon, 59) is the Labour Party (LP) candidate for Abia Central Senatorial District in the Senate election of 16 January 2027 (INEC final list, 12 September 2026). His home town is Umungalagu, Eziama Nvosi, in Isiala Ngwa South LGA. He served two terms in the Abia State House of Assembly (2007-2015) on the PDP, for Isiala Ngwa South according to Leadership and Daily Trust (OrderPaper says Isiala Ngwa North). He represented the Isiala Ngwa North/Isiala Ngwa South federal constituency in the House of Representatives from 2015 to 2023, receiving his certificate of return in April 2015 and being re-elected on the PDP in the election of 23 February 2019. He chaired the House Committee on Insurance and Actuarial Matters in the 9th House, was deputy chairman of the Federal Character committee, and chaired ad hoc committees on Niger-Delta Power Holding, a pipeline explosion and fire in Rivers State, and the failure of the NHIS. In July 2021 the Abia PDP chairman called him a "true party man". In June 2022 he moved from the PDP to the LP and won its Abia Central Senate primary unopposed on 7 June 2022. INEC returned him elected on 27 February 2023 (92,116 votes; Austin Akobundu of the PDP second). He was sworn in with the 10th Senate and named Senate Minority Whip on 4 July 2023; he was also vice chairman of the Senate committee on NDDC. The tribunal in Umuahia dismissed Akobundu's petition on 11 September 2023, but on 4 November 2023 the Court of Appeal held that Nwokocha's name was not on the LP membership register submitted to INEC and declared Akobundu elected. The LP rejected the verdict; the Court of Appeal in Abuja (N5 million costs) and the Supreme Court on 12 December 2023 (N2 million costs) dismissed his motions to review it. He became secretary of the LP National Caretaker Committee on 4 September 2024 and Interim National Secretary of the Nenadi Usman-led committee on 18 July 2025, and was still acting national secretary in February 2026; the rival Julius Abure-led faction announced his suspension on 7 May 2025. At the party's convention on 28 April 2026 Iheanacho Obioma was elected National Secretary. He was elected Global President of the University of Port Harcourt Alumni Association on 21 June 2025, and emerged as the LP's consensus candidate for Abia Central at its primary of 30 May 2026.

01 → 02 → 03

What happened. What was said.
What the evidence establishes.

Start with the questions

What should
citizens know?

Read the role, the response and the outcome together.

The available record starts elsewhere.

No publishable court or accountability record is linked. This does not establish the absence of wrongdoing. Explore the documented service, elections and background below.

Follow the chapters

A life in the public record.

20 linked entries · 31 distinct source links
Review dates are separate from event dates.

20 entries · Whole record

1992

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Education & qualificationsReviewed record

University of Port Harcourt

B.Sc. Management · Management

Location
Port Harcourt, Rivers State
Institution
University

Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026

2007

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Member for Isiala Ngwa South state constituency

Abia State House of Assembly

Industry
legislature

Two terms (2007-2015) in the Abia State House of Assembly, on the PDP. Leadership and Daily Trust (2024) give Isiala Ngwa South; OrderPaper says Isiala Ngwa North. Stored as a career because the Assembly inauguration days were not sourced.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026

2015

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Election participationReviewed record

2015 House of Representatives election

Isiala Ngwa North/Isiala Ngwa South · Abia

Result
Won
Recorded winner
Darlington Nwokocha

2015 general election for Isiala Ngwa North/Isiala Ngwa South federal constituency; INEC presented him the certificate of return in April 2015 (Daily Trust, 17 April 2015). Poll day, votes and party not stated in the sources found (he was a PDP member of the Abia Assembly until 2015 and re-elected on the PDP in 2019).

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026
ElectedReviewed record

Federal Representative

Isiala Ngwa North/Isiala Ngwa South · Abia

  1. Took office

  2. Service ended

Status
Ended
Party on this record
PDP

Recorded periods in this office: 9 Jun 2015 – 11 Jun 2019; 11 Jun 2019 – 13 Jun 2023 (PDP).

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026

2019

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Election participationReviewed record

2019 House of Representatives election

Peoples Democratic Party · Isiala Ngwa North/Isiala Ngwa South · Abia

Result
Won
Recorded winner
Darlington Nwokocha

National Assembly election of Saturday 23 February 2019: INEC declared him (PDP) winner for Isiala Ngwa North/Isiala Ngwa South; the APGA candidate, Bishop Emeka Nwankpa, called for the election to be cancelled. Vote totals not found in a fetched source.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026

2022

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Party primaryReviewed record

2023 Senate primary

Labour Party · Abia Central · Abia

Primary result
Won
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Recorded winner
Darlington Nwokocha

LP Abia Central senatorial primary: he ran unopposed and emerged candidate on 7 June 2022 (his own campaign website; votes not published). He had declared his move from the PDP to the LP in June 2022.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026

2023

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Minority Whip

Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (10th Senate)

Industry
legislature

Named Senate Minority Whip (principal officer) by Senate President Godswill Akpabio on 4 July 2023; served until the Court of Appeal judgment of 4 November 2023 removed him from the Senate.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026
Election participationReviewed record

2023 Senate election

Labour Party · Abia Central · Abia

Result
Lost
Votes
92,116
Recorded winner
Austin Akobundu

Poll of 25 February 2023. On 27 February 2023 INEC (returning officer Prof. Herbert Udo) returned Nwokocha (LP) elected with 92,116 votes; Austin Akobundu (PDP) 41,447 per NAN/Daily Post (Punch: 41,477), Samuel Onuigbo (APC) 7,997. The tribunal in Umuahia dismissed Akobundu's petition on 11 September 2023; on 4 November 2023 the Court of Appeal (Owerri Division, sitting in…

Read the full account

Poll of 25 February 2023. On 27 February 2023 INEC (returning officer Prof. Herbert Udo) returned Nwokocha (LP) elected with 92,116 votes; Austin Akobundu (PDP) 41,447 per NAN/Daily Post (Punch: 41,477), Samuel Onuigbo (APC) 7,997. The tribunal in Umuahia dismissed Akobundu's petition on 11 September 2023; on 4 November 2023 the Court of Appeal (Owerri Division, sitting in Lagos) held Nwokocha was not on the LP membership register submitted to INEC and declared Akobundu duly elected. Review motions were dismissed by the Court of Appeal, Abuja (reported 8 December 2023) and the Supreme Court (12 December 2023).

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026
ElectedReviewed record

Senator

Abia Central · Abia

Status
Ended
Party on this record
LP

Reason recorded for departure: Tribunal sacked.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026

2024

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

National Secretary (Caretaker / Interim)

Labour Party (LP)

Industry
politics

Secretary of the 29-member National Caretaker Committee (chaired by Nenadi Usman) announced on 4 September 2024; Interim National Secretary when the party adopted the Usman-led Interim National Working Committee on 18 July 2025; described as National Secretary / Acting National Secretary in February 2026. At the national convention in Umuahia on 28 April 2026 Iheanacho Obioma…

Read the full account

Secretary of the 29-member National Caretaker Committee (chaired by Nenadi Usman) announced on 4 September 2024; Interim National Secretary when the party adopted the Usman-led Interim National Working Committee on 18 July 2025; described as National Secretary / Acting National Secretary in February 2026. At the national convention in Umuahia on 28 April 2026 Iheanacho Obioma was elected National Secretary. The rival Julius Abure-led NWC announced his suspension from the party on 7 May 2025, a factional act; the courts later recognised the Usman-led leadership.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026

2025

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Global President

University of Port Harcourt Alumni Association

Industry
civil society

Elected at the association's AGM in Umuahia on 21 June 2025.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026

2026

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Party primaryReviewed record

2027 Senate primary

Labour Party · Abia Central · Abia

Primary result
Won
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Recorded winner
Darlington Nwokocha

constituency: Abia Central Senatorial District · also listed as: Nwokocha Darlington Gideon · INEC final list of candidates (Senate), published 2026-09-12 — SN 21, p.2; INEC name: NWOKOCHA DARLINGTON GIDEON; age 59; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC WAEC BSC · Primary: LP primary held Saturday 30 May 2026 across Abia's wards; Nwokocha emerged as consensus…

Read the full account

constituency: Abia Central Senatorial District · also listed as: Nwokocha Darlington Gideon · INEC final list of candidates (Senate), published 2026-09-12 — SN 21, p.2; INEC name: NWOKOCHA DARLINGTON GIDEON; age 59; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC WAEC BSC · Primary: LP primary held Saturday 30 May 2026 across Abia's wards; Nwokocha emerged as consensus candidate for Abia Central (votes not reported).

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026

Dates not recorded

KEPT OUTSIDE THE DATED CHRONOLOGY
Committee & oversightReviewed record

House Ad hoc Committee on Niger-Delta Power Holding Company Limited

Chair · House

The end of this committee role is not recorded.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026
Committee & oversightReviewed record

House Ad hoc Committee on Pipeline Explosion/Fire Outbreak in Rivers State

Chair · House

The end of this committee role is not recorded.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026
Committee & oversightReviewed record

House Ad hoc Committee on the Failure of the National Health Insurance Scheme (NHIS)

Chair · House

The end of this committee role is not recorded.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026
Committee & oversightReviewed record

House Committee on Federal Character

Deputy · House

The end of this committee role is not recorded.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026
Committee & oversightReviewed record

House Committee on Insurance and Actuarial Matters

Chair · House

The end of this committee role is not recorded.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026
Party membershipReviewed record

Labour Party (LP)

Joined the LP in June 2022 to run for the Abia Central Senate seat (own campaign website; exact day not found) and won its primary unopposed on 7 June 2022; elected senator on the LP platform in February 2023; LP national (caretaker/interim/acting) secretary 2024-2026; LP candidate for Abia Central on INEC's final list (12 September 2026).

An end date is not recorded for this membership.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026
Party membershipReviewed record

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

PDP member of the Abia State House of Assembly (to 2015) and of the House of Representatives (re-elected on the PDP in 2019; called a 'true party man' by the Abia PDP chairman in July 2021). Left for the LP in June 2022; end_date is the LP primary day (7 June 2022), by which he had moved; exact defection day and PDP joining date not found.

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026
Committee & oversightReviewed record

Senate Committee on Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC)

Deputy · Senate

Reviewed 6 Oct 2026
The unwritten pages

What else should
citizens be able to see?

A useful profile shows the limits of its evidence as clearly as the evidence itself.

Contribute a sourced record
Court & accountability records

No publishable record is linked here. This is a coverage gap, not a clean bill of health.

Asset disclosures

No sourced disclosure record is available here. No personal wealth figure can be inferred.

Spending & project delivery

This profile does not yet link expenditure or completed projects to documented responsibility. Approval alone does not establish delivery.

How sources and review work

A reviewed source may establish that an allegation was made; it does not establish guilt. Open each record’s sources to read its evidence. Historical reporting may not establish a case’s current status.

Help improve the record

Community proposals (0)

Suggest a correction ↗

Suggestions from the community, awaiting review. These are not verified profile facts. Votes help reviewers assess suggestions; they do not establish whether a claim is true.

No community proposals are awaiting review. Know something missing or incorrect? Suggest a correction and include a source.

The wider picture

Representatives in this area

Explore the current representatives listed for Abia.

Public life. In public view.

Profile viewed 7 Oct 2026. Each record carries its own event and source-review dates.

Back to the record ↑
OurNigeria · Source file