WhatsApp is on the way.

You can already ask questions on the web or through Telegram.

On WebFull chat with charts, sources and follow-ups.TelegramSame answers, inside the app you already use.
Back to officials/Jibia/Kaita · KatsinaTHE PUBLIC RECORD
Former office

Bugaje Usman Muhammed

Federal representative for Jibia/Kaita Federal Constituency, Katsina State

3 Jun 2003 – 5 Jun 2007

Bugaje Usman MuhammedTHE PERSON

How to reach

Each line shows where it comes from. A listed contact is not proof it is answered or current.

Phone
Not yet on record
Suggest one
Email
Not yet on record
Suggest one
Office address
Not yet on record
Suggest one
Public life, in context

The record
over time.

Usman Muhammad Bugaje (INEC: BUGAJE USMAN MUHAMMED) is the Social Democratic Party (SDP) vice-presidential candidate for the election of 16 January 2027, as running mate to Adewole Adebayo, and was a member of the House of Representatives for Jibia/Kaita, Katsina State, from 2003 to 2007. He was born in 1951 and comes from Jibia in Katsina State. He attended Barewa College, Zaria, graduated in pharmacy from Ahmadu Bello…

Read the full account

Usman Muhammad Bugaje (INEC: BUGAJE USMAN MUHAMMED) is the Social Democratic Party (SDP) vice-presidential candidate for the election of 16 January 2027, as running mate to Adewole Adebayo, and was a member of the House of Representatives for Jibia/Kaita, Katsina State, from 2003 to 2007. He was born in 1951 and comes from Jibia in Katsina State. He attended Barewa College, Zaria, graduated in pharmacy from Ahmadu Bello University in 1975, and earned an MA in African and Asian Studies (1981) and a PhD in the intellectual history of West Africa from the University of Khartoum. He practised as a pharmacist, taught at Ahmadu Bello University and has written on the Sokoto Caliphate, including "The Past as Future" (2015). A member of the G-34 group that opposed the Abacha regime in 1998 and grew into the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), he was Special Adviser (Political) to Vice President Atiku Abubakar from 1999 to 2003. Elected to the House on the PDP ticket in April 2003, he chaired its Committee on Foreign Affairs until 2007. In March 2006 he was among officials named, in his capacity as committee chairman, for an EFCC probe of a 2005 hajj loan; no finding or charge against him was reported. In December 2006 he left the PDP for the Action Congress (AC). He was the AC candidate for Governor of Katsina in April 2007 and lost to Ibrahim Shema (PDP). He was the party's National Secretary from 2007 until December 2010, when he stepped down to seek its 2011 presidential ticket, which went to Nuhu Ribadu. He then ran for governor again on the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) platform in April 2011 and lost to Shema; the Court of Appeal struck out his challenge as out of time on 19 September 2011. He joined the All Progressives Congress (APC) at its formation in 2013, lost its December 2014 Katsina governorship primary to Aminu Bello Masari, and in October 2016 declined President Muhammadu Buhari's nomination of him as an ambassador. The State Security Service questioned him in January 2012 over the fuel-subsidy protests and held him for about eight hours in April 2021 over television interviews critical of the government; no charge was reported either time. In June 2022 he came second in the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) presidential primary with 813 votes to Kola Abiola's 2,097. He has led civic groups including the Arewa Research and Development Project, the Rescue Nigeria Project (2021) and the Arewa Movement for Good Governance, and since November 2025 has chaired the Movement for Credible Elections. After joining the SDP (the date was not found) he chaired the committee for its national convention in Bauchi on 9 May 2026, which affirmed Adebayo as presidential candidate. INEC's final list of 12 September 2026 names Bugaje as Adebayo's running mate.

01 → 02 → 03

What happened. What was said.
What the evidence establishes.

Start with the questions

What should
citizens know?

Read the role, the response and the outcome together.

The available record starts elsewhere.

No publishable court or accountability record is linked. This does not establish the absence of wrongdoing. Explore the documented service, elections and background below.

Follow the chapters

A life in the public record.

37 linked entries · 70 distinct source links
Review dates are separate from event dates.

37 entries · Whole record

1971

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Education & qualificationsReviewed record

Ahmadu Bello University

Bachelor of Pharmacy (B.Pharm) · Pharmacy

Location
Zaria, Kaduna State
Institution
University

Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

1975

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Pharmacist

Pharmacy practice (employer not found)

Industry
Pharmacy / health

Trained and practised as a pharmacist after his 1975 pharmacy degree at Ahmadu Bello University, before turning to scholarship and politics. Where and for how long he practised was not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

1981

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Publications & ideasReviewed record

A Comparative Study of the Movements of Uthman Dan Fodio in Early Nineteenth Century Hausaland and Muhammad Ahmad al-Mahdi in Late Nineteenth Century Sudan

Institute of African and Asian Studies, University of Khartoum

Publication type
Thesis
Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Education & qualificationsReviewed record

University of Khartoum

MA in African and Asian Studies (Institute of African and Asian Studies) · African Studies

Location
Khartoum, Sudan
Institution
University

Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

1998

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Member

G-34 (group of politicians opposed to the Abacha regime)

Industry
Party politics

Member of the G-34, the group of politicians that confronted General Sani Abacha's regime in 1998 and became the core of the Peoples Democratic Party. In January 2005 he spoke for a revived "new G-34" meeting to rescue the PDP.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

1999

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Special Adviser (Political)

Office of the Vice President of Nigeria

Industry
Government
Employment
Employee

Special Adviser (Political) to Vice President Atiku Abubakar in the first Obasanjo administration: in post from 1999 (the appointment day was not found; the Vice President was sworn in on 29 May 1999) and still serving on 20 September 2002. He left to contest the April 2003 House of Representatives election; the exit day was not found, and by 30 October 2003 he was described as…

Read the full account

Special Adviser (Political) to Vice President Atiku Abubakar in the first Obasanjo administration: in post from 1999 (the appointment day was not found; the Vice President was sworn in on 29 May 1999) and still serving on 20 September 2002. He left to contest the April 2003 House of Representatives election; the exit day was not found, and by 30 October 2003 he was described as the former adviser. By his own account he was also President Olusegun Obasanjo's envoy to Sudan from 2000 to 2003, during the Sudan peace process.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2003

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Election participationReviewed record

2003 House of Representatives election

Peoples Democratic Party · Jibia/Kaita · Katsina

Result
Won
Recorded winner
Usman Bugaje (PDP)

Elected to the House of Representatives for Jibia/Kaita Federal Constituency, Katsina State, on the PDP ticket at the National Assembly election of 12 April 2003 (the INEC 2003 polling day; not read from a result sheet). He was member-elect by 10 May 2003. No vote figures, and no PDP primary date or result, were found. Before the inauguration he was one of the contenders for…

Read the full account

Elected to the House of Representatives for Jibia/Kaita Federal Constituency, Katsina State, on the PDP ticket at the National Assembly election of 12 April 2003 (the INEC 2003 polling day; not read from a result sheet). He was member-elect by 10 May 2003. No vote figures, and no PDP primary date or result, were found. Before the inauguration he was one of the contenders for Speaker, backed by some North-West and South-South members-elect; the PDP North-West caucus adopted Aminu Bello Masari on 24 May 2003, and Masari was elected Speaker on 3 June 2003. He took his seat at the inauguration of the 5th Assembly on 3 June 2003 and moved to the Action Congress in December 2006, before the term ended.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
ElectedReviewed record

Federal Representative

Jibia/Kaita · Katsina

Status
Ended
Party on this record
PDP

Reason recorded for departure: Term end.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2004

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Coordinator

Forum for Democracy and Good Governance (House of Representatives caucus)

Industry
Legislature

Coordinator (facilitator) of the Forum for Democracy and Good Governance, a caucus of House members, whose inaugural address he gave; reported in February 2004 and last seen in May 2005.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2007

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Party primaryReviewed record

2007 Governorship primary

Katsina

Primary result
Won
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Recorded winner
Usman Bugaje (AC)

Won the Action Congress (AC) nomination for Governor of Katsina State for 2007. He picked the AC nomination form at the party's Katsina secretariat on Tuesday 5 December 2006, soon after leaving the PDP with the Atiku camp, and was the AC candidate by 28 January 2007. The primary day and votes were not found. The Action Congress (AC, renamed Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, in…

Read the full account

Won the Action Congress (AC) nomination for Governor of Katsina State for 2007. He picked the AC nomination form at the party's Katsina secretariat on Tuesday 5 December 2006, soon after leaving the PDP with the Atiku camp, and was the AC candidate by 28 January 2007. The primary day and votes were not found. The Action Congress (AC, renamed Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, in 2010; merged into the APC in 2013) is defunct and has no party record here, so no party is linked.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Working lifeReviewed record

Head

National Democratic Project (Atiku Abubakar 2007 campaign think tank)

Industry
Party politics

Head of the National Democratic Project, the think tank behind Atiku Abubakar's 2007 presidential campaign. The start year was not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Working lifeReviewed record

National Secretary

Action Congress / Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN)

Industry
Party politics

National Secretary of the Action Congress (renamed Action Congress of Nigeria in 2010; now defunct), replacing Bashir Dalhatu, who resigned on 7 August 2007; the day he was elected was not found. In March 2008 INEC said it did not recognise his election because it had not monitored the meeting that elected him, and in mid-2008 two state chairmen petitioned INEC against him; the…

Read the full account

National Secretary of the Action Congress (renamed Action Congress of Nigeria in 2010; now defunct), replacing Bashir Dalhatu, who resigned on 7 August 2007; the day he was elected was not found. In March 2008 INEC said it did not recognise his election because it had not monitored the meeting that elected him, and in mid-2008 two state chairmen petitioned INEC against him; the party kept him in office. He stepped down to seek the 2011 presidential ticket, and Lawal Shuaibu replaced him at the Benin national convention on Monday 20 December 2010. He describes it as "three and a half years in party administration".

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2011

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Party primaryReviewed record

2011 Governorship primary

Katsina

Primary result
Won
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Recorded winner
Usman Bugaje (ACN)

ACN candidate for Governor of Katsina State for 2011, a ticket he took after the ACN presidential ticket went to Nuhu Ribadu; he was the candidate by 23 February 2011. The primary day and votes were not found. The Action Congress (AC, renamed Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, in 2010; merged into the APC in 2013) is defunct and has no party record here, so no party is linked.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Party primaryReviewed record

2011 Presidential primary

Primary result
Lost
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Recorded winner
Nuhu Ribadu (affirmed by voice vote)

Aspirant for the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) 2011 presidential ticket: he stepped down as ACN National Secretary at the Benin convention of 20 December 2010 to contest. At the national convention in Lagos on Friday 14 January 2011 Vanguard listed him among four front-runners; Nuhu Ribadu was affirmed by voice vote after Attahiru Bafarawa and Saidu Malami withdrew. No…

Read the full account

Aspirant for the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) 2011 presidential ticket: he stepped down as ACN National Secretary at the Benin convention of 20 December 2010 to contest. At the national convention in Lagos on Friday 14 January 2011 Vanguard listed him among four front-runners; Nuhu Ribadu was affirmed by voice vote after Attahiru Bafarawa and Saidu Malami withdrew. No report of Bugaje on the ballot or of his withdrawal was found; "lost" means he did not get the ticket. The Action Congress (AC, renamed Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, in 2010; merged into the APC in 2013) is defunct and has no party record here, so no party is linked.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Election participationReviewed record

2011 Governorship election

Katsina

Result
Lost
Votes
19,990
Recorded winner
Ibrahim Shema (PDP)

ACN candidate in the Katsina State governorship election of Tuesday 26 April 2011. Ibrahim Shema of the PDP won (1,029,912 votes) ahead of Aminu Bello Masari of the CPC (555,769); Bugaje came third. His tally of 19,990 votes is from Wikipedia only (low confidence) and no share is stored. Before the poll he accused the PDP of plotting with INEC and security agencies to rig it.…

Read the full account

ACN candidate in the Katsina State governorship election of Tuesday 26 April 2011. Ibrahim Shema of the PDP won (1,029,912 votes) ahead of Aminu Bello Masari of the CPC (555,769); Bugaje came third. His tally of 19,990 votes is from Wikipedia only (low confidence) and no share is stored. Before the poll he accused the PDP of plotting with INEC and security agencies to rig it. He challenged the result; on 19 September 2011 the Court of Appeal, Kaduna, held his appeal statute-barred (see legal records). The Action Congress (AC, renamed Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, in 2010; merged into the APC in 2013) is defunct and has no party record here, so no party is linked.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2014

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Party primaryReviewed record

2015 Governorship primary

All Progressives Congress · Katsina

Primary result
Lost
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Recorded winner
Aminu Bello Masari (2,470 of 5,266 votes)

Aspirant in the All Progressives Congress (APC) Katsina governorship primary for 2015; he picked the nomination forms in Katsina in late October 2014. Aminu Bello Masari won with 2,470 of 5,266 votes, defeating eight aspirants including Bugaje; Bugaje's tally was not reported. The primary day (Thursday 4 December 2014, when APC governorship primaries ran in 29 states) is…

Read the full account

Aspirant in the All Progressives Congress (APC) Katsina governorship primary for 2015; he picked the nomination forms in Katsina in late October 2014. Aminu Bello Masari won with 2,470 of 5,266 votes, defeating eight aspirants including Bugaje; Bugaje's tally was not reported. The primary day (Thursday 4 December 2014, when APC governorship primaries ran in 29 states) is inferred from a Daily Trust preview of that day (medium confidence).

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2015

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Publications & ideasReviewed record

The past as future: some preliminary thoughts on the Sokoto Caliphate

Books and Libraries

Publication type
Book
Reviewed 25 Sept 2026

2021

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

National Coordinator

Rescue Nigeria Project (RNP)

Industry
Civil society / politics

National Coordinator of the Rescue Nigeria Project, a self-described non-partisan group formed ahead of 2023 with former Kwara governor Abdulfatah Ahmed, Tunde Adeniran and others; its inaugural national caucus met in Abuja on Tuesday 21 September 2021.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2022

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Party primaryReviewed record

2023 Presidential primary

Peoples Redemption Party

Primary result
Lost
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Votes
813
Vote share
23.2%
Recorded winner
Kola Abiola (2,097 votes)

Aspirant for the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) 2023 presidential ticket: he picked the nomination and expression-of-interest forms in Abuja on Friday 20 May 2022. In the primary, voted by delegates in the 36 states and the FCT on Sunday 5 June 2022, he came second with 813 votes to 2,097 for Kola Abiola; Patience Key had 329 and Gboluga Mosugu 263. The 23.2% share is of the…

Read the full account

Aspirant for the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) 2023 presidential ticket: he picked the nomination and expression-of-interest forms in Abuja on Friday 20 May 2022. In the primary, voted by delegates in the 36 states and the FCT on Sunday 5 June 2022, he came second with 813 votes to 2,097 for Kola Abiola; Patience Key had 329 and Gboluga Mosugu 263. The 23.2% share is of the 3,502 votes for the four aspirants (NAN reported 3,519 valid votes, which gives 23.1%).

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2024

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Convener

Arewa Movement for Good Governance (AM2G)

Industry
Civil society / politics

Convener of the Arewa Movement for Good Governance, a northern political group: it held a press briefing in Kaduna on Thursday 21 March 2024, and he was still styled its convener on 31 March 2026. The founding date was not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2025

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Chairman

Movement for Credible Elections (MCE)

Industry
Civil society / election reform

Chairman of the Movement for Credible Elections, a coalition for electoral reform launched at a national summit in Abuja on Tuesday 11 November 2025 (co-chair Oby Ezekwesili); it led a protest at the National Assembly on 17 February 2026 and opposed INEC's appeal against the election-timetable judgment in May 2026. Whether he stayed chairman after becoming the SDP…

Read the full account

Chairman of the Movement for Credible Elections, a coalition for electoral reform launched at a national summit in Abuja on Tuesday 11 November 2025 (co-chair Oby Ezekwesili); it led a protest at the National Assembly on 17 February 2026 and opposed INEC's appeal against the election-timetable judgment in May 2026. Whether he stayed chairman after becoming the SDP vice-presidential candidate was not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2026

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

Chairman, National Convention Planning Committee

Social Democratic Party (SDP)

Industry
Party politics

Chairman of the SDP National Convention Planning (Organising) Committee for the party's national convention and presidential primary at the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Stadium, Bauchi, on Saturday 9 May 2026, which affirmed Adewole Adebayo as presidential candidate. The appointment date was not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2027

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Election participationReviewed record

2027 Vice-presidential election

Social Democratic Party

Result
Pending

INEC final list of candidates (Presidential), published 2026-09-12 — SN 16; INEC name: BUGAJE USMAN MUHAMMED; age 74; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC SSCE PHD Running mate to Prince Adewole Ebenezer Adebayo, whom the SDP national convention in Bauchi affirmed as its sole presidential candidate on Saturday 9 May 2026 (Bugaje chaired the convention committee). No…

Read the full account

INEC final list of candidates (Presidential), published 2026-09-12 — SN 16; INEC name: BUGAJE USMAN MUHAMMED; age 74; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC SSCE PHD Running mate to Prince Adewole Ebenezer Adebayo, whom the SDP national convention in Bauchi affirmed as its sole presidential candidate on Saturday 9 May 2026 (Bugaje chaired the convention committee). No separate announcement of his selection was found; INEC published the Adebayo/Bugaje ticket in its display of candidates' particulars around 1 August 2026. On 16 September 2026 he said he had not planned to run but was persuaded to join the ticket. Poll day: 16 January 2027.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

Dates not recorded

KEPT OUTSIDE THE DATED CHRONOLOGY
Party membershipReviewed record

All Progressives Congress (APC)

Member of the All Progressives Congress from its formation in 2013 (only the year is known, so no start date is stored), when the Action Congress of Nigeria merged into it. From December 2006 to 2013 he had been in the Action Congress / Action Congress of Nigeria (defunct; no party record here): its Katsina governorship candidate in 2007 and 2011 and its National Secretary from 2007 to December 2010. In the APC he lost the Katsina governorship primary of December 2014 to…

Read the full account

Member of the All Progressives Congress from its formation in 2013 (only the year is known, so no start date is stored), when the Action Congress of Nigeria merged into it. From December 2006 to 2013 he had been in the Action Congress / Action Congress of Nigeria (defunct; no party record here): its Katsina governorship candidate in 2007 and 2011 and its National Secretary from 2007 to December 2010. In the APC he lost the Katsina governorship primary of December 2014 to Aminu Bello Masari and in October 2016 declined President Muhammadu Buhari's nomination of him as a non-career ambassador; by 2019 he was a public critic of the Buhari government while still described as an APC politician. The exit day was not found: the end date stored is 20 May 2022, when he picked the Peoples Redemption Party's presidential forms, i.e. the latest date by which he had left.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Education & qualificationsReviewed record

Barewa College

Secondary school certificate (declared to INEC as SSCE)

Location
Zaria, Kaduna State
Institution
Secondary

Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Working lifeReviewed record

Convener

Arewa Research and Development Project (ARDP)

Industry
Public policy / civil society
Employment
Founder

Convener of the Arewa Research and Development Project, a northern public-policy group promoting stable governance and economic renewal in the northern states. It existed by October 2016, when he cited it in declining an ambassadorial nomination, and was still issuing statements in December 2025. The founding year was not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Working lifeReviewed record

Founding Chairman

Network for Justice

Industry
Civil society / advocacy
Employment
Founder

Founding chairman of Network for Justice, an advocacy group for civic education, consumer and human rights, in existence by March 2001. The founding year was not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Committee & oversightReviewed record

House Committee on Foreign Affairs

Chair · House

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Working lifeReviewed record

Member (described as a chieftain)

Arewa Consultative Forum (ACF)

Industry
Civil society / politics

Described as a chieftain of the Arewa Consultative Forum in February 2025; no ACF office is named in the sources.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Party membershipReviewed record

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

Member of the Peoples Democratic Party from its formation: he belonged to the G-34 group that confronted the Abacha regime in 1998 and became the core of the PDP (only the year is known, so no start date is stored). He was Special Adviser (Political) to Vice President Atiku Abubakar (1999-2003), won the Jibia/Kaita House of Representatives seat on the PDP ticket in 2003 and became a critic of President Obasanjo inside the party. He left for the Action Congress (AC; renamed…

Read the full account

Member of the Peoples Democratic Party from its formation: he belonged to the G-34 group that confronted the Abacha regime in 1998 and became the core of the PDP (only the year is known, so no start date is stored). He was Special Adviser (Political) to Vice President Atiku Abubakar (1999-2003), won the Jibia/Kaita House of Representatives seat on the PDP ticket in 2003 and became a critic of President Obasanjo inside the party. He left for the Action Congress (AC; renamed Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, in 2010; defunct, with no party record here) with the Atiku camp in December 2006, and did not return to the PDP when Atiku later did. The exit day was not found: the end date stored is Tuesday 5 December 2006, when he picked the AC governorship nomination form in Katsina, i.e. the latest date by which he had left.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Party membershipReviewed record

Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)

Peoples Redemption Party member by Friday 20 May 2022, when he picked its presidential nomination forms in Abuja (the join day was not found, so no start date is stored); he came second in its presidential primary on 5 June 2022. The exit day was not found; in February 2025 he spoke as an Arewa Consultative Forum chieftain, not as a party member. The end date stored is 9 May 2026, when he chaired the SDP national convention committee, i.e. the latest date by which he had…

Read the full account

Peoples Redemption Party member by Friday 20 May 2022, when he picked its presidential nomination forms in Abuja (the join day was not found, so no start date is stored); he came second in its presidential primary on 5 June 2022. The exit day was not found; in February 2025 he spoke as an Arewa Consultative Forum chieftain, not as a party member. The end date stored is 9 May 2026, when he chaired the SDP national convention committee, i.e. the latest date by which he had left.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Public family connectionReviewed record

Saida Saad Bugaje

Spouse

Context
A family relationship alone does not establish influence or wrongdoing

Barrister/human-rights activist described in national press as the wife of Dr Usman Bugaje (SDP 2027 vice-presidential nominee; ex-House of Representatives member for Jibia/Kaita, Katsina; ex-Special Adviser (Political) to VP Atiku Abubakar). Archived NASS member profile records him as 'Married with 10 Children'. CONFLICT on the spouse's identity: a Sahelian Times report names…

Read the full account

Barrister/human-rights activist described in national press as the wife of Dr Usman Bugaje (SDP 2027 vice-presidential nominee; ex-House of Representatives member for Jibia/Kaita, Katsina; ex-Special Adviser (Political) to VP Atiku Abubakar). Archived NASS member profile records him as 'Married with 10 Children'. CONFLICT on the spouse's identity: a Sahelian Times report names a different spouse, Dr Mairo Mandara (possibly a second marriage, or a reporting error). Needs human resolution.

Reviewed 26 Sept 2026
Party membershipReviewed record

Social Democratic Party (SDP)

Current membership of the Social Democratic Party. The joining day was not found, so no start date is stored: in February 2025 he said, as an Arewa Consultative Forum chieftain, that he "would have supported" the SDP's Adewole Adebayo; on 31 March 2026 he attended the Afenifere assembly in Ilesa that endorsed the SDP; and he chaired the SDP National Convention Planning Committee for the convention in Bauchi on Saturday 9 May 2026, which affirmed Adebayo as presidential…

Read the full account

Current membership of the Social Democratic Party. The joining day was not found, so no start date is stored: in February 2025 he said, as an Arewa Consultative Forum chieftain, that he "would have supported" the SDP's Adewole Adebayo; on 31 March 2026 he attended the Afenifere assembly in Ilesa that endorsed the SDP; and he chaired the SDP National Convention Planning Committee for the convention in Bauchi on Saturday 9 May 2026, which affirmed Adebayo as presidential candidate. He is Adebayo's running mate for the election of 16 January 2027 (INEC final list of 12 September 2026, SN 16).

An end date is not recorded for this membership.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Working lifeReviewed record

Staff member (title not found)

Islam in Africa Organisation (IAO)

Industry
Non-profit / religious

Worked with the Islam in Africa Organisation, a pan-African Islamic body, in which Salaam says he was prominent. Title and years not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Working lifeReviewed record

Teaching staff (title not found)

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria

Industry
Higher education
Employment
Employee

Taught at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, per his own 2001 biography. The post, department and years were not found (probably between his 1981 Khartoum MA and 1999).

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Publications & ideasReviewed record

The Tradition of Tajdid in Western Bilad al-Sudan: A Study of the Genesis, Development and Patterns of Islamic Revivalism in the Region 900-1900 AD

University of Khartoum

Publication type
Thesis
Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Education & qualificationsReviewed record

University of Khartoum

PhD · Intellectual History of West Africa

Location
Khartoum, Sudan
Institution
University

Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.

Reviewed 25 Sept 2026
The unwritten pages

What else should
citizens be able to see?

A useful profile shows the limits of its evidence as clearly as the evidence itself.

Contribute a sourced record
Court & accountability records

No publishable record is linked here. This is a coverage gap, not a clean bill of health.

Asset disclosures

No sourced disclosure record is available here. No personal wealth figure can be inferred.

Spending & project delivery

This profile does not yet link expenditure or completed projects to documented responsibility. Approval alone does not establish delivery.

How sources and review work

A reviewed source may establish that an allegation was made; it does not establish guilt. Open each record’s sources to read its evidence. Historical reporting may not establish a case’s current status.

Help improve the record

Community proposals (0)

Suggest a correction ↗

Suggestions from the community, awaiting review. These are not verified profile facts. Votes help reviewers assess suggestions; they do not establish whether a claim is true.

No community proposals are awaiting review. Know something missing or incorrect? Suggest a correction and include a source.

The wider picture

Representatives in this area

Explore the current representatives listed for Katsina.

Public life. In public view.

Profile viewed 29 Sept 2026. Each record carries its own event and source-review dates.

Back to the record ↑
OurNigeria · Source file