WhatsApp is on the way.

You can already ask questions on the web or through Telegram.

On WebFull chat with charts, sources and follow-ups.TelegramSame answers, inside the app you already use.
Back to officials/Keffi/Karu/Kokona · NasarawaTHE PUBLIC RECORD
Current office

Gbefwi Gaza Jonathan

Federal representative for Keffi/Karu/Kokona Federal Constituency, Nasarawa State

This term: 13 Jun 2023–present

Gbefwi Gaza JonathanTHE PERSON

How to reach

Each line shows where it comes from. A listed contact is not proof it is answered or current.

Phone
0803 589 4240
Source not linked
Email
[email protected]
Source not linked
Office address
Not yet on record
Labour Party (LP) national secretariat: No. 2 IBM Haruna Street, Utako, Abuja, FCT. This is the party’s office, not this person’s.Suggest one
Public life, in context

The record
over time.

Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi (INEC's 2026 list prints Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi; the National Assembly profile and INEC's 2023 list print Gbefwi Gaza Jonathan) is the Labour Party (LP) governorship candidate in Nasarawa State for the election of 6 February 2027 (INEC final list, 10 October 2026), with Blanzou Adamu Bako as his running mate. The National Assembly profile gives his date of birth as 3 June 1975. He has sat in the House of…

Read the full account

Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi (INEC's 2026 list prints Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi; the National Assembly profile and INEC's 2023 list print Gbefwi Gaza Jonathan) is the Labour Party (LP) governorship candidate in Nasarawa State for the election of 6 February 2027 (INEC final list, 10 October 2026), with Blanzou Adamu Bako as his running mate. The National Assembly profile gives his date of birth as 3 June 1975. He has sat in the House of Representatives for the Keffi/Karu/Kokona Federal Constituency since 2015. He was elected on the PDP ticket in 2015 and re-elected on 23 February 2019 (92,292 votes to the APC's 59,661), announced his move to the APC at the House plenary on 7 July 2021, left the APC for the SDP in June 2022, and won a third term on the SDP ticket in February 2023 (60,265 votes; the PDP candidate polled 33,180). In the 10th Assembly he chairs the House Committee on Solid Minerals Development. No court case or election petition naming him was found. He did not seek re-election to the House. After first seeking the SDP governorship ticket, he was cleared by the Labour Party's screening committee on 23 May 2026 and was affirmed unopposed as its Nasarawa governorship candidate on 30 May 2026; he announced his defection from the SDP to the LP at the House plenary on 2 June 2026. The Nasarawa LP chairman, Alex Emmanuel, said on 31 May 2026 that Gaza was not a party candidate and named Ibrahim Afakar Azamu as flag-bearer of his faction; INEC's final list names Gaza as the LP candidate.

01 → 02 → 03

What happened. What was said.
What the evidence establishes.

Start with the questions

What should
citizens know?

Read the role, the response and the outcome together.

The available record starts elsewhere.

No publishable court or accountability record is linked. This does not establish the absence of wrongdoing. Explore the documented service, elections and background below.

Seeking public office

The campaign on record.

A campaign and a term in office are different parts of the story.

2027 · GubernatorialLP

Gbefwi Gaza Jonathan & Blanzou Adamu Bako

Gbefwi Gaza Jonathan’s role
Candidate
Race
Nasarawa
Campaign status
Active campaign record
View the ticket

No reviewed manifesto or campaign document with a source link is available here yet.

Follow the chapters

A life in the public record.

13 linked entries · 27 distinct source links
Review dates are separate from event dates.

13 entries · Whole record

1975

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Early lifeProfile record

Born

Gbefwi Gaza Jonathan was born on 3 Jun 1975.

Sources not yet linked

2015

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Election participationReviewed record

2015 House of Representatives election

Peoples Democratic Party · Keffi/Karu/Kokona · Nasarawa

Result
Won

First election to the House, on the PDP ticket (City People, 10 Apr 2017; National Assembly profile lists his term as 2015-2019). Poll day is the national Assembly election date, not stated in the sources; votes not found.

Reviewed 21 Oct 2026
ElectedProfile record

Federal Representative

Keffi/Karu/Kokona · Nasarawa

  1. Took office

  2. 10th National Assembly

Status
Current term
Party on this record
PDP → SDP
Term
10th National Assembly

Recorded periods in this office: 9 Jun 2015 – 11 Jun 2019 (PDP); 11 Jun 2019 – 13 Jun 2023 (PDP); 13 Jun 2023 – end date not recorded (SDP).

Reviewed 4 Apr 2026

2019

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Election participationReviewed record

2019 House of Representatives election

Peoples Democratic Party · Keffi/Karu/Kokona · Nasarawa

Result
Won
Votes
92,292
Recorded winner
Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi

Declared winner on Monday 25 Feb 2019 by the returning officer: 92,292 votes to 59,661 for the APC's Jacob Okari Owa; 157,884 valid votes (Daily Post, 25 Feb 2019). Poll day 23 Feb 2019 is the national date (the report gives only the Monday declaration). Elected for a second term.

Reviewed 21 Oct 2026

2021

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Party membershipReviewed record

All Progressives Congress (APC)

Defected from the PDP to the APC at the House plenary on 7 July 2021 (Punch); reported on 14 June 2022 to have left the APC for the SDP with Ahmed Wadada (The Sun).

Reviewed 21 Oct 2026

2022

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Party membershipReviewed record

Social Democratic Party (SDP)

Joined the SDP from the APC (reported by The Sun on 14 Jun 2022; the day is the report date); won the 2023 House seat on the SDP ticket and was an SDP governorship aspirant in early 2026; announced his move to the LP on 2 June 2026.

Reviewed 21 Oct 2026

2023

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Election participationReviewed record

2023 House of Representatives election

Social Democratic Party · Keffi/Karu/Kokona · Nasarawa

Result
Won
Votes
60,265
Recorded winner
Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi

Won on the SDP ticket after leaving the APC for the SDP in June 2022: 60,265 votes; PDP's Bulus Ishaku 33,180; LP's Iliya Gambo 29,665; APC's Auta Koro 28,417 (BusinessDay and Blueprint, 27 Feb 2023). Declared on Monday 27 Feb 2023 for Saturday's poll. No election petition against this result was found in searches (Google News, five newspaper sites).

Reviewed 21 Oct 2026

2026

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Party primaryReviewed record

2027 Governorship primary

Labour Party · Nasarawa

Primary result
Won
What this establishes
A party-stage result, not election to public office
Recorded winner
Gbefwi Gaza Jonathan

INEC final list of candidates (Governorship, Nasarawa State), published 2026-10-10 — SN 7; INEC name: GAZA JONATHAN GBEFWI; age 51; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC S.S.C.E B.TECH ESTATE MANAGEMENT; running mate: Blanzou Adamu Bako · Primary: Labour Party Nasarawa governorship primary of Saturday 30 May 2026: Gaza contested unopposed and was affirmed by delegates…

Read the full account

INEC final list of candidates (Governorship, Nasarawa State), published 2026-10-10 — SN 7; INEC name: GAZA JONATHAN GBEFWI; age 51; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC S.S.C.E B.TECH ESTATE MANAGEMENT; running mate: Blanzou Adamu Bako · Primary: Labour Party Nasarawa governorship primary of Saturday 30 May 2026: Gaza contested unopposed and was affirmed by delegates and declared winner by the party's returning officer (Vanguard 31 May; Blueprint 30 May 2026); the LP national screening committee had cleared him in a report dated 23 May 2026 (Daily Post, 24 May 2026). Party move: he was an SDP aspirant earlier in 2026 (Daily Trust, 13 Feb 2026; Leadership, 16 May 2026 says he had obtained SDP governorship forms) and announced his defection from the SDP to the LP at the House plenary on Tuesday 2 June 2026, after the primary (Punch, Premium Times, Daily Trust, 3 Jun 2026). DISPUTED: on 31 May 2026 the Nasarawa LP chairman, Alex Emmanuel, said Gaza and Labaran Maku were not LP candidates because they took no part in the primaries run under his executive, and that Ibrahim Afakar Azamu was the party's governorship flag-bearer (The Sun, 31 May 2026); the same report says the state party is divided between competing factions and a leadership dispute. INEC's final list of 10 October 2026 names Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi as the LP candidate (SN 7) and does not list Azamu; INEC is followed. Running mate: Daily Trust (18 Jul 2026) said he had not yet named a deputy; INEC lists Blanzou Adamu Bako; no report of how or when he was named was found. Name order: INEC 2026 prints GAZA JONATHAN GBEFWI; the National Assembly profile and INEC's 2023 list print Gbefwi Gaza (Jonathan).

Reviewed 21 Oct 2026
Party membershipReviewed record

Labour Party (LP)

Announced his defection from the SDP to the Labour Party at the House plenary on Tuesday 2 June 2026 (Punch, Premium Times, Daily Trust, 3 Jun 2026); the LP had cleared him as a governorship aspirant on 23 May and affirmed him as candidate on 30 May 2026, so the actual joining day is earlier and was not found. Labour Party governorship candidate on INEC's final list (10 October 2026).

Current affiliation in the reviewed membership record.

Reviewed 21 Oct 2026

2027

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
CandidacyReviewed record

Contested for Governor

Nasarawa

Status
Contesting
Party on this record
LP

An open end date does not establish current service.

Reviewed 21 Oct 2026

Dates not recorded

KEPT OUTSIDE THE DATED CHRONOLOGY
Education from the profileProfile record

Education on record

Declared to INEC (2027 governorship final list, Nasarawa): First School Leaving Certificate, SSCE and B.Tech Estate Management (the institution is not stated; INEC's 2023 list gave FSLC, SSCE and BSC).

This profile text has not yet been broken down into individually reviewed qualifications.

Party membershipReviewed record

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

Elected to the House on the PDP ticket in 2015 and re-elected in 2019; announced his defection to the APC at the House plenary on 7 July 2021 (Punch). Joining day not found.

Reviewed 21 Oct 2026
Committee & oversightReviewed record

Solid Minerals Development

Chair · House

The end of this committee role is not recorded.

Reviewed 21 Oct 2026
The unwritten pages

What else should
citizens be able to see?

A useful profile shows the limits of its evidence as clearly as the evidence itself.

Contribute a sourced record
Court & accountability records

No publishable record is linked here. This is a coverage gap, not a clean bill of health.

Asset disclosures

No sourced disclosure record is available here. No personal wealth figure can be inferred.

Spending & project delivery

This profile does not yet link expenditure or completed projects to documented responsibility. Approval alone does not establish delivery.

How sources and review work

A reviewed source may establish that an allegation was made; it does not establish guilt. Open each record’s sources to read its evidence. Historical reporting may not establish a case’s current status.

Help improve the record

Community proposals (0)

Suggest a correction ↗

Suggestions from the community, awaiting review. These are not verified profile facts. Votes help reviewers assess suggestions; they do not establish whether a claim is true.

No community proposals are awaiting review. Know something missing or incorrect? Suggest a correction and include a source.

The wider picture

Representatives in this area

Explore the current representatives listed for Nasarawa.

Public life. In public view.

Profile viewed 7 Nov 2026. Each record carries its own event and source-review dates.

Back to the record ↑
OurNigeria · Source file