Born
Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi was born on 27 May 1965.
21 Aug 2019 – 16 May 2022
THE PERSONEach line shows where it comes from. A listed contact is not proof it is answered or current.
Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi, widely known as Rotimi Amaechi, was Governor of Rivers State from 2007 to 2015 and Minister of Transportation from 2015 to 2022, and is the African Democratic Congress (ADC) vice-presidential candidate, running mate to Atiku Abubakar, for the 16 January 2027 presidential election. He was born on 27 May 1965 in Ubima, Ikwerre Local Government Area, Rivers State, and grew up in Diobu, Port Harcourt. He…
Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi, widely known as Rotimi Amaechi, was Governor of Rivers State from 2007 to 2015 and Minister of Transportation from 2015 to 2022, and is the African Democratic Congress (ADC) vice-presidential candidate, running mate to Atiku Abubakar, for the 16 January 2027 presidential election. He was born on 27 May 1965 in Ubima, Ikwerre Local Government Area, Rivers State, and grew up in Diobu, Port Harcourt. He is married to Judith Amaechi, and they have three sons. He graduated in English from the University of Port Harcourt in 1987, where he led the National Union of Rivers State Students, and was public relations officer at Pamo Clinics and Hospitals, owned by his political mentor Peter Odili, from 1988 to 1992. In the Third Republic he was Ikwerre secretary of the National Republican Convention and Special Assistant to Deputy Governor Odili, and sat on the boards of two state-owned companies; under General Abacha he was Rivers secretary of the Democratic Party of Nigeria. He later studied law, graduating from Baze University in 2022, was called to the Bar in March 2024 and completed an LL.M. at King's College London in 2025. A founding member of the PDP in Rivers, he represented Ikwerre in the Rivers State House of Assembly from 1999 to 2007 and was its Speaker throughout; his campaign biography says he first won the seat in court. He won the PDP governorship primary in December 2006, but the party replaced him with his cousin Celestine Omehia and expelled him. On 25 October 2007 the Supreme Court held that he had been the party's lawful candidate in the April election, and he was sworn in as governor the next day. Re-elected in 2011, he chaired the Nigeria Governors' Forum from 2011 to 2015. After the PDP suspended him in 2013 he joined the breakaway New PDP and then, on 26 November 2013, the APC. He led Muhammadu Buhari's presidential campaigns in 2015 and 2019 and was Minister of Transportation from November 2015 until he resigned on 16 May 2022 to seek the APC presidential ticket, on which he finished second to Bola Tinubu. He left the APC in July 2025 for the opposition coalition that adopted the ADC, came second to Atiku Abubakar in its May 2026 primary, sued over the result and withdrew the suit after being named Atiku's running mate on 15 June 2026. He holds the national honour of Commander of the Order of the Niger (2011) and in 2017 publicly declined a Rivers State honour offered by Governor Nyesom Wike. Books about him include C.E. Jaja's "Amaechi vs. INEC" (2008). In 2007 the EFCC was reported to be investigating his wealth as Speaker, but no charge followed. After he left office, a Rivers State commission of inquiry set up by his successor, Nyesom Wike, made adverse findings in 2015 over the sale of state power assets and reserve funds; he refused to appear and called it biased, and in 2022 the Supreme Court held that such findings are not a conviction. Rivers State charged him over the asset sales in June 2022, withdrew the charges in October 2022 and refiled them in January 2023; a bench warrant was set aside on appeal in June 2023 and he has not been arraigned. He denies these allegations, as he denied Wike's 2017 claim that the $43 million found in an Ikoyi flat was his, and he has not been convicted of any offence.
What happened. What was said.
What the evidence establishes.
Read the role, the response and the outcome together.
No publishable court or accountability record is linked. This does not establish the absence of wrongdoing. Explore the documented service, elections and background below.
46 linked entries · 101 distinct source links
Review dates are separate from event dates.
Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi was born on 27 May 1965.
First School Leaving Certificate (FSLC)
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
West African School Certificate (WASC)
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
B.A. (Hons), Second Class Lower Division · English (Literature Emphasis)
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
National Union of Rivers State Students (NURSS)
Student leader at the University of Port Harcourt (1983–1987); he also ran for President of the National Association of Nigerian Students in 1986 (result not found). His campaign site calls the body the National Association of Rivers State Students. The year of his NURSS presidency was not found.
Pamo Clinics and Hospitals Limited
Pre-political employment: after completing his National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) year in 1988, Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi joined Pamo Clinics and Hospitals Limited - a healthcare company owned by Dr. Peter Odili, his mentor and later Governor of Rivers State - where he worked until 1992 before entering politics. His official biography and contemporaneous press describe his role…
Pre-political employment: after completing his National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) year in 1988, Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi joined Pamo Clinics and Hospitals Limited - a healthcare company owned by Dr. Peter Odili, his mentor and later Governor of Rivers State - where he worked until 1992 before entering politics. His official biography and contemporaneous press describe his role there as a public relations officer/executive. Wikipedia and his official biography also record that he served as a director of several companies in this period, including West Africa Glass Industry Limited and Risonpalm Nigeria Limited. BLERF also lists "Public Relations Officer, Odili Clinic, Port Harcourt, 1988"; that is the same job, since Odili's clinic was Pamo. The 2010 and 2014 Rivers State Government profiles give the title Public Relations Officer; his 2026 campaign site says Public Relations Executive.
National Republican Convention (NRC), Ikwerre Local Government Area
Party office in the government-created Third Republic party, from 1992 until the NRC was dissolved after the military takeover of 17 November 1993.
Office of the Deputy Governor of Rivers State (Dr Peter Odili)
Special Assistant (on youth affairs, per his campaign biography) to Deputy Governor Peter Odili in the Third Republic civilian government. The Rivers State Government profile gives 1992–1994, but that government was dissolved after the November 1993 coup, so 1993 is recorded as the likely end; the exact dates were not found.
West Africa Glass Industry Limited
Rivers State Government-owned company (also written West African Glass Industries Limited); same period and caveat as the Risonpalm directorship.
Risonpalm Nigeria Limited
Rivers State Government-owned oil palm company with its plantation at Ubima, his home town. Appointed while he was Special Assistant to the Deputy Governor; the 2014 state profile gives 1992–1994, though the board seat may have ended with the civilian government in late 1993.
Democratic Party of Nigeria (DPN), Rivers State caretaker committee
Party office in one of the five parties registered under General Sani Abacha, until that transition collapsed after Abacha's death in June 1998. The DPN has no party record here.
Peoples Democratic Party · Ikwerre · Rivers
Recorded as elected for Ikwerre on the PDP ticket in the Rivers State House of Assembly election of 9 January 1999, the account in the 2014 Rivers State Government profile and Wikipedia's member list. His own campaign biography instead says he lost the poll amid irregularities and won the seat through the courts; no court record was found, so how he obtained the seat is…
Recorded as elected for Ikwerre on the PDP ticket in the Rivers State House of Assembly election of 9 January 1999, the account in the 2014 Rivers State Government profile and Wikipedia's member list. His own campaign biography instead says he lost the poll amid irregularities and won the seat through the courts; no court record was found, so how he obtained the seat is unresolved. Members elected him Speaker in June 1999. No vote count was found.
Ikwerre · Rivers
Took office
Interruption in recorded service: 29 May 2003 – 1 Jun 2003
Returned to office
Service ended
Recorded periods in this office: 1 Jun 1999 – 29 May 2003 (PDP); 1 Jun 2003 – 1 Jun 2007 (PDP).
Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures of Nigeria
Chairman from November 2000 for two terms, while Speaker of the Rivers State House of Assembly. He set up its Abuja secretariat in August 2003 and led the state assemblies' Supreme Court challenge to the National Assembly over control of local governments. The end date was not found; it probably ended by 2007.
Conferred at Isiokpo on 9 November 2000, while he was Speaker; he was the first holder. BLERF styles it "Eze Ochi Aliri of Ikwerre Kingdom". The Ikwerre Youth Movement held a public solemnisation at Isiokpo on 13 January 2018.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Peoples Democratic Party · Ikwerre · Rivers
Re-elected for Ikwerre in the state assembly election of 3 May 2003 and re-elected Speaker when the 5th Assembly convened. No vote count was found.
Peoples Democratic Party · Rivers
PDP Rivers governorship primary for the April 2007 election, held in December 2006 (the day was not found). He won 6,527 of the 6,575 votes against seven other aspirants (the share is computed, not reported); Celestine Omehia did not contest. The PDP sent his name to INEC on 14 December 2006, then substituted Omehia by letter of 2 February 2007 citing "error". The Supreme Court…
PDP Rivers governorship primary for the April 2007 election, held in December 2006 (the day was not found). He won 6,527 of the 6,575 votes against seven other aspirants (the share is computed, not reported); Celestine Omehia did not contest. The PDP sent his name to INEC on 14 December 2006, then substituted Omehia by letter of 2 February 2007 citing "error". The Supreme Court later held the substitution unlawful.
Peoples Democratic Party · Rivers
He was not on the ballot: after the PDP substituted Celestine Omehia (and expelled Amaechi on 10 April 2007), Omehia was returned as the PDP winner and sworn in on 29 May 2007. On 25 October 2007 the Supreme Court (SC 252/2007) held that Amaechi had been the PDP's lawful candidate and, since the party won, that he was the governor; it ordered no fresh election. He was sworn in…
He was not on the ballot: after the PDP substituted Celestine Omehia (and expelled Amaechi on 10 April 2007), Omehia was returned as the PDP winner and sworn in on 29 May 2007. On 25 October 2007 the Supreme Court (SC 252/2007) held that Amaechi had been the PDP's lawful candidate and, since the party won, that he was the governor; it ordered no fresh election. He was sworn in on 26 October 2007. The PDP votes are not credited to him personally.
Rivers
Took office
Service ended
Recorded periods in this office: 26 Oct 2007 – 29 May 2011 (PDP); 29 May 2011 – 29 May 2015 (PDP).
Named on the 2011 National Honours list (published about 29 October 2011) as one of nine serving governors given the CON; the investiture was on 14 November 2011.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Nigeria Governors' Forum
Chosen by consensus in Ilorin on 23 May 2011 to succeed Bukola Saraki. Re-elected on 24 May 2013 by 19 votes to Jonah Jang's 16; governors led by Godswill Akpabio rejected the result and backed Jang, splitting the forum until the governors resolved on 18 May 2015 that Amaechi had won. Served until his governorship ended on 29 May 2015.
Peoples Democratic Party · Rivers
Re-elected ahead of Celestine Omehia (APGA, 112,528) and Abiye Sekibo (ACN, 60,240); 2,442,488 registered voters, turnout 57.4%. The declaration day was not found. Both runners-up petitioned: Sekibo withdrew in July 2011 and Omehia's petition was dismissed as time-barred on 23 February 2012. Sworn in for a second term on 29 May 2011.
Presented at the Quintessence Ball, Lafayette Yard Hotel, Trenton, New Jersey, on 28 September 2013 (a NAN report says 29 September). Some Kalabari groups in the US protested the event.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Joined with four other New PDP governors on 26 November 2013 (some reports date it 27 November). APC leader in Rivers, Director-General of Buhari's 2015 and 2019 campaigns and runner-up in the 2022 presidential primary. He left on the night of 1 July 2025 and announced it the next day at the unveiling of the ADC coalition's interim executive.
APC Presidential Campaign Organisation (Buhari–Osinbajo)
Named in an APC statement of 18 December 2014; the campaign ended with Buhari's victory at the poll of 28 March 2015.
Governor-initiated executive bill appropriating funds for Rivers State's 2015 fiscal year, tagged the 'Budget of Completion'. Presented by Governor Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi to the Rivers State House of Assembly in January 2015 (Vanguard, 16 January 2015, reporting the presentation the previous day) at a proposed outlay of N335 billion, described as 31% lower than the 2014 budget of N485.524bn, with N118.685bn recurrent and N216.315bn capital expenditure and no new borrowing.…
Governor-initiated executive bill appropriating funds for Rivers State's 2015 fiscal year, tagged the 'Budget of Completion'. Presented by Governor Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi to the Rivers State House of Assembly in January 2015 (Vanguard, 16 January 2015, reporting the presentation the previous day) at a proposed outlay of N335 billion, described as 31% lower than the 2014 budget of N485.524bn, with N118.685bn recurrent and N216.315bn capital expenditure and no new borrowing. The House passed a revised N338 billion budget on 5 March 2015 (N3bn above the Governor's proposal; N118.685bn recurrent / N216.314bn capital). Amaechi signed it into law at the Council Chambers, Government House, Port Harcourt on Monday 9 March 2015, saying 'We will implement this budget until May 29.' Recorded under the profile's established governor-sponsored executive-bill pattern (cf. Kogi 2026 and Rivers 2025 appropriation bills). introducedDate omitted: every source gives only 'January 2015' or a relative date.
A bill’s stage, spending and delivery are separate facts.
Nigeria
Reason recorded for departure: Term end.
Conferred at the university's convocation in Kaduna on 8 December 2018. Only P.M. News names him; Vanguard corroborates the ceremony.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
President Muhammadu Buhari Campaign Organisation
Reported to hold an appointment letter in January 2018 and acting as DG by April 2018; formally named by the Presidency on 20 September 2018. The campaign ran to the poll of 23 February 2019.
A Knight of the Catholic lay order since about 1999. In August 2019 (statement of 18 August) he received its highest rank, the Exemplification Honour, at the Pope John Paul II Catholic Centre, Abuja, "for his service to the Order and humanity for over 20 years".
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.), graduated 19 Nov 2022 · Law
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Nigeria
Reason recorded for departure: Resigned.
Self-released gospel single with Judith Amaechi and family
Turbaned at the Emir's palace in Daura, Katsina State, on 5 February 2022; the title ("the trusted son of Daura") was announced on 21 January 2022.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Received on or about 4 December 2022 for his rail and logistics work as minister. Reported by one outlet only.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Master of Laws (LL.M.), Merit · International Corporate and Commercial Law
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
All Progressives Congress
APC special convention at Eagle Square, Abuja (6–8 June 2022); voting ran through the night of 7 June and the result was declared on 8 June. He came second: Tinubu 1,271, Amaechi 316, Osinbajo 235, Lawan 152. He had declared on 9 April 2022 in Port Harcourt and resigned as minister on 16 May 2022 to run; he alleged rigging during the vote.
Barrister-at-Law (B.L.); called to the Bar 5 Mar 2024 · Law
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Nigerian Bar (Body of Benchers)
Called to the Bar in Abuja on 5 March 2024 with about 4,400 others, after his Baze University LL.B. and the Nigerian Law School. No law practice or chambers has been reported.
Presented at the Nigerian Air Force Base Banquet Hall, Abuja, on the weekend of 2–3 November 2024; his wife received it on his behalf. Not the LEADERSHIP newspaper's own awards.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Presented in Port Harcourt on 6 February 2025 at the college's first induction of medical graduates; he dedicated it to Nyesom Wike for completing the college.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Joined the African Democratic Congress (ADC) ahead of the 2027 general elections; formally registered as an ADC member at Ward 8, Ubima, Ikwerre Local Government Area, Rivers State on 6 March 2026, after leaving the All Progressives Congress. He subsequently contested the ADC presidential primary. He had aligned with the opposition coalition that adopted the ADC on 2 July 2025, the day after leaving the APC, and said on 27 August 2025 that he would contest its presidential…
Joined the African Democratic Congress (ADC) ahead of the 2027 general elections; formally registered as an ADC member at Ward 8, Ubima, Ikwerre Local Government Area, Rivers State on 6 March 2026, after leaving the All Progressives Congress. He subsequently contested the ADC presidential primary. He had aligned with the opposition coalition that adopted the ADC on 2 July 2025, the day after leaving the APC, and said on 27 August 2025 that he would contest its presidential primary; 6 March 2026 is the formal ward registration. He came second in the May 2026 primary and has been the ADC vice-presidential candidate since 15 June 2026.
Current affiliation in the reviewed membership record.
African Democratic Congress
Nationwide direct ADC primary with ward voting on 25 May 2026 and collation in Abuja; declared on 27 May 2026: Atiku 1,846,370, Amaechi 504,117, Mohammed Hayatu-Deen 177,120 (returning officer's figures; his later court affidavit gives 504,177, and Sahara Reporters quoted 509,397). He rejected the result on 26 May as "concocted" and sued (FHC/ABJ/CS/1215/2026), then…
Nationwide direct ADC primary with ward voting on 25 May 2026 and collation in Abuja; declared on 27 May 2026: Atiku 1,846,370, Amaechi 504,117, Mohammed Hayatu-Deen 177,120 (returning officer's figures; his later court affidavit gives 504,177, and Sahara Reporters quoted 509,397). He rejected the result on 26 May as "concocted" and sued (FHC/ABJ/CS/1215/2026), then discontinued the suit after becoming Atiku's running mate; it was struck out on 17 July 2026.
African Democratic Congress
also listed as: Amaechi Chibuike Rotimi, Rotimi Amaechi · INEC final list of candidates (Presidential), published 2026-09-12 — SN 5; INEC name: AMAECHI CHIBUIKE ROTIMI; age 61; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC WAEC B.A. ENGLISH STUDIES Running mate to Atiku Abubakar. He accepted on 13 June 2026 and the ADC announced him in a statement of 15 June 2026; there was…
also listed as: Amaechi Chibuike Rotimi, Rotimi Amaechi · INEC final list of candidates (Presidential), published 2026-09-12 — SN 5; INEC name: AMAECHI CHIBUIKE ROTIMI; age 61; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC WAEC B.A. ENGLISH STUDIES Running mate to Atiku Abubakar. He accepted on 13 June 2026 and the ADC announced him in a statement of 15 June 2026; there was no separate running-mate primary. The ADC uploaded his particulars to INEC's nomination portal (announced 30 June 2026) and INEC listed him on its final list of 12 September 2026. Poll day is 16 January 2027.
Spouse
Dame Judith Obiajulu Amaechi (nee Nwankwo), born 24 December 1970; married Chibuike Amaechi in 1993; First Lady of Rivers State 2007-2015; founder of the Empowerment Support Initiative (ESI).
Founding member of the PDP in Rivers State in 1998 (the joining day was not found); elected on its ticket to the State House of Assembly (1999, 2003) and as governor (2007 through the Supreme Court, 2011). The party expelled him on 10 April 2007 after he challenged his substitution as governorship candidate; the Supreme Court's judgment of 25 October 2007 treated him as the PDP candidate and he governed as PDP. The PDP National Working Committee suspended him on 27 May 2013.…
Founding member of the PDP in Rivers State in 1998 (the joining day was not found); elected on its ticket to the State House of Assembly (1999, 2003) and as governor (2007 through the Supreme Court, 2011). The party expelled him on 10 April 2007 after he challenged his substitution as governorship candidate; the Supreme Court's judgment of 25 October 2007 treated him as the PDP candidate and he governed as PDP. The PDP National Working Committee suspended him on 27 May 2013. On 31 August 2013 he joined the breakaway "New PDP" faction of seven governors (not a registered party), which merged into the APC on 26 November 2013. Earlier he held party offices in the defunct National Republican Convention (1992–93) and Democratic Party of Nigeria (1996–98), which have no party records here.
A useful profile shows the limits of its evidence as clearly as the evidence itself.
No publishable record is linked here. This is a coverage gap, not a clean bill of health.
No sourced disclosure record is available here. No personal wealth figure can be inferred.
This profile does not yet link expenditure or completed projects to documented responsibility. Approval alone does not establish delivery.
A reviewed source may establish that an allegation was made; it does not establish guilt. Open each record’s sources to read its evidence. Historical reporting may not establish a case’s current status.
Help improve the record
Suggestions from the community, awaiting review. These are not verified profile facts. Votes help reviewers assess suggestions; they do not establish whether a claim is true.
No community proposals are awaiting review. Know something missing or incorrect? Suggest a correction and include a source.