WhatsApp is on the way.

You can already ask questions on the web or through Telegram.

On WebFull chat with charts, sources and follow-ups.TelegramSame answers, inside the app you already use.
Back to officials/NigeriaTHE PUBLIC RECORD
Election participation

Bintu Konto

2027 vice-presidential election

Pending

Bintu KontoTHE PERSON

How to reach

Each line shows where it comes from. A listed contact is not proof it is answered or current.

Phone
Not yet on record
Suggest one
Email
Not yet on record
Suggest one
Office address
Not yet on record
Suggest one
Public life, in context

The record
over time.

Bintu Konto (INEC: KONTO HAJJA BINTU), known as Hajja Bintu Konto, is the Labour Party (LP) vice-presidential candidate for the election of 16 January 2027, as running mate to Sunday Chibuzo Okereke. She was 54 on INEC's final list of 12 September 2026. A public health specialist from northern Nigeria (her state of origin is not stated in the sources reviewed), she speaks English, Hausa, Kanuri, Shuwa, Fulani and Bura. A…

Read the full account

Bintu Konto (INEC: KONTO HAJJA BINTU), known as Hajja Bintu Konto, is the Labour Party (LP) vice-presidential candidate for the election of 16 January 2027, as running mate to Sunday Chibuzo Okereke. She was 54 on INEC's final list of 12 September 2026. A public health specialist from northern Nigeria (her state of origin is not stated in the sources reviewed), she speaks English, Hausa, Kanuri, Shuwa, Fulani and Bura. A trained nurse and midwife, she declared to INEC a Certificate in General Nursing, a BSc (Hons) in Health Education and a Master of Public Health, and she has lectured in community health. Most of her career of more than three decades was with Catholic Relief Services, from which she has retired; her roles there included Community and Government Liaison Program Officer, and she worked on health, nutrition, WASH and humanitarian programmes, including for displaced people, across Borno, Adamawa and Yobe States. In January 2015 she represented civil society at Gella, Adamawa State, during an immunisation campaign. She is National Treasurer of ACOMIN, the civil-society network on malaria, immunisation and nutrition, and sits on Nigeria's Global Fund Country Coordinating Mechanism as an alternate member for ACOMIN. No public office or earlier party role was found. The Nenadi Usman-led LP named her Okereke's running mate in a statement on 11 July 2026 and formally presented her at its national secretariat in Abuja on 21 July 2026, where she said she had kept working with communities affected by the Boko Haram insurgency despite losing her husband in the conflict. INEC's final list of 12 September 2026 names her as the LP's vice-presidential candidate.

01 → 02 → 03

What happened. What was said.
What the evidence establishes.

Start with the questions

What should
citizens know?

Read the role, the response and the outcome together.

The available record starts elsewhere.

No publishable court or accountability record is linked. This does not establish the absence of wrongdoing. Explore the documented service, elections and background below.

Follow the chapters

A life in the public record.

9 linked entries · 20 distinct source links
Review dates are separate from event dates.

9 entries · Whole record

2015

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Working lifeReviewed record

CSO platform representative, Gella

Civil-society immunisation platform, Adamawa State (ACOMIN network)

Industry
Civil society / immunisation

Civil-society platform representative at Gella, Adamawa State, during the Immunisation plus Days of January 2015; she reported that insurgency and communal clashes hampered vaccine supply to health facilities (Gavi VaccinesWork article on ACOMIN's civil-society work, 3 May 2015). One source; the platform's formal name was not given. Her earliest dated activity found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

2027

IN THE PUBLIC RECORD
Election participationReviewed record

2027 Vice-presidential election

Labour Party

Result
Pending

also listed as: Konto Hajja Bintu · INEC final list of candidates (Presidential), published 2026-09-12 — SN 10; INEC name: KONTO HAJJA BINTU; age 54; female; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC WAEC MPH; BSC (Hons) Health Education & Certificate in General Nursing Named running mate to Sunday Chibuzo Okereke in an LP statement by National Publicity Secretary Ken Asogwa on…

Read the full account

also listed as: Konto Hajja Bintu · INEC final list of candidates (Presidential), published 2026-09-12 — SN 10; INEC name: KONTO HAJJA BINTU; age 54; female; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC WAEC MPH; BSC (Hons) Health Education & Certificate in General Nursing Named running mate to Sunday Chibuzo Okereke in an LP statement by National Publicity Secretary Ken Asogwa on Saturday 11 July 2026, and formally presented at an interactive session with the National Working Committee at the party's national secretariat in Utako, Abuja, on Tuesday 21 July 2026. Okereke had been adopted by consensus by the Nenadi Usman-led LP on 30 May 2026 (the rival Julius Abure-led faction named Kennedy Ahanotu the same day). INEC published candidates' particulars on 1 August 2026, and its final list of 12 September 2026 carries the Okereke/Konto ticket. The day the LP submitted her name to INEC was not found. Poll day: 16 January 2027.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026

Dates not recorded

KEPT OUTSIDE THE DATED CHRONOLOGY
Working lifeReviewed record

Alternate Member (civil society, for ACOMIN)

Country Coordinating Mechanism (CCM) Nigeria, Global Fund

Industry
Public health governance

Member of Nigeria's Country Coordinating Mechanism for the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria: CCM Nigeria lists her among its alternate members, for the Association of Civil Society Organizations for Malaria, Immunization and Nutrition (ACOMIN), and the Labour Party said in July 2026 that she currently serves on it. Start date not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Working lifeReviewed record

Community and Government Liaison Program Officer

Catholic Relief Services

Industry
Humanitarian / development (health, nutrition, WASH)
Employment
Employee

Retired from a career with Catholic Relief Services (CRS), where most of her working life was spent and where she held several leadership positions, including Community and Government Liaison Program Officer. She led engagement with governments, traditional institutions, civil society and communities on health, nutrition, WASH and humanitarian programmes, and held positions…

Read the full account

Retired from a career with Catholic Relief Services (CRS), where most of her working life was spent and where she held several leadership positions, including Community and Government Liaison Program Officer. She led engagement with governments, traditional institutions, civil society and communities on health, nutrition, WASH and humanitarian programmes, and held positions across Borno, Adamawa and Yobe States, coordinating community mobilisation and humanitarian response, including for internally displaced persons. The start and retirement years were not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Education from the profileProfile record

Education on record

Declared to INEC (final list of 12 September 2026): First School Leaving Certificate; WAEC (secondary); Certificate in General Nursing; BSc (Hons) Health Education; Master of Public Health (MPH). She also trained as a midwife. The schools, universities and years are not named in any source reviewed.

This profile text has not yet been broken down into individually reviewed qualifications.

Party membershipReviewed record

Labour Party (LP)

Current membership of the Labour Party, whose 2027 vice-presidential candidate she is (INEC final list of 12 September 2026, SN 10). The joining day was not found, so no start date is stored: she was a member by 11 July 2026, when the party named her Okereke's running mate, and at her formal presentation on 21 July 2026 she said her decision to join the party rested on its vision and roadmap for Nigeria's leadership challenges. No earlier party membership or party office was…

Read the full account

Current membership of the Labour Party, whose 2027 vice-presidential candidate she is (INEC final list of 12 September 2026, SN 10). The joining day was not found, so no start date is stored: she was a member by 11 July 2026, when the party named her Okereke's running mate, and at her formal presentation on 21 July 2026 she said her decision to join the party rested on its vision and roadmap for Nigeria's leadership challenges. No earlier party membership or party office was found.

An end date is not recorded for this membership.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Working lifeReviewed record

Lecturer in Community Health

Community health teaching (institution not found)

Industry
Health education
Employment
Employee

Served as a lecturer in community health, training health professionals (Labour Party statement of 11 July 2026). The institution and years were not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Working lifeReviewed record

National Treasurer

Civil Society for Malaria Control, Immunization and Nutrition (ACOMIN)

Industry
Civil society / public health

National Treasurer of ACOMIN, the national civil-society network on malaria, immunisation and nutrition, as of July 2026 (Labour Party statement). The year she took office was not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
Working lifeReviewed record

Nurse and midwife

Nursing and midwifery practice (employer not found)

Industry
Health care

Trained nurse and midwife (Certificate in General Nursing, declared to INEC). The Labour Party describes a career of more than three decades in healthcare delivery, community development and humanitarian work, and Punch called her a "veteran nurse"; where and when she practised was not found.

Reviewed 29 Sept 2026
The unwritten pages

What else should
citizens be able to see?

A useful profile shows the limits of its evidence as clearly as the evidence itself.

Contribute a sourced record
Office history

No held-office record is linked. Career text or election participation does not replace a documented term.

Court & accountability records

No publishable record is linked here. This is a coverage gap, not a clean bill of health.

Asset disclosures

No sourced disclosure record is available here. No personal wealth figure can be inferred.

Spending & project delivery

This profile does not yet link expenditure or completed projects to documented responsibility. Approval alone does not establish delivery.

How sources and review work

A reviewed source may establish that an allegation was made; it does not establish guilt. Open each record’s sources to read its evidence. Historical reporting may not establish a case’s current status.

Help improve the record

Community proposals (0)

Suggest a correction ↗

Suggestions from the community, awaiting review. These are not verified profile facts. Votes help reviewers assess suggestions; they do not establish whether a claim is true.

No community proposals are awaiting review. Know something missing or incorrect? Suggest a correction and include a source.

Public life. In public view.

Profile viewed 29 Sept 2026. Each record carries its own event and source-review dates.

Back to the record ↑
OurNigeria · Source file