WhatsApp is on the way.

You can already ask questions on the web or through Telegram.

On WebFull chat with charts, sources and follow-ups.TelegramSame answers, inside the app you already use.
The 2027 election

Governorship · Abia · 2027

Action Peoples Party (APP)

Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma&Nwoloki Lucky Eze

Two lives. One ticket. Explore their journeys, the public record, and the plans for Abia.

Meet the people
Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma
Ijioma Nwokoro IjiomaFor Governor
Portrait not yet available
Nwoloki Lucky EzeFor Deputy Governor

Before the ballot,
a life in the making.

The places, education and experiences behind the people on this ticket.

Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma (INEC: IJIOMA NWOKORO IJIOMA) is a retired Major General of the Nigerian Army and the Action Peoples Party (APP) governorship candidate in Abia State for the election of 6 February 2027 (INEC final list, 10 October 2026), with Chief Eze Nwoloki (INEC: Nwoloki Lucky Eze) of Ukwa West as his running mate. INEC lists him as 63, with a First School Leaving Certificate, WASSCE, NDA, NDAC, BSc and MSc. His country home is Umuhu Ezechi in Bende LGA. Reports describe him as a former Director of Military Operations in the Northeast who led operations against Boko Haram in 2015, and as part of the team that led the peace mission to Sudan (Darfur) between 2013 and 2015. On 9 June 2016 the Army Council compulsorily retired him, one of 38 officers (the 'Army 38'), after about 33 years' service by his counsel's account. He sued the Army, the Defence Minister and the Chief of Defence Staff at the National Industrial Court in Abuja, and on 3 June 2019 Justice Edith Agbakoba declared the retirement wrongful, illegal, null and void because he had been neither told of an offence nor tried, and ordered his reinstatement. Reports in 2022 and 2025 say the Army had not complied. He emerged by consensus as the APP governorship candidate at a primary in Umuahia reported on 30 May 2026, and flagged off his campaign at his country home in Bende on 19 September 2026 with a 23-point manifesto. The primary day and any votes were not found.

From the public profile

Read the evidence · 9 sources
  • INEC

    2026-10-10: "SN 7; APP; IJIOMA NWOKORO IJIOMA; age 63; M; qualification: FIRST SCHOOL LEAVING CERTIFICATE WASSCE NDA,NDAC,BSC,M.S.C; running mate: NWOLOKI LUCKY EZE"

    SN 7; APP; IJIOMA NWOKORO IJIOMA; age 63; M; qualification: FIRST SCHOOL LEAVING CERTIFICATE WASSCE NDA,NDAC,BSC,M.S.C; running mate: NWOLOKI LUCKY EZE
  • Daily Post

    2019-06-03: "The National Industrial Court, Abuja, on Monday ordered the reinstatement of Maj.-Gen. Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma in the Nigerian Army."

    The National Industrial Court, Abuja, on Monday ordered the reinstatement of Maj.-Gen. Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma in the Nigerian Army.
  • Vanguard

    2025-06-30: "Major General Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma, retd, was in the team that led the peace mission to Sudan between 2013 and 2015."

    Major General Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma, retd, was in the team that led the peace mission to Sudan between 2013 and 2015.
  • Punch

    2026-06-03: "Ijioma, who emerged as a consensus candidate at the party primary held in Umuahia"

    Ijioma, who emerged as a consensus candidate at the party primary held in Umuahia
  • Daily Trust

    2022-02-27: "Similarly, in June 2019, the National Industrial Court in Abuja nullified the 2016 dismissal of Major-General Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma"

    Similarly, in June 2019, the National Industrial Court in Abuja nullified the 2016 dismissal of Major-General Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma
  • Vanguard

    2026-10-11: "7. APP: Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma — Nwoloki Lucky Eze."

    7. APP: Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma — Nwoloki Lucky Eze.
  • The Sun Nigeria

    2026-10-02: "flanked by his Deputy Governorship candidate, Chief Eze Nwoloki"

    flanked by his Deputy Governorship candidate, Chief Eze Nwoloki
  • Vanguard

    2026-05-30: "Retired Major General Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma , has formally entered the 2027 Abia governorship race"

    Retired Major General Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma , has formally entered the 2027 Abia governorship race
  • Vanguard

    2026-09-20: "formally flagging off his campaign at Umuhu Ezechi Community Primary School, Bende, his country home"

    formally flagging off his campaign at Umuhu Ezechi Community Primary School, Bende, his country home

School years & education

Declared to INEC (2027 governorship final list, Abia State): First School Leaving Certificate, WASSCE, NDA, NDAC, BSc and MSc; institutions and years not published.

Read the evidence · 1 source
  • INEC

    2026-10-10: "SN 7; APP; IJIOMA NWOKORO IJIOMA; age 63; M; qualification: FIRST SCHOOL LEAVING CERTIFICATE WASSCE NDA,NDAC,BSC,M.S.C; running mate: NWOLOKI LUCKY EZE"

    SN 7; APP; IJIOMA NWOKORO IJIOMA; age 63; M; qualification: FIRST SCHOOL LEAVING CERTIFICATE WASSCE NDA,NDAC,BSC,M.S.C; running mate: NWOLOKI LUCKY EZE

A working life

  1. 1983–2016

    Officer, Major General (retired); compulsorily retired 9 June 2016, retirement set aside by court 3 June 2019

    Nigerian Army

    Served about 32 years 11 months by his compulsory retirement of 9 June 2016 (counsel's figure, so from about mid-1983: start year derived). The Army Council retired him with 37 other officers (the 'Army 38'); the National Industrial Court set the retirement aside on 3 June 2019 and ordered reinstatement, which reports in 2022 and 2025 say the Army had not carried out.

    Read the evidence · 2 sources
    • Daily Post

      2019-06-03: "the claimant was only 53 years as at the time of the retirement, and had only served for 32 years, 11 months and five days"

      the claimant was only 53 years as at the time of the retirement, and had only served for 32 years, 11 months and five days
    • Vanguard

      2025-06-30: "In 2016, he was compulsorily retired from the Nigerian Army, a decision later deemed wrongful and illegal by the National Industrial Court."

      In 2016, he was compulsorily retired from the Nigerian Army, a decision later deemed wrongful and illegal by the National Industrial Court.
  2. 2013–2015

    Senior officer in the team that led the mission (reported as commander of the UN troops in Darfur)

    Peace mission to Sudan (Darfur)

    Vanguard (30 Jun 2025): in the team that led the peace mission to Sudan between 2013 and 2015; Vanguard (30 May 2026): 'commanded the United Nations troops in Darfu, Sudan'. The exact post and force are not stated.

    Read the evidence · 2 sources
    • Vanguard

      2025-06-30: "Major General Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma, retd, was in the team that led the peace mission to Sudan between 2013 and 2015."

      Major General Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma, retd, was in the team that led the peace mission to Sudan between 2013 and 2015.
    • Vanguard

      2026-05-30: "Gen. Ijioma who commanded the United Nations troops in Darfu, Sudan"

      Gen. Ijioma who commanded the United Nations troops in Darfu, Sudan
  3. Dates not recorded

    Director of Military Operations, Northeast

    Nigerian Army

    Described as Director of Military Operations in the Northeast, who led operations against Boko Haram in 2015 (Vanguard, 2025 and 2026). Years in post not found.

    Read the evidence · 3 sources
    • Vanguard

      2025-06-30: "He was the Director of Military Operations in the Northeast."

      He was the Director of Military Operations in the Northeast.
    • Vanguard

      2026-08-19: "Ijioma, a former Director of Military Operations in the Northeast"

      Ijioma, a former Director of Military Operations in the Northeast
    • Vanguard

      2026-05-30: "The retired General who led military operations against Boko Haram in the North East in 2015"

      The retired General who led military operations against Boko Haram in the North East in 2015

The path into public service

  1. From 2027

    Governor

    Abia

    Read the evidence · 2 sources
    • INEC

      2026-10-10: "SN 7; APP; IJIOMA NWOKORO IJIOMA; age 63; M; qualification: FIRST SCHOOL LEAVING CERTIFICATE WASSCE NDA,NDAC,BSC,M.S.C; running mate: NWOLOKI LUCKY EZE"

      SN 7; APP; IJIOMA NWOKORO IJIOMA; age 63; M; qualification: FIRST SCHOOL LEAVING CERTIFICATE WASSCE NDA,NDAC,BSC,M.S.C; running mate: NWOLOKI LUCKY EZE
    • Vanguard

      2026-10-11: "7. APP: Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma — Nwoloki Lucky Eze."

      7. APP: Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma — Nwoloki Lucky Eze.

Life outside
the office.

Work, writing and public family connections. The experiences and relationships beyond a political career.

About Ijioma Nwokoro IjiomaBack to biography

Work & organisations

  • Dates not recorded

    Nigerian Army

    Director of Military Operations, Northeast · employee · military

    Described as Director of Military Operations in the Northeast, who led operations against Boko Haram in 2015 (Vanguard, 2025 and 2026). Years in post not found.

    Read the evidence · 3 sources
    • Vanguard

      2025-06-30: "He was the Director of Military Operations in the Northeast."

      He was the Director of Military Operations in the Northeast.
    • Vanguard

      2026-08-19: "Ijioma, a former Director of Military Operations in the Northeast"

      Ijioma, a former Director of Military Operations in the Northeast
    • Vanguard

      2026-05-30: "The retired General who led military operations against Boko Haram in the North East in 2015"

      The retired General who led military operations against Boko Haram in the North East in 2015
  • 1983–2016

    Nigerian Army

    Officer, Major General (retired); compulsorily retired 9 June 2016, retirement set aside by court 3 June 2019 · employee · military

    Served about 32 years 11 months by his compulsory retirement of 9 June 2016 (counsel's figure, so from about mid-1983: start year derived). The Army Council retired him with 37 other officers (the 'Army 38'); the National Industrial Court set the retirement aside on 3 June 2019 and ordered reinstatement, which reports in 2022 and 2025 say the Army had not carried out.

    Read the evidence · 2 sources
    • Daily Post

      2019-06-03: "the claimant was only 53 years as at the time of the retirement, and had only served for 32 years, 11 months and five days"

      the claimant was only 53 years as at the time of the retirement, and had only served for 32 years, 11 months and five days
    • Vanguard

      2025-06-30: "In 2016, he was compulsorily retired from the Nigerian Army, a decision later deemed wrongful and illegal by the National Industrial Court."

      In 2016, he was compulsorily retired from the Nigerian Army, a decision later deemed wrongful and illegal by the National Industrial Court.
  • 2013–2015

    Peace mission to Sudan (Darfur)

    Senior officer in the team that led the mission (reported as commander of the UN troops in Darfur) · employee · military

    Vanguard (30 Jun 2025): in the team that led the peace mission to Sudan between 2013 and 2015; Vanguard (30 May 2026): 'commanded the United Nations troops in Darfu, Sudan'. The exact post and force are not stated.

    Read the evidence · 2 sources
    • Vanguard

      2025-06-30: "Major General Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma, retd, was in the team that led the peace mission to Sudan between 2013 and 2015."

      Major General Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma, retd, was in the team that led the peace mission to Sudan between 2013 and 2015.
    • Vanguard

      2026-05-30: "Gen. Ijioma who commanded the United Nations troops in Darfu, Sudan"

      Gen. Ijioma who commanded the United Nations troops in Darfu, Sudan

Family in public life

Documented relationships with people in public life. A family connection alone does not establish a business interest or wrongdoing.

No sourced public-family connections have been published here yet.

The record,
in public.

Elections contested, legislation and recognition. Read the entries, follow their sources, and form your own view.

Showing Ijioma Nwokoro IjiomaChange person

At the ballot

  • 2027 · Gubernatorial primary

    Action Peoples Party · Won · Abia

    Record notes

    INEC final list of candidates (Governorship, Abia State), published 2026-10-10 — SN 7; INEC name: IJIOMA NWOKORO IJIOMA; age 63; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FIRST SCHOOL LEAVING CERTIFICATE WASSCE NDA,NDAC,BSC,M.S.C; running mate: Nwoloki Lucky Eze · Primary: APP governorship primary in Umuahia, won by consensus (Vanguard, 30 May 2026; Punch, 3 Jun 2026); the primary day and any votes were not found. Running mate: Chief Eze Nwoloki (INEC: Nwoloki Lucky Eze) of Ukwa West; date named not found (The Sun, 2 Oct 2026).

    Read the evidence · 5 sources
    • inecnigeria.org
      Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma — gubernatorial 2027
    • Vanguard

      2026-10-11: "7. APP: Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma — Nwoloki Lucky Eze."

      7. APP: Ijioma Nwokoro Ijioma — Nwoloki Lucky Eze.
    • Punch

      2026-06-03: "Ijioma, who emerged as a consensus candidate at the party primary held in Umuahia"

      Ijioma, who emerged as a consensus candidate at the party primary held in Umuahia
    • Vanguard

      2026-05-30: "Speaking shortly after emerging by consensus as the governorship candidate of the Action Peoples Party (APP), Gen. Ijioma unveiled an ambitious blueprint for Abia"

      Speaking shortly after emerging by consensus as the governorship candidate of the Action Peoples Party (APP), Gen. Ijioma unveiled an ambitious blueprint for Abia
    • The Sun Nigeria

      2026-10-02: "flanked by his Deputy Governorship candidate, Chief Eze Nwoloki"

      flanked by his Deputy Governorship candidate, Chief Eze Nwoloki
Explore the complete public record

Power deserves
scrutiny.

Corruption cases, legal proceedings and asset disclosures. See what is documented, the person’s role, and the recorded outcome.

About Ijioma Nwokoro IjiomaBack to biography

Corruption & public accountability

No sourced, reviewed corruption-case entries are published here yet. Coverage is incomplete.

Legal proceedings & outcomes

Each proceeding keeps its own status and outcome. An allegation, charge, conviction, dismissal and acquittal describe different things.

No sourced, reviewed legal proceedings are published here yet.

Assets & declarations

Declarations are shown individually, with their year and source. They are not added together as a net-worth estimate.

No sourced asset declarations are published here yet. The absence of a document here does not establish whether a declaration was filed.

Sources and recorded outcomes travel with every entry. Updates, corrections and a subject’s documented response belong in the same record.

What comes next?

The campaign’s priorities and original documents, in their own words.

Campaign statements describe intentions. They are separate from the public record above.

Manifesto

A manifesto has not been published on this page yet. When available, the original document will appear here.