Mohammed Umar Bago & Garba Yakubu
- Mohammed Umar Bago’s role
- Candidate
- Race
- Niger
- Campaign status
- Active campaign record
No reviewed manifesto or campaign document with a source link is available here yet.
This term: 29 May 2023–present
THE PERSONEach line shows where it comes from. A listed contact is not proof it is answered or current.
Mohammed Umaru Bago (born 22 February 1974 in Minna) is the Governor of Niger State, in office since 29 May 2023, and the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate for the election of 6 February 2027 (INEC final list, 10 October 2026), with Deputy Governor Yakubu Garba again as running mate. The APC affirmed him as its sole candidate on 21 May 2026, and he announced on 14 July 2026 that he was keeping Garba on the…
Mohammed Umaru Bago (born 22 February 1974 in Minna) is the Governor of Niger State, in office since 29 May 2023, and the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate for the election of 6 February 2027 (INEC final list, 10 October 2026), with Deputy Governor Yakubu Garba again as running mate. The APC affirmed him as its sole candidate on 21 May 2026, and he announced on 14 July 2026 that he was keeping Garba on the ticket. A banker before politics (he says he was in the top management of Afribank when it collapsed), he was first elected to the House of Representatives for Chanchaga Federal Constituency in 2011 on the Congress for Progressive Change ticket and was re-elected on the APC ticket in 2015 and 2019. He chaired the House Committee on Maritime Safety, Education and Administration (reported in 2018 and 2019). On 11 June 2019 he lost the election for Speaker of the 9th House to the APC's preferred candidate, Femi Gbajabiamila, by 283 votes to 76; days earlier an Abuja lawyer had sued to bar him from the race, alleging he was dismissed from Afribank in 2009, an allegation Bago called false (no ruling found). He won the APC governorship primary on the night of 26-27 May 2022 with 540 votes against 386 for the Blueprint publisher Mohammed Idris Malagi, and the general election on 18 March 2023 with 469,896 votes to 387,476 for the PDP's Isah Liman Kantigi, who said he would not go to court. In 2025 he was named in two lawsuits over the state government's closure of Badeggi FM radio in Minna (one in the Minna High Court, one in the Federal High Court, Lagos); no judgment has been reported. Education: Marafa Primary School, Minna (1985), Federal Government College, Jos (1991), a BSc in Political Science from Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, a postgraduate diploma in management (Federal University of Technology, Minna, 2001), an MBA in Economics (Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma, 2003) and a master's degree in finance (University of Calabar, 2005), with years as printed by Vanguard; Premium Times prints different years for the last two.
What happened. What was said.
What the evidence establishes.
Read the role, the response and the outcome together.
No publishable court or accountability record is linked. This does not establish the absence of wrongdoing. Explore the documented service, elections and background below.
A campaign and a term in office are different parts of the story.
No reviewed manifesto or campaign document with a source link is available here yet.
21 linked entries · 29 distinct source links
Review dates are separate from event dates.
Mohammed Umar Bago was born on 22 Feb 1974.
First School Leaving Certificate
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
West African School Certificate
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Postgraduate Diploma in Management · Management
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
MBA (Economics) · Economics
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Master's degree in Finance · Finance
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Chanchaga · Niger
Elected on the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) platform, a party that no longer exists in the register (so no party_acronym). Poll day is the national National Assembly election date of 9 April 2011 (not stated in the cited reports). Vote count not found.
Chanchaga · Niger
Took office
Service ended
Recorded periods in this office: 6 Jun 2011 – 9 Jun 2015; 9 Jun 2015 – 11 Jun 2019 (APC).
All Progressives Congress · Chanchaga · Niger
Re-elected on the APC platform. Poll day is the national National Assembly election date of 28 March 2015 (not stated in the cited reports). Vote count not found.
All Progressives Congress · Chanchaga · Niger
Daily Trust (26 Feb 2019): Bago (APC) 39,391 votes; Abdullahi Buba (PDP) 17,869. Poll day is the national election date of 23 February 2019. Percentage not stored (valid-vote total not found).
All Progressives Congress
Election of the Speaker of the 9th House of Representatives (vote of members, not a public poll), Tuesday 11 June 2019. Gbajabiamila (APC, the party's preferred candidate) 283 votes; Bago 76, backed by PDP members and APC dissidents who argued the post belonged to the North-Central.
All Progressives Congress · Niger
APC governorship primary for the 2023 election, Minna. Voting ran through the night; result announced the morning of Friday 27 May 2022 (poll day stored as 26 May, inferred). Bago 540; Mohammed Idris Malagi (Blueprint publisher) 386; Sani Ndanusa 84; then-Deputy Governor Mohammed Ketso 17; five others 10 between them. 52.07% computed from the listed tallies (1,037); the…
APC governorship primary for the 2023 election, Minna. Voting ran through the night; result announced the morning of Friday 27 May 2022 (poll day stored as 26 May, inferred). Bago 540; Mohammed Idris Malagi (Blueprint publisher) 386; Sani Ndanusa 84; then-Deputy Governor Mohammed Ketso 17; five others 10 between them. 52.07% computed from the listed tallies (1,037); the reports' valid-vote totals conflict (1,049 vs 571).
Announced by the newspaper on 11 December 2023; the newspaper's own award.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
All Progressives Congress · Niger
Declared winner by INEC returning officer Prof. Clement Alawa on 20 March 2023 (poll 18 March) with 469,896 votes in 20 of 25 LGAs; Isah Liman Kantigi (PDP) 387,476. 53.82% computed from 873,020 valid votes (Premium Times/NAN). The PDP candidate said he would not challenge the result in court; no election petition against the result was found. Running mate: Yakubu Garba; both…
Declared winner by INEC returning officer Prof. Clement Alawa on 20 March 2023 (poll 18 March) with 469,896 votes in 20 of 25 LGAs; Isah Liman Kantigi (PDP) 387,476. 53.82% computed from 873,020 valid votes (Premium Times/NAN). The PDP candidate said he would not challenge the result in court; no election petition against the result was found. Running mate: Yakubu Garba; both sworn in 29 May 2023.
Niger
Received at the 2025 Workers' Day celebration in Minna (1 May 2025), as reported by Daily Trust.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
All Progressives Congress · Niger
also listed as: Mohammed Umar Bago · INEC final list of candidates (Governorship, Niger State), published 2026-10-10 — SN 4; INEC name: MOHAMMED UMARU BAGO; age 52; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FIRST SCHOOL LEAVING CERTIFICATE SSCE BS.c; running mate: Garba Yakubu · APC primary: Thursday 21 May 2026, Minna. Governor Bago was affirmed as the party's sole…
also listed as: Mohammed Umar Bago · INEC final list of candidates (Governorship, Niger State), published 2026-10-10 — SN 4; INEC name: MOHAMMED UMARU BAGO; age 52; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FIRST SCHOOL LEAVING CERTIFICATE SSCE BS.c; running mate: Garba Yakubu · APC primary: Thursday 21 May 2026, Minna. Governor Bago was affirmed as the party's sole (consensus) candidate by card-carrying members from all 277 wards, with no ballot count reported (Channels, Daily Post, Leadership). He retained Deputy Governor Yakubu Garba as running mate, announced on Tuesday 14 July 2026 (Daily Post, Leadership). INEC reading checked on the rendered PDF (2026-10-10): name MOHAMMED UMARU BAGO, qualifications FIRST SCHOOL LEAVING CERTIFICATE, SSCE, BS.c, each in the correct person's cell.
APC member on whose platform he was re-elected to the House in 2015 and 2019 and won the 2023 governorship; first elected in 2011 on the CPC platform (a party no longer in the register); date joined the APC not found
An end date is not recorded for this membership.
Afribank Nigeria Plc
Banker before entering politics in 2011. He says he was one of the top management staff of Afribank when the bank collapsed and was taken over (acquired by AMCON/CBN, renamed Mainstream Bank, later Polaris Bank). Years not found. A 2019 court suit alleging he was dismissed for misappropriation is an allegation he denies and is recorded under legal cases.
Chair · House
The end of this committee role is not recorded.
BSc Political Science · Political Science
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
A useful profile shows the limits of its evidence as clearly as the evidence itself.
No publishable record is linked here. This is a coverage gap, not a clean bill of health.
No sourced disclosure record is available here. No personal wealth figure can be inferred.
This profile does not yet link expenditure or completed projects to documented responsibility. Approval alone does not establish delivery.
A reviewed source may establish that an allegation was made; it does not establish guilt. Open each record’s sources to read its evidence. Historical reporting may not establish a case’s current status.
As Governor of Niger State, Mohammed Umar Bago presides over Niger State's public finances.
Niger State's approved budget for 2026 is ₦1,073,991,335,895 (about ₦1.1T).
Niger State budget 2026Niger State received ₦120,366,464,099 (about ₦120.4B) in FAAC federal allocations between January and July 2026.
Niger State FAAC allocations 2026Help improve the record
Suggestions from the community, awaiting review. These are not verified profile facts. Votes help reviewers assess suggestions; they do not establish whether a claim is true.
No community proposals are awaiting review. Know something missing or incorrect? Suggest a correction and include a source.
The wider picture
Explore the current representatives listed for Niger.