Chibuzo Okereke & Bintu Konto
- Chibuzo Okereke’s role
- Candidate
- Race
- Nigeria
- Campaign status
- Active campaign record
No reviewed manifesto or campaign document with a source link is available here yet.
Candidacy is separate from office held
THE PERSONEach line shows where it comes from. A listed contact is not proof it is answered or current.
Sunday Chibuzo Okereke (INEC: OKEREKE SUNDAY CHIBUZO) is the Labour Party (LP) presidential candidate for the election of 16 January 2027, with Hajja Bintu Konto as his running mate. A legislative-governance consultant and policy analyst, he is 43 by INEC's September 2026 list, was born in Arochukwu, Abia State, and lost his father at 13. He obtained his First School Leaving Certificate at Arochukwu Central School and…
Sunday Chibuzo Okereke (INEC: OKEREKE SUNDAY CHIBUZO) is the Labour Party (LP) presidential candidate for the election of 16 January 2027, with Hajja Bintu Konto as his running mate. A legislative-governance consultant and policy analyst, he is 43 by INEC's September 2026 list, was born in Arochukwu, Abia State, and lost his father at 13. He obtained his First School Leaving Certificate at Arochukwu Central School and graduated in accounting from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka (2012), where he was Students' Union president. He then earned a master's in legislative studies from the University of Benin with the National Institute for Legislative and Democratic Studies (2018), winning the President of the Senate academic excellence award, a master's in public administration from Baze University (2023), and a PhD in legislative governance studies from the Federal University Lokoja (October 2025). He founded ERGAF-AFRICA, a legislative-governance research organisation, in 2018 by his own account; its National Assembly Deliberative Barometer rates the productivity of the legislature. He has worked as a legislative consultant to House of Representatives committees, including the Public Accounts Committee and, in the 10th House, the committee that monitors standing and ad hoc committees. He is an executive-in-residence at Miva Open University, a director at Zaura Energy Limited, and the founder of the Project Hope Alive initiative for schoolchildren. By his own account he was earlier a youth campaigner in the Not Too Young To Run movement and Deputy National Youth Leader of the Alliance for New Nigeria. He became a Fellow of the Institute of Strategic Management Nigeria in July 2025 and holds the Arochukwu traditional title of Ikemba-Aro (December 2024). The Labour Party has been split between a leadership under Julius Abure and one under Nenadi Usman, appointed caretaker chairman in September 2024 with the backing of Abia Governor Alex Otti. After a Supreme Court judgment of 4 April 2025, the Federal High Court (21 January 2026) and the Court of Appeal (21 April 2026) upheld Usman's leadership and ordered INEC to recognise it, and she was elected substantive chairman on 28 April 2026; Abure's appeal to the Supreme Court was pending. Okereke, who served on the Usman-led party's screening committee in May 2026, was adopted by consensus as its presidential candidate on 30 May 2026, the day the Abure faction adopted Kennedy Ahanotu, and the party's National Executive Committee ratified him on 11 June 2026. He named Konto as running mate on 11 July 2026. INEC's final list of 12 September 2026 carries the Okereke-Konto ticket as the LP's (SN 10); the Abure faction said it would await the Supreme Court.
What happened. What was said.
What the evidence establishes.
Read the role, the response and the outcome together.
No publishable court or accountability record is linked. This does not establish the absence of wrongdoing. Explore the documented service, elections and background below.
A campaign and a term in office are different parts of the story.
No reviewed manifesto or campaign document with a source link is available here yet.
25 linked entries · 42 distinct source links
Review dates are separate from event dates.
Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Accounting, with honours · Accounting
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Won the eighth President of the Senate Academic Excellence Endowment Award in 2018 as the overall best graduating student of the University of Benin / NILDS master's programme in legislative studies. Day not found.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Erudite Growth and Advancement Foundation Africa (ERGAF-AFRICA)
Founder and Global President of ERGAF-AFRICA, a not-for-profit policy research and legislative governance organisation, founded in 2018 by his own account. Its Legislative Governance Innovation and Policy Hub produces the National Assembly Deliberative Barometer and Policy Focus Report, an interactive dashboard rating parliamentary productivity, motion quality and committee…
Founder and Global President of ERGAF-AFRICA, a not-for-profit policy research and legislative governance organisation, founded in 2018 by his own account. Its Legislative Governance Innovation and Policy Hub produces the National Assembly Deliberative Barometer and Policy Focus Report, an interactive dashboard rating parliamentary productivity, motion quality and committee oversight, and it runs the Project Hope Alive initiative. His 2026 profile describes the presidency in the past tense; whether he stepped down on becoming a candidate is not stated.
Master of Legislative Studies (MLS), with distinction · Legislative Studies
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Master of Science (MSc) in Public Administration and Policy, with distinction · Public Administration
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Traditional title of Ikemba-Aro conferred in December 2024 (he was "Ikemba Aro designate" on 7 December; the report was posted on 31 December) by the Eze Aro of Arochukwu Kingdom, Eze Dr Eberechukwu Oji, and Nzuko Arochukwu, at a ceremony in Abia State attended by Governor Alex Otti. He also styles himself Ugwu-Amangwu, a village title. The Eze Aro stool has been locally contested; the record does not adjudicate that. Exact day not found.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Inducted as a full member of the Institute of Strategic Management of Nigeria (Chartered) in 2024, before his 2025 fellowship. Reported by ERGAF-AFRICA, his own organisation; day not certain.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Presented on Saturday 7 December 2024 at the Nzuko Arochukwu Abuja Branch end-of-year ceremony at the Arts and Cultural Centre, Abuja, in recognition of his work as an Aro Cultural Renaissance Ambassador. His campaign site attributes the award to the Abia State branch.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Legislative Governance Studies · Legislative Governance Studies
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Formally invested as a Fellow and member of the Institute's Body of Fellows, the ISMNC's highest professional cadre, at the 2025 ISMNC Annual Conference and 22nd Annual General Meeting in Port Harcourt (reported 25 July 2025; production records the conference as 23-25 July 2025), themed "Strategic Leadership in Disruptive Economy: Driving Sustainable National Development".
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
ERGAF-AFRICA (Erudite Growth and Advancement Foundation Africa)
ERGAF-AFRICA
Labour Party (LP)
Member of the eight-member committee chaired by National Chairman Nenadi Usman to screen presidential, governorship and National Assembly aspirants for the 2026 primaries, named in a public notice of Friday 15 May 2026 (presidential aspirants were screened on 22 May). He was himself adopted as the party's presidential candidate on 30 May 2026.
Labour Party
Adopted by consensus as the Labour Party's 2027 presidential candidate by the party leadership of National Chairman Nenadi Usman (the leadership INEC recognises), in a decision affirmed in Abuja on Saturday 30 May 2026, the day the LP held its primaries across the 36 states and the FCT; no vote count was published. The National Executive Committee ratified his candidacy and…
Adopted by consensus as the Labour Party's 2027 presidential candidate by the party leadership of National Chairman Nenadi Usman (the leadership INEC recognises), in a decision affirmed in Abuja on Saturday 30 May 2026, the day the LP held its primaries across the 36 states and the FCT; no vote count was published. The National Executive Committee ratified his candidacy and 1,210 other candidates on Thursday 11 June 2026, when Abia Deputy Governor Ikechukwu Emetu, for Governor Alex Otti, presented his certificate of return. Earlier the same Saturday the rival faction of Julius Abure adopted its National Youth Leader, Kennedy Ahanotu, as a parallel candidate; INEC did not accept that nomination (see the general-election row).
Labour Party
Labour Party presidential candidate for the election of Saturday 16 January 2027, with Hajja Bintu Konto as running mate. The party announced Konto on Saturday 11 July 2026, the last day of INEC's nomination window, and formally unveiled the ticket at its Abuja secretariat on Tuesday 21 July 2026. On Friday 10 July INEC listed the LP among parties that had not yet uploaded…
Labour Party presidential candidate for the election of Saturday 16 January 2027, with Hajja Bintu Konto as running mate. The party announced Konto on Saturday 11 July 2026, the last day of INEC's nomination window, and formally unveiled the ticket at its Abuja secretariat on Tuesday 21 July 2026. On Friday 10 July INEC listed the LP among parties that had not yet uploaded presidential and vice-presidential nominees, while the party said 99% of its list was uploaded and Okereke remained its candidate; the exact upload day is not reported. INEC displayed his particulars on 1 August 2026, and its final list of 12 September 2026 carries the ticket at SN 10 as "OKEREKE SUNDAY CHIBUZO" (43, male; declared qualifications FSLC, NABTEC, Ph.D., MLS (Distinction), MSC (Distinction) and BSC (Hons)) and "KONTO HAJJA BINTU" (54). He signed the National Peace Accord on 18 August 2026. The Abure faction, whose candidate Kennedy Ahanotu was not uploaded, said on 3 August 2026 that it was awaiting its Supreme Court appeal on the party leadership.
National Legislative Conference, Nigeria
Co-convener of the National Legislative Conference, an annual forum of legislators and citizens on governance (reported in 2023 and 2025). Years not found.
Zaura Energy Limited
Director in charge of Corporate Projects and Foundation Services at Zaura Energy Limited, an oil and gas marketing and exploration company, according to the company's management profile (which lists his MLS and NIIA membership). The profile also says he chaired Gakfaws Consults, a research, consultancy and project-management company. Years not found.
Certificate courses (lawmaking, oversight, committee management) · Legislative Studies
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Miva Open University, Abuja
Executive-in-Residence and resident lecturer for postgraduate students in the Department of Public Policy and Administration, Miva Open University, Abuja, as the Labour Party described him on 30 May 2026. Start year not found.
Project Hope Alive Initiative
Founder of the Project Hope Alive Initiative, run with ERGAF-AFRICA, which says it has reached over 10,000 schoolchildren with learning materials, mentoring and scholarships; it convenes Day of the African Child events. Founding year not found.
Member of the Labour Party; the joining day was not found, so no start date is stored. By his own profile he was the party's National Director of Administration and Director-General of its Institute for Governance and Leadership Development before his candidacy, and in May 2026 he sat on its screening committee for the primaries. He belongs to the leadership of Nenadi Usman, appointed caretaker chairman on 4 September 2024 and elected substantive chairman at the Umuahia…
Member of the Labour Party; the joining day was not found, so no start date is stored. By his own profile he was the party's National Director of Administration and Director-General of its Institute for Governance and Leadership Development before his candidacy, and in May 2026 he sat on its screening committee for the primaries. He belongs to the leadership of Nenadi Usman, appointed caretaker chairman on 4 September 2024 and elected substantive chairman at the Umuahia convention of 28 April 2026, which the courts (Federal High Court, 21 January 2026; Court of Appeal, 21 April 2026) and INEC recognise over the faction of Julius Abure, whose Supreme Court appeal was still pending. That leadership adopted him as its 2027 presidential candidate on 30 May 2026, and INEC's final list of 12 September 2026 names him (SN 10). Earlier, by his own account, he was Deputy National Youth Leader of the Alliance for New Nigeria (deregistered in 2020; no party record here).
An end date is not recorded for this membership.
House of Representatives, National Assembly of Nigeria
Legislative consultant to House of Representatives committees and to ranking members of the National Assembly. For the Public Accounts Committee he helped organise national events, including, by his account, the first International Conference on Public Accounts and Fiscal Governance; for the 10th House's Committee on Monitoring and Evaluation of Standing and Ad hoc Committees…
Legislative consultant to House of Representatives committees and to ranking members of the National Assembly. For the Public Accounts Committee he helped organise national events, including, by his account, the first International Conference on Public Accounts and Fiscal Governance; for the 10th House's Committee on Monitoring and Evaluation of Standing and Ad hoc Committees he led the design of the Legislative Committees Productivity Index. His campaign material credits the PAC's inquiries, which he supported as consultant (he was not its chairman), with large recoveries of public funds; no independent report attributes a figure to him. Years not found.
Students' Union Government, University of Nigeria, Nsukka
President of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka Students' Union Government, styled the "Golden Jubilee" SUG (UNN marked its 50th anniversary in 2010), while reading accounting. The exact year was not found.
Member · House
The end of this committee role is not recorded.
Leadership programme, public policy track · Public Policy
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
A useful profile shows the limits of its evidence as clearly as the evidence itself.
No held-office record is linked. Career text or election participation does not replace a documented term.
No publishable record is linked here. This is a coverage gap, not a clean bill of health.
No sourced disclosure record is available here. No personal wealth figure can be inferred.
This profile does not yet link expenditure or completed projects to documented responsibility. Approval alone does not establish delivery.
A reviewed source may establish that an allegation was made; it does not establish guilt. Open each record’s sources to read its evidence. Historical reporting may not establish a case’s current status.
Help improve the record
Suggestions from the community, awaiting review. These are not verified profile facts. Votes help reviewers assess suggestions; they do not establish whether a claim is true.
No community proposals are awaiting review. Know something missing or incorrect? Suggest a correction and include a source.