Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri
- Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri’s role
- Candidate
- Race
- Adamawa North · Adamawa
- Campaign status
- Active campaign record
No reviewed manifesto or campaign document with a source link is available here yet.
This term: 29 May 2023–present
THE PERSONEach line shows where it comes from. A listed contact is not proof it is answered or current.
Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri (born 27 October 1967 in Gulak, Madagali LGA) is the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate for Adamawa North Senatorial District in the Senate election of 16 January 2027 (INEC final list, 12 September 2026, where he appears as "Umaru Ahmadu"), and has been Governor of Adamawa State since 29 May 2019. He attended Central Primary School, Gulak (1975-81), Government Day Secondary School, Gulak and…
Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri (born 27 October 1967 in Gulak, Madagali LGA) is the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate for Adamawa North Senatorial District in the Senate election of 16 January 2027 (INEC final list, 12 September 2026, where he appears as "Umaru Ahmadu"), and has been Governor of Adamawa State since 29 May 2019. He attended Central Primary School, Gulak (1975-81), Government Day Secondary School, Gulak and Government Secondary School, Michika (1981-86), and the University of Maiduguri (BA History, 1992; postgraduate diploma in Policy and Strategic Studies, 2004), and ran a private business before entering politics. Elected to the Adamawa State House of Assembly for Madagali in 2007 and re-elected in 2011, he served as deputy speaker and majority leader and was elected Speaker in December 2011. He was twice acting governor: from 27 January 2012, after the Supreme Court ended Governor Murtala Nyako's tenure, until Nyako's re-election; and from 15 July 2014, after the Assembly impeached Nyako. As acting governor he won the PDP primary for the October 2014 by-election (6-7 September 2014), after the party's screening panel first disqualified him, but on 8 October 2014 the Federal High Court, Abuja held that Deputy Governor Bala Ngilari had never validly resigned, removed Fintiri and stopped the by-election. He remained Speaker until 2015. After a May 2015 petition by the Ngilari government, the EFCC arraigned him on 30 June 2016 with Mayim Construction and Properties Ltd before the Federal High Court, Abuja on five money-laundering counts over funds reported at about N1.9-2.9 billion; he pleaded not guilty and was granted N500 million bail on 1 July 2016. The trial has been suspended by his immunity as governor since 2019 and no verdict has been given. He won the PDP governorship ticket in 2018 and the 2019 election, after a supplementary poll, with 376,552 votes to Governor Jibrilla Bindow's 336,386. Re-elected in 2023 with 430,861 votes to Aishatu Dahiru Ahmed (Binani)'s 398,788, he was declared winner on 18 April 2023 after the Resident Electoral Commissioner had unlawfully declared Binani; the tribunal, the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court (31 January 2024) upheld his election. He was made Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) in 2023. On 27 February 2026 he moved from the PDP to the APC with his cabinet, and on 18 May 2026 he won the APC primary for Adamawa North with 160,579 votes.
What happened. What was said.
What the evidence establishes.
Read the role, the response and the outcome together.
A campaign and a term in office are different parts of the story.
No reviewed manifesto or campaign document with a source link is available here yet.
32 linked entries · 43 distinct source links
Review dates are separate from event dates.
Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri was born on 27 Oct 1967.
First School Leaving Certificate
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Secondary education (attended)
Whether the qualification was completed is not recorded.
Secondary school certificate (WASC/GCE declared to INEC)
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
BA History · History
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Postgraduate Diploma in Policy and Strategic Studies · Policy and Strategic Studies
Graduation stated in the linked record. This does not by itself authenticate an original certificate.
Madagali · Adamawa
Elected to the Adamawa State House of Assembly for Madagali constituency in 2007 (Premium Times profile, 2021). Party, poll day and votes not found in a source.
Adamawa State House of Assembly
Elected for Madagali in 2007 and re-elected in 2011 (Premium Times profile); left the Assembly in 2015. Inauguration days not found, so no mha position row is stored.
Madagali · Adamawa
Re-elected for Madagali constituency in 2011 (Premium Times profile, 2021). Party, poll day and votes not found in a source.
Adamawa State House of Assembly
Had served as deputy speaker and as majority leader before his election as Speaker in December 2011 (Daily Trust); years not found.
Adamawa State House of Assembly
Elected Speaker after the Assembly impeached Speaker Sadiq Ibrahim Dasin (reported 6 Dec 2011); held the office until 2015 (Premium Times profile). Interrupted by his acting governorships (Jan-Feb 2012, 15 Jul-8 Oct 2014). In early 2012 Daily Trust called him "former Speaker" barred from the Assembly complex during a leadership dispute, so the speakership was contested at…
Elected Speaker after the Assembly impeached Speaker Sadiq Ibrahim Dasin (reported 6 Dec 2011); held the office until 2015 (Premium Times profile). Interrupted by his acting governorships (Jan-Feb 2012, 15 Jul-8 Oct 2014). In early 2012 Daily Trust called him "former Speaker" barred from the Assembly complex during a leadership dispute, so the speakership was contested at times.
Adamawa
Took office
Interruption in recorded service: 9 Feb 2012 – 15 Jul 2014
Returned to office
Service ended
Recorded periods in this office: 27 Jan 2012 – 9 Feb 2012; 15 Jul 2014 – 8 Oct 2014 (PDP).
Peoples Democratic Party · Adamawa
PDP primary for the 11 October 2014 governorship by-election (after Nyako's impeachment), slated for Saturday 6 September and declared in the early hours of Sunday 7 September 2014: about 60% of more than 878 delegates; Ahmed Mohammed Modibbo second, Buba Marwa third; Nuhu Ribadu and six others had withdrawn. The PDP screening panel (Ibrahim Mantu) disqualified him on 30 Aug…
PDP primary for the 11 October 2014 governorship by-election (after Nyako's impeachment), slated for Saturday 6 September and declared in the early hours of Sunday 7 September 2014: about 60% of more than 878 delegates; Ahmed Mohammed Modibbo second, Buba Marwa third; Nuhu Ribadu and six others had withdrawn. The PDP screening panel (Ibrahim Mantu) disqualified him on 30 Aug 2014 on "moral grounds"/s.191(2); the appeal panel cleared him on 31 Aug 2014. The by-election never held: the Federal High Court, Abuja stopped it on 8 Oct 2014 and restored Bala Ngilari.
Being named in a court record does not by itself establish wrongdoing. A claimant, respondent and legal representative have different roles.
No separate response is linked. Read the court outcome and the original sources for the full account.
On Wednesday 8 October 2014 the court held that Deputy Governor Bala Ngilari did not resign in line with section 306 of the Constitution, granted his request that Fintiri be removed as acting governor, stopped the 11 October 2014 by-election and granted all of Ngilari's reliefs; Ngilari was sworn in the same day. Fintiri's exact party designation in the suit is not reported (medium confidence that he was a named respondent). No appeal outcome found.
On Wednesday 8 October 2014 the court held that Deputy Governor Bala Ngilari did not resign in line with section 306 of the Constitution, granted his request that Fintiri be removed as acting governor, stopped the 11 October 2014 by-election and granted all of Ngilari's reliefs; Ngilari was sworn in the same day. Fintiri's exact party designation in the suit is not reported (medium confidence that he was a named respondent). No appeal outcome found.
Peoples Democratic Party · Adamawa
Adamawa PDP governorship primary for 2019: 1,656 votes; Abubakar Waziri 465, Bala James Ngilari 76, Aliyu Ahmed 8, Umar Ardo (withdrew on Sunday 30 Sept) 1; returning officer Adamu Shuaibu (Guardian, 2 Oct 2018). Exact poll day not stated.
Peoples Democratic Party · Adamawa
Poll of 9 March 2019 was inconclusive; after a supplementary election in 44 polling units across 14 LGAs the returning officer Prof. Andrew Haruna declared him winner on the morning of Friday 29 March 2019: Fintiri 376,552; Governor Jibrilla (Muhammadu) Bindow (APC) 336,386; Abdul-Azeez Nyako (ADC) 113,237; Emmanuel Bello (SDP) 29,792. No petition outcome was researched.
Adamawa
Took office
Adamawa Governorship Cycle 2023-2027
Recorded periods in this office: 29 May 2019 – 29 May 2023 (PDP); 29 May 2023 – end date not recorded (APC).
Federal Government award for infrastructure delivery (reported 11 October 2022, from his press secretary's release).
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Peoples Democratic Party · Adamawa
Renominated by the Adamawa PDP: 663 of 668 votes, five void (Daily Post citing Channels TV, reported 25 May 2022; committee chairman Gibson Kataps). Exact poll day not stated.
Listed among 75 recipients of the CON in the national honours announced in May 2023 (Daily Trust, 29 May 2023); later official and press references style him "Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri, CON".
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Peoples Democratic Party · Adamawa
Poll of 18 March 2023 declared inconclusive; supplementary election Saturday 15 April 2023. On Sunday 16 April the Resident Electoral Commissioner Hudu Ari (Yunusa-Ari) declared Aishatu Dahiru Ahmed (Binani, APC) winner before collation ended; INEC suspended him and on Tuesday 18 April 2023 the returning officer Muhammed Melee declared Fintiri winner with 430,861 votes to…
Poll of 18 March 2023 declared inconclusive; supplementary election Saturday 15 April 2023. On Sunday 16 April the Resident Electoral Commissioner Hudu Ari (Yunusa-Ari) declared Aishatu Dahiru Ahmed (Binani, APC) winner before collation ended; INEC suspended him and on Tuesday 18 April 2023 the returning officer Muhammed Melee declared Fintiri winner with 430,861 votes to Binani's 398,788. Petitions by APC/Binani (tribunal 28 Oct 2023, Court of Appeal 18 Dec 2023, Supreme Court 31 Jan 2024) and by the SDP/Umar Ardo all failed.
Being named in a court record does not by itself establish wrongdoing. A claimant, respondent and legal representative have different roles.
No separate response is linked. Read the court outcome and the original sources for the full account.
The tribunal and the Court of Appeal dismissed the SDP candidate Umar Ardo's petition; on Tuesday 9 January 2024 the Supreme Court dismissed his appeal after his counsel asked to withdraw it.
The tribunal and the Court of Appeal dismissed the SDP candidate Umar Ardo's petition; on Tuesday 9 January 2024 the Supreme Court dismissed his appeal after his counsel asked to withdraw it.
Being named in a court record does not by itself establish wrongdoing. A claimant, respondent and legal representative have different roles.
No separate response is linked. Read the court outcome and the original sources for the full account.
Dismissed at every level: the tribunal (Justice Theodora Obi Uloho) on Saturday 28 October 2023, also holding the REC's declaration of Binani null and void; the Court of Appeal, Abuja on Monday 18 December 2023; and the Supreme Court (Justice John Inyang Okoro) on Wednesday 31 January 2024, which called the REC's declaration an act of criminality.
Dismissed at every level: the tribunal (Justice Theodora Obi Uloho) on Saturday 28 October 2023, also holding the REC's declaration of Binani null and void; the Court of Appeal, Abuja on Monday 18 December 2023; and the Supreme Court (Justice John Inyang Okoro) on Wednesday 31 January 2024, which called the REC's declaration an act of criminality.
Conferred at the university's 35th convocation on Saturday 26 July 2025.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Presented on Sunday 7 December 2025 at the Presidential Villa; the state government says it was his third NEAPS recognition.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Reported 5 October 2025.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Moved from the PDP to the APC on Friday 27 February 2026 (statewide broadcast; Punch photographed him with APC card no. 001). APC candidate for Adamawa North on INEC's final list (12 September 2026).
Current affiliation in the reviewed membership record.
All Progressives Congress · Adamawa North · Adamawa
constituency: Adamawa North Senatorial District · also listed as: Umaru Ahmadu, Ahmadu Fintiri, Umaru Fintiri · INEC final list of candidates (Senate), published 2026-09-12 — SN 4, p.5; INEC name: UMARU AHMADU; age 58; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC GCE WASC BA · Primary: APC Adamawa North senatorial primary held on Monday 18 May 2026 across Madagali, Maiha,…
constituency: Adamawa North Senatorial District · also listed as: Umaru Ahmadu, Ahmadu Fintiri, Umaru Fintiri · INEC final list of candidates (Senate), published 2026-09-12 — SN 4, p.5; INEC name: UMARU AHMADU; age 58; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC GCE WASC BA · Primary: APC Adamawa North senatorial primary held on Monday 18 May 2026 across Madagali, Maiha, Michika, Mubi North and Mubi South; at the end of collation in Mubi North on Tuesday 19 May the returning officer, Wilfred William, announced 174,514 votes cast: Ahmadu Fintiri 160,579, Hamisu Medugu 6,977, Abdulrahaman Kwacham 6,958 (Daily Post). Punch reported him unopposed after the incumbent senator, Amos Yohanna, declined to run. He had received the nomination form, bought by supporters, in Mubi on Saturday 2 May 2026.
FRN v. Ahmadu Umaru (alias Rt. Hon. Ahmadu Fintiri) & Mayim Construction and Properties Ltd: EFCC money-laundering charges
Being named in a court record does not by itself establish wrongdoing. A claimant, respondent and legal representative have different roles.
No separate response is linked. Read the court outcome and the original sources for the full account.
Pending, suspended by immunity. Origin: a petition dated 11 May 2015 by the Adamawa State Government (SSG Ibrahim Welye, under Governor Ngilari) alleging misuse of funds during his 2014 acting governorship. The EFCC arrested him in early June 2016 and on Thursday 30 June 2016 arraigned him with Mayim Construction and Properties Ltd on five money-laundering counts (reported as N970m plus $4.8m, about N1.9-2.9bn in total), including allegedly disguising N200m in October 2014 and a cash property purchase in Abuja in July 2015. He pleaded…
Pending, suspended by immunity. Origin: a petition dated 11 May 2015 by the Adamawa State Government (SSG Ibrahim Welye, under Governor Ngilari) alleging misuse of funds during his 2014 acting governorship. The EFCC arrested him in early June 2016 and on Thursday 30 June 2016 arraigned him with Mayim Construction and Properties Ltd on five money-laundering counts (reported as N970m plus $4.8m, about N1.9-2.9bn in total), including allegedly disguising N200m in October 2014 and a cash property purchase in Abuja in July 2015. He pleaded not guilty to all counts, was briefly remanded in Kuje prison and was granted N500m bail with two sureties on 1 July 2016. The prosecution's first witness (ex-SSG Welye) testified and was cross-examined in 2017. The case was on the Federal Government's Executive Order 6 watch list of October 2018. Since he became governor on 29 May 2019 the trial has been in abeyance under section 308 immunity (Punch, 2019 and 2020); no verdict. His response beyond the not-guilty plea was not found.
Pending, suspended by immunity. Origin: a petition dated 11 May 2015 by the Adamawa State Government (SSG Ibrahim Welye, under Governor Ngilari) alleging misuse of funds during his 2014 acting governorship. The EFCC arrested him in early June 2016 and on Thursday 30 June 2016 arraigned him with Mayim Construction and Properties Ltd on five money-laundering counts (reported as N970m plus $4.8m, about N1.9-2.9bn in total), including allegedly disguising N200m in October 2014…
Pending, suspended by immunity. Origin: a petition dated 11 May 2015 by the Adamawa State Government (SSG Ibrahim Welye, under Governor Ngilari) alleging misuse of funds during his 2014 acting governorship. The EFCC arrested him in early June 2016 and on Thursday 30 June 2016 arraigned him with Mayim Construction and Properties Ltd on five money-laundering counts (reported as N970m plus $4.8m, about N1.9-2.9bn in total), including allegedly disguising N200m in October 2014 and a cash property purchase in Abuja in July 2015. He pleaded not guilty to all counts, was briefly remanded in Kuje prison and was granted N500m bail with two sureties on 1 July 2016. The prosecution's first witness (ex-SSG Welye) testified and was cross-examined in 2017. The case was on the Federal Government's Executive Order 6 watch list of October 2018. Since he became governor on 29 May 2019 the trial has been in abeyance under section 308 immunity (Punch, 2019 and 2020); no verdict. His response beyond the not-guilty plea was not found.
Spouse
Wife of the Adamawa State Governor (Hajiya Lami Fintiri); runs the Office of the Wife of the Governor and appears in official programmes (e.g. with First Lady Oluremi Tinubu in Yola, June 2026). In July 2026 she was among 34 shop owners paid a total of N673m by the state government as compensation for a Yola demolition (Punch).
PDP member by 2014 (acting governor who won the party's by-election primary), PDP governorship candidate in 2019 and 2023; joining date not found. Left on Friday 27 February 2026, announcing in a statewide broadcast that he was moving to the APC with his cabinet and PDP officials.
Being named in a court record does not by itself establish wrongdoing. A claimant, respondent and legal representative have different roles.
No separate response is linked. Read the court outcome and the original sources for the full account.
Questioned in Yola (reported 24 October 2014) over a petition alleging that a 14-km street-light contract he awarded as acting governor was priced at N2.5bn against an actual cost of N283m. He confirmed the questioning and said he should be commended for appearing personally to set the records straight. No outcome reported.
Questioned in Yola (reported 24 October 2014) over a petition alleging that a 14-km street-light contract he awarded as acting governor was priced at N2.5bn against an actual cost of N283m. He confirmed the questioning and said he should be commended for appearing personally to set the records straight. No outcome reported.
A useful profile shows the limits of its evidence as clearly as the evidence itself.
No sourced disclosure record is available here. No personal wealth figure can be inferred.
This profile does not yet link expenditure or completed projects to documented responsibility. Approval alone does not establish delivery.
A reviewed source may establish that an allegation was made; it does not establish guilt. Open each record’s sources to read its evidence. Historical reporting may not establish a case’s current status.
As Governor of Adamawa State, Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri presides over Adamawa State's public finances.
Adamawa State's approved budget for 2026 is ₦583,331,380,496 (about ₦583.3B).
Adamawa State budget 2026Adamawa State received ₦118,786,993,398 (about ₦118.8B) in FAAC federal allocations between January and July 2026.
Adamawa State FAAC allocations 2026Help improve the record
Suggestions from the community, awaiting review. These are not verified profile facts. Votes help reviewers assess suggestions; they do not establish whether a claim is true.
No community proposals are awaiting review. Know something missing or incorrect? Suggest a correction and include a source.
The wider picture
Explore the current representatives listed for Adamawa.