Adekunle Rufai Omoaje & Shehu Hussaini
- Adekunle Rufai Omoaje’s role
- Candidate
- Race
- Nigeria
- Campaign status
- Active campaign record
No reviewed manifesto or campaign document with a source link is available here yet.
Candidacy is separate from office held
THE PERSONEach line shows where it comes from. A listed contact is not proof it is answered or current.
Adekunle Rufai Omoaje, listed by INEC as "Rufai Adekunle Omo-Aje" and known by the chieftaincy title Aare, is the Action Alliance (AA) presidential candidate for the election of 16 January 2027 and the party's National Chairman. A businessman from Ede in Osun State, he was born on 15 January 1955, according to his INEC nomination form as reported in the press, and declared the First School Leaving Certificate and WAEC as his…
Adekunle Rufai Omoaje, listed by INEC as "Rufai Adekunle Omo-Aje" and known by the chieftaincy title Aare, is the Action Alliance (AA) presidential candidate for the election of 16 January 2027 and the party's National Chairman. A businessman from Ede in Osun State, he was born on 15 January 1955, according to his INEC nomination form as reported in the press, and declared the First School Leaving Certificate and WAEC as his qualifications. In 2022 he said he had been in politics for more than 40 years, but no public office or earlier election of his was found. He was elected AA National Chairman at a convention in Osogbo in February 2020 and re-elected in 2021 and at a convention in Abeokuta on 7 October 2023. From September 2020 he was also acting secretary general of the Inter-Party Advisory Council. Kenneth Udeze, whom Omoaje's executive says it expelled, has claimed the same office, and courts have ruled both ways. A Federal High Court in Osogbo found for Omoaje in 2025, and INEC has listed him as National Chairman by court order since December 2025. A Federal High Court in Abuja dismissed his own suit against Udeze in November 2025, and his appeal against a 2024 Court of Appeal judgment for Udeze is pending at the Supreme Court. In January 2025 the Osolo of Isolo, in Ondo State, installed him as Aare Bobagunwa of Isolo. The party adopted him as its presidential candidate by consensus in Abuja on 30 May 2026. He was attacked at a burial ceremony in Odo Otin, Osun State, on 27 June 2026. His running mate is Shehu Hussaini, the party's Zamfara State chairman, and INEC's final list of 12 September 2026 includes the ticket.
What happened. What was said.
What the evidence establishes.
Read the role, the response and the outcome together.
A campaign and a term in office are different parts of the story.
No reviewed manifesto or campaign document with a source link is available here yet.
15 linked entries · 43 distinct source links
Review dates are separate from event dates.
Adekunle Rufai Omoaje was born on 15 Jan 1955.
Action Alliance (AA)
Elected National Chairman at the Action Alliance national convention in Osogbo in February 2020 (the NAN report of the day gives Sunday 16 February; a 2025 party statement says 14 February), after the party's Think Tank Committee had suspended and then expelled the previous chairman, Kenneth Udeze. Re-elected for a second term at a convention in Osogbo in March 2021, and again…
Elected National Chairman at the Action Alliance national convention in Osogbo in February 2020 (the NAN report of the day gives Sunday 16 February; a 2025 party statement says 14 February), after the party's Think Tank Committee had suspended and then expelled the previous chairman, Kenneth Udeze. Re-elected for a second term at a convention in Osogbo in March 2021, and again at the elective convention of 7 October 2023 at the Olusegun Obasanjo Presidential Library, Abeokuta, which INEC monitored. Udeze has disputed the office throughout, and courts have ruled both ways (see the legal records). INEC recognised Udeze until a Federal High Court (Osogbo) judgment of 17 February 2025 and later enforcement orders; it listed Omoaje as National Chairman "(By Court Order)" from December 2025. The Udeze camp still rejects this, pointing to Court of Appeal judgments and Omoaje's pending Supreme Court appeal (SC/CV/162/2024). He still held the office when nominated presidential candidate on 30 May 2026.
Inter-Party Advisory Council of Nigeria (IPAC)
Named Acting Secretary General in IPAC's four-man Central Management Committee, announced on Friday 4 September 2020 when the outgoing president Peter Ameh's tenure expired, to run the council for four months until February 2021 and conduct fresh elections (Ralph Okey Nwosu of the ADC was Acting President). Single source; the end of his service was not reported.
Chieftaincy title conferred on Hon Adekunle Rufai Omoaje, National Chairman of the Action Alliance (AA), at the palace of the Osolo of Isolo in Akure South Local Government Area, Ondo State, on Saturday 25 January 2025. The traditional rites of installation were performed by the Osolo of Isolo, Oba Edward Adewole, flanked by traditional chiefs of the town; the monarch said Omoaje's kindness, generosity and good gesture earned him the title.
An award records recognition; it is not an independent measure of performance.
Being named in a court record does not by itself establish wrongdoing. A claimant, respondent and legal representative have different roles.
No separate response is linked. Read the court outcome and the original sources for the full account.
Won at first instance. On Monday 17 February 2025 Justice Funmilola Demi-Ajayi held that INEC had unlawfully removed Omoaje and the party's state chairmen from its records, ordered it to restore them and awarded N100,000 costs against INEC. A judgment reported on Tuesday 11 March 2025, granting the reliefs sought by Omoaje, held the Abeokuta convention of 7 October 2023 to be the party's only valid convention and declared the Udeze conventions void. INEC complied only in part, and on 29 September 2025 the court ordered the…
Won at first instance. On Monday 17 February 2025 Justice Funmilola Demi-Ajayi held that INEC had unlawfully removed Omoaje and the party's state chairmen from its records, ordered it to restore them and awarded N100,000 costs against INEC. A judgment reported on Tuesday 11 March 2025, granting the reliefs sought by Omoaje, held the Abeokuta convention of 7 October 2023 to be the party's only valid convention and declared the Udeze conventions void. INEC complied only in part, and on 29 September 2025 the court ordered the Inspector-General of Police to arrest INEC chairman Mahmood Yakubu unless INEC complied within seven days; it repeated the order on 7 October 2025 and on 28-29 October 2025 refused Kenneth Udeze's application to be joined, awarding N100,000 costs against him. INEC said it had complied in time; it listed Omoaje as National Chairman in December 2025. Udeze calls the suit forum shopping and says the AA was named as 1st plaintiff without the party's authority. His camp cites the 29 September 2025 decision under a different number, FHC/OS/CS/34/2025. Motions CA/AK/268M/2025 and CA/AK/309M/2025 were before the Court of Appeal, Akure, in 2026; Udeze was allowed to withdraw from them as an interested party (reported 30 June 2026). The filing date was not found, and reports differ on whether he is a named plaintiff or the suit was brought in the party's name alone.
Won at first instance. On Monday 17 February 2025 Justice Funmilola Demi-Ajayi held that INEC had unlawfully removed Omoaje and the party's state chairmen from its records, ordered it to restore them and awarded N100,000 costs against INEC. A judgment reported on Tuesday 11 March 2025, granting the reliefs sought by Omoaje, held the Abeokuta convention of 7 October 2023 to be the party's only valid convention and declared the Udeze conventions void. INEC complied only in…
Won at first instance. On Monday 17 February 2025 Justice Funmilola Demi-Ajayi held that INEC had unlawfully removed Omoaje and the party's state chairmen from its records, ordered it to restore them and awarded N100,000 costs against INEC. A judgment reported on Tuesday 11 March 2025, granting the reliefs sought by Omoaje, held the Abeokuta convention of 7 October 2023 to be the party's only valid convention and declared the Udeze conventions void. INEC complied only in part, and on 29 September 2025 the court ordered the Inspector-General of Police to arrest INEC chairman Mahmood Yakubu unless INEC complied within seven days; it repeated the order on 7 October 2025 and on 28-29 October 2025 refused Kenneth Udeze's application to be joined, awarding N100,000 costs against him. INEC said it had complied in time; it listed Omoaje as National Chairman in December 2025. Udeze calls the suit forum shopping and says the AA was named as 1st plaintiff without the party's authority. His camp cites the 29 September 2025 decision under a different number, FHC/OS/CS/34/2025. Motions CA/AK/268M/2025 and CA/AK/309M/2025 were before the Court of Appeal, Akure, in 2026; Udeze was allowed to withdraw from them as an interested party (reported 30 June 2026). The filing date was not found, and reports differ on whether he is a named plaintiff or the suit was brought in the party's name alone.
Action Alliance (Udeze-led NEC) & Ors v Inspector-General of Police, Nigeria Police Force, INEC & Ors (Omoaje 5th respondent)
Being named in a court record does not by itself establish wrongdoing. A claimant, respondent and legal representative have different roles.
No separate response is linked. Read the court outcome and the original sources for the full account.
Pending. The Kenneth Udeze-led AA executive filed this rights suit on 17 July 2025 to stop police invitations which, it alleged, Omoaje had instigated through a letter of 10 July 2025. Omoaje is the 5th respondent. Justice Chizoba Oji granted an ex parte order keeping the status quo until the motion on notice is heard (reported 8 August 2025). No later ruling was found, and his response was not reported.
Pending. The Kenneth Udeze-led AA executive filed this rights suit on 17 July 2025 to stop police invitations which, it alleged, Omoaje had instigated through a letter of 10 July 2025. Omoaje is the 5th respondent. Justice Chizoba Oji granted an ex parte order keeping the status quo until the motion on notice is heard (reported 8 August 2025). No later ruling was found, and his response was not reported.
Being named in a court record does not by itself establish wrongdoing. A claimant, respondent and legal representative have different roles.
No separate response is linked. Read the court outcome and the original sources for the full account.
Lost. He asked the court to validate the Abeokuta convention of 7 October 2023 and to reject Udeze's leadership. On Thursday 6 November 2025 Justice Obiora Egwuatu upheld the objection by Udeze's counsel to the suit's competence and dismissed it (one report also says "struck out"). No appeal was reported. The filing date was not found.
Lost. He asked the court to validate the Abeokuta convention of 7 October 2023 and to reject Udeze's leadership. On Thursday 6 November 2025 Justice Obiora Egwuatu upheld the objection by Udeze's counsel to the suit's competence and dismissed it (one report also says "struck out"). No appeal was reported. The filing date was not found.
Being named in a court record does not by itself establish wrongdoing. A claimant, respondent and legal representative have different roles.
No separate response is linked. Read the court outcome and the original sources for the full account.
Withdrawn. He sought an order that INEC publish his name as the party's National Chairman until 2027. On Wednesday 12 November 2025 his counsel discontinued the suit without objection, and Justice Obiora Egwuatu struck it out. One source.
Withdrawn. He sought an order that INEC publish his name as the party's National Chairman until 2027. On Wednesday 12 November 2025 his counsel discontinued the suit without objection, and Justice Obiora Egwuatu struck it out. One source.
Action Alliance
INEC final list of candidates (Presidential), published 2026-09-12 — SN 1; INEC name: RUFAI ADEKUNLE OMO-AJE; age 71; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FLSC WAEC Adopted by consensus as the Action Alliance presidential candidate at the party's presidential primary and nomination ceremony in Abuja on Saturday 30 May 2026: delegates from the 36 states and the FCT adopted…
INEC final list of candidates (Presidential), published 2026-09-12 — SN 1; INEC name: RUFAI ADEKUNLE OMO-AJE; age 71; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FLSC WAEC Adopted by consensus as the Action Alliance presidential candidate at the party's presidential primary and nomination ceremony in Abuja on Saturday 30 May 2026: delegates from the 36 states and the FCT adopted him unanimously, with INEC officials and security agents monitoring. No vote figures were published. He was the party's National Chairman at the time.
Action Alliance
Action Alliance presidential candidate for the election of Saturday 16 January 2027, with Shehu Hussaini (reported as Shehu Hussaini Waziri Kucheri, the AA Zamfara State chairman, chosen by the party's northern state chairmen in July 2026) as running mate. INEC displayed the candidates' particulars (Form EC9) on Saturday 1 August 2026; its final list of candidates, published 12…
Action Alliance presidential candidate for the election of Saturday 16 January 2027, with Shehu Hussaini (reported as Shehu Hussaini Waziri Kucheri, the AA Zamfara State chairman, chosen by the party's northern state chairmen in July 2026) as running mate. INEC displayed the candidates' particulars (Form EC9) on Saturday 1 August 2026; its final list of candidates, published 12 September 2026, puts the ticket at SN 1 (INEC name RUFAI ADEKUNLE OMO-AJE; age 71; male; qualifications declared: FLSC, WAEC).
Current membership of the Action Alliance (AA). The day he joined was not found (he was already a party leader when elected National Chairman in February 2020, and said in May 2022 that he had joined politics "over 40 years ago"); no earlier party was found. He has been the party's National Chairman since February 2020 (re-elected in 2021 and on 7 October 2023), a title Kenneth Udeze also claims; INEC lists him as National Chairman "(By Court Order)". He was nominated the AA…
Current membership of the Action Alliance (AA). The day he joined was not found (he was already a party leader when elected National Chairman in February 2020, and said in May 2022 that he had joined politics "over 40 years ago"); no earlier party was found. He has been the party's National Chairman since February 2020 (re-elected in 2021 and on 7 October 2023), a title Kenneth Udeze also claims; INEC lists him as National Chairman "(By Court Order)". He was nominated the AA presidential candidate for 2027 on 30 May 2026.
An end date is not recorded for this membership.
Private business (firm not named)
Described in 2026 reports as a businessman ("business tycoon") from Ede, Osun State. No company, sector or years are named in any source found.
Adekunle Rufai Omoaje & Ors v Chief Uzewuru Nwachukwu & Ors (appeal from FCT/HC/CV/174/2022, AA national chairmanship)
Being named in a court record does not by itself establish wrongdoing. A claimant, respondent and legal representative have different roles.
No separate response is linked. Read the court outcome and the original sources for the full account.
Pending. In Chief Uzewuru Nwachukwu v Kenneth Udeze, Action Alliance and INEC (FCT/HC/CV/174/2022) the FCT High Court (Justice E. Enenche) gave judgment on 28 March 2022 reinstating Udeze as AA National Chairman. Omoaje said he had not been sued or served; he applied to set the judgment aside and then appealed, with leave, as an interested party. The Court of Appeal, Abuja, dismissed his appeal on 26 January 2024. His further appeal to the Supreme Court, SC/CV/162/2024 (Omoaje as appellant), was still pending in June 2026; no hearing…
Pending. In Chief Uzewuru Nwachukwu v Kenneth Udeze, Action Alliance and INEC (FCT/HC/CV/174/2022) the FCT High Court (Justice E. Enenche) gave judgment on 28 March 2022 reinstating Udeze as AA National Chairman. Omoaje said he had not been sued or served; he applied to set the judgment aside and then appealed, with leave, as an interested party. The Court of Appeal, Abuja, dismissed his appeal on 26 January 2024. His further appeal to the Supreme Court, SC/CV/162/2024 (Omoaje as appellant), was still pending in June 2026; no hearing or judgment date was found. The two camps disagree about an earlier interlocutory appeal, SC/CV/1259/2022: Udeze calls it abandoned, while Omoaje's camp says the Supreme Court affirmed Udeze's expulsion.
Pending. In Chief Uzewuru Nwachukwu v Kenneth Udeze, Action Alliance and INEC (FCT/HC/CV/174/2022) the FCT High Court (Justice E. Enenche) gave judgment on 28 March 2022 reinstating Udeze as AA National Chairman. Omoaje said he had not been sued or served; he applied to set the judgment aside and then appealed, with leave, as an interested party. The Court of Appeal, Abuja, dismissed his appeal on 26 January 2024. His further appeal to the Supreme Court, SC/CV/162/2024…
Pending. In Chief Uzewuru Nwachukwu v Kenneth Udeze, Action Alliance and INEC (FCT/HC/CV/174/2022) the FCT High Court (Justice E. Enenche) gave judgment on 28 March 2022 reinstating Udeze as AA National Chairman. Omoaje said he had not been sued or served; he applied to set the judgment aside and then appealed, with leave, as an interested party. The Court of Appeal, Abuja, dismissed his appeal on 26 January 2024. His further appeal to the Supreme Court, SC/CV/162/2024 (Omoaje as appellant), was still pending in June 2026; no hearing or judgment date was found. The two camps disagree about an earlier interlocutory appeal, SC/CV/1259/2022: Udeze calls it abandoned, while Omoaje's camp says the Supreme Court affirmed Udeze's expulsion.
As declared to INEC (final list of candidates, 12 September 2026): First School Leaving Certificate (listed as "FLSC") and WAEC (West African Examinations Council certificate). The schools and years were not found.
This profile text has not yet been broken down into individually reviewed qualifications.
Action Alliance
This is a party office, separate from an elected or appointed government position.
A useful profile shows the limits of its evidence as clearly as the evidence itself.
No held-office record is linked. Career text or election participation does not replace a documented term.
No sourced disclosure record is available here. No personal wealth figure can be inferred.
This profile does not yet link expenditure or completed projects to documented responsibility. Approval alone does not establish delivery.
A reviewed source may establish that an allegation was made; it does not establish guilt. Open each record’s sources to read its evidence. Historical reporting may not establish a case’s current status.
Help improve the record
Suggestions from the community, awaiting review. These are not verified profile facts. Votes help reviewers assess suggestions; they do not establish whether a claim is true.
No community proposals are awaiting review. Know something missing or incorrect? Suggest a correction and include a source.