WhatsApp is on the way.

You can already ask questions on the web or through Telegram.

On WebFull chat with charts, sources and follow-ups.TelegramSame answers, inside the app you already use.
The 2027 election

Presidential · Nigeria · 2027

Zenith Labour Party (ZLP)

Dan Nwanyanwu&Hassan Khalid

Two lives. One ticket. Explore their journeys, the public record, and the plans for Nigeria.

Meet the people
Dan Nwanyanwu
Dan NwanyanwuFor President
Hassan Khalid
Hassan KhalidFor Vice President

Before the ballot,
a life in the making.

The places, education and experiences behind the people on this ticket.

Daniel Daberechukwu Nwanyanwu (INEC: NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU), known as Dan Nwanyanwu, is the national chairman of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) and its presidential candidate for the election of 16 January 2027, with Hassan Khalid as running mate. He was born in 1959 in Amuzu-Amaimo, Ikeduru Local Government Area, Imo State. He attended St James Primary School, Amuzu, and Oraifite Boys' High School in Anambra State, studied labour-management relations at Howard University's School of Business, and completed the 1992 senior executive course of the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies (mni). He later read law at the University of Lagos and declares LLB and LLM degrees to INEC. He worked at Union Bank of Nigeria from 1979 to 1993 and rose through the bank workers' union, NUBIFIE, becoming its national president in 1989 and a member of the Nigeria Labour Congress national executive. After law school he practised in Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers. From 2004 to October 2014 he was national chairman of the NLC-founded Party for Social Democracy, renamed Labour Party, under whom it won the Ondo governorship in 2009; he was also acting Pro-Chancellor of Adekunle Ajasin University, received the national honour of Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR) in 2012 and was a Labour Party delegate to the 2014 National Conference. He chaired the party's Board of Trustees until he resigned from the party in February 2015. He was a claimant with the party in a 2014 suit over its leadership and certificate of registration; the rival faction later accused him over his July 2015 handover of the certificate to the NLC, without any charge or finding being reported. In June 2017 he co-founded the Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance, which suspended him that August. He joined the ZLP in 2018 and became its national chairman, and was re-elected in February 2025. As the ZLP presidential candidate in February 2023 he polled 77,665 votes. The party adopted him as its consensus presidential candidate at its convention in Abuja on 30 May 2026, and INEC's final list of 12 September 2026 names him as the ZLP candidate.

From the public profile

Read the evidence · 6 sources
  • INEC (Final List of Candidates, Presidential, Jan 2027 elections)

    2026-09-12 p.3: "18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM"

    18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM
  • Punch

    2023-03-01: "| Dan Nwanyanwu | ZLP | 77,665 |"

    | Dan Nwanyanwu | ZLP | 77,665 |
  • Daily Post

    2014-10-11: "Salam, has replaced Dan Nwanyanwu, who had spent 10 years and eight months as the party chairman."

    Salam, has replaced Dan Nwanyanwu, who had spent 10 years and eight months as the party chairman.
  • Premium Times (via r.jina.ai)

    2026-05-31: "Mr Nwanyanwu, who emerged the consensus candidate at the party’s national convention on Saturday in Abuja, made the pledge in his acceptance speech."

    Mr Nwanyanwu, who emerged the consensus candidate at the party’s national convention on Saturday in Abuja, made the pledge in his acceptance speech.
  • Daily Trust

    2025-11-01: "He joined the Zenith Labour Party in 2018 and remains the national chairman of the party."

    He joined the Zenith Labour Party in 2018 and remains the national chairman of the party.
  • Daily Trust

    2023-01-21: "Born in 1959 in Amuzu-Amaimo in the Ikeduru Local Government Area of Imo State, Nwanyanwu has made a mark in defending the region on issues related to it."

    Born in 1959 in Amuzu-Amaimo in the Ikeduru Local Government Area of Imo State, Nwanyanwu has made a mark in defending the region on issues related to it.

School years & education

  1. 1992

    National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS), Kuru

    Member of the National Institute (mni), Senior Executive Course 14 · Kuru, Jos, Plateau State

    Read the evidence · 2 sources
  2. Dates not recorded

    Howard University

    Labour Management Relations · Washington, D.C., United States of America

    Read the evidence · 4 sources
    • dailytrust.com
      He attended Saint James Primary School in Amuzu, and Oraifite Boys’ High School in Anambra State. He read Labour Management Relations at the School of Business, Howard University, Washington D.C, United States of America.
    • kapital929.fm
      He has degree in banking, labour management relations, law and went further to Havard University, school of business.
    • facebook.com
      He obtained his primary and secondary education in #Anambra state, before proceeding to study Labour Management Relations at the Howard University, School of Business.
    • en.wikipedia.org
      He studied Labour Management Relations at the School of Business, Howard University, Washington D.C.
  3. Dates not recorded

    University of Lagos

    Bachelor of Laws (LLB) · Law · Lagos

    Read the evidence · 2 sources
    • INEC (Final List of Candidates, Presidential)

      2026-09-12: "18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM"

      18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM
    • Kapital FM 92.9 (archived 1 Aug 2015)

      2015: "He worked with the Union Bank for 30 years, after which he went to complete his law programme in the University of Lagos and joined Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers as a practitioner."

      He worked with the Union Bank for 30 years, after which he went to complete his law programme in the University of Lagos and joined Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers as a practitioner.
  4. Dates not recorded

    St James Primary School, Amuzu

    First School Leaving Certificate (FSLC) · Amuzu, Ikeduru LGA, Imo State

    Read the evidence · 2 sources
    • INEC (Final List of Candidates, Presidential)

      2026-09-12: "18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM"

      18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM
    • Daily Trust

      2023-01-21: "He attended Saint James Primary School in Amuzu, and Oraifite Boys’ High School in Anambra State."

      He attended Saint James Primary School in Amuzu, and Oraifite Boys’ High School in Anambra State.
  5. Dates not recorded

    Oraifite Boys' High School

    West African School Certificate (WAEC) · Oraifite, Anambra State

    Read the evidence · 3 sources
    • INEC (Final List of Candidates, Presidential)

      2026-09-12: "18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM"

      18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM
    • Kapital FM 92.9 (archived 1 Aug 2015)

      2015: "He had his secondary school in Anambra state."

      He had his secondary school in Anambra state.
    • Daily Trust

      2023-01-21: "He attended Saint James Primary School in Amuzu, and Oraifite Boys’ High School in Anambra State."

      He attended Saint James Primary School in Amuzu, and Oraifite Boys’ High School in Anambra State.

A working life

  1. 1979–1993

    Union Bank of Nigeria

    Banking

    Worked with Union Bank of Nigeria from 1979 until he resigned in 1993 (February 1993 per Wikipedia) to complete his studies; he then read law at the University of Lagos. While at the bank he rose through the bank workers' union, NUBIFIE, to become its national president in 1989. A 2015 radio profile says he was at the bank for "30 years", which conflicts with the dated account kept here.

    Read the evidence · 4 sources
    • dailytrust.com
      He was elected as the national treasurer of the National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE), a position he held until 1989 when he was elected the national president of the union, which automatically made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC). … He worked in Union Bank between 1979 and 1993.
    • web.archive.org
      He worked with the Union Bank for 30 years, after which he went to complete his law programme in the University of Lagos and joined Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers as a practitioner.
    • elections.civichive.org
      He worked with Union Bank between 1979-1993 and during his appointment, held several roles within the National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE), rising to the role of National Treasurer and subsequently National President from 1989. The latter appointment automatically made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC).
    • en.wikipedia.org
      He worked with Union Bank between 1979-1993 and during his appointment, held several roles within the National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE), rising to the role of National Treasurer and subsequently National President from 1989. The latter appointment automatically made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC). … In February 1993, he resigned his appointment with the Union Bank of Nigeria to enable him to finish the programme.
  2. From 1989

    National President

    National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE)

    Rose through the bank workers' union while at Union Bank: local and branch secretary in Apapa, Lagos; chairman of the Union Bank unit's Domestic Committee from 1982, which made him a member of the union's National Executive Council; National Treasurer until 1989; then National President from 1989, which made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress. The end of his presidency was not found.

    Read the evidence · 1 source
    • Daily Trust

      2023-01-21: "He was elected as the national treasurer of the National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE), a position he held until 1989 when he was elected the national president of the union, which automatically made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC)."

      He was elected as the national treasurer of the National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE), a position he held until 1989 when he was elected the national president of the union, which automatically made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC).
  3. 2004–2014

    National Chairman

    Labour Party (LP)

    National Chairman of the Party for Social Democracy, renamed Labour Party, from 2004; re-elected in 2009. His term expired in December 2013 and the party's NEC extended it by nine months; he announced in September 2014 that he would not seek another term, and Abdulkadir Salam succeeded him at the Akure convention on 11 October 2014, after "10 years and eight months". Under him the party won the Ondo governorship with Olusegun Mimiko (2009). He held the post when he received the OFR in 2012.

    Read the evidence · 4 sources
    • Daily Trust

      2014-09-10: "Nwanyanwu has been holding the position since 2004 and has completed two terms."

      Nwanyanwu has been holding the position since 2004 and has completed two terms.
    • Daily Trust

      2012-09-10: "53 “BARR. DAN NWANYANWU, mni” “NATIONAL CHAIRMAN, LABOUR PARTY ” OFR"

      53 “BARR. DAN NWANYANWU, mni” “NATIONAL CHAIRMAN, LABOUR PARTY ” OFR
    • Daily Post

      2014-10-11: "Salam, has replaced Dan Nwanyanwu, who had spent 10 years and eight months as the party chairman."

      Salam, has replaced Dan Nwanyanwu, who had spent 10 years and eight months as the party chairman.
    • Daily Trust

      2014-09-17: "When I came on board as chairman of the party in 2004 I was given only the certificate of registration of the party and nothing more."

      When I came on board as chairman of the party in 2004 I was given only the certificate of registration of the party and nothing more.
  4. 2014–2015

    Chairman, Board of Trustees

    Labour Party (LP)

    Chairman of the Labour Party Board of Trustees after stepping down as national chairman in October 2014, until his resignation letter of 13 February 2015, in which he also left the party.

    Read the evidence · 2 sources
    • Daily Trust

      2015-02-17: "In a resignation letter dated February 13, 2015 and addressed to the party’s national chairman Alhaji A. A. Salam, Nwanyanwu resigned as the party’s chairman Board of Trustees (BoT) and withdrew his membership of the party but did not state which party he is joining."

      In a resignation letter dated February 13, 2015 and addressed to the party’s national chairman Alhaji A. A. Salam, Nwanyanwu resigned as the party’s chairman Board of Trustees (BoT) and withdrew his membership of the party but did not state which party he is joining.
    • Daily Trust

      2023-01-21: "He was the national chairman of the Labour Party (LP), and later, chairman of its Board of Trustees (BoT) before he dumped the party for the ZLP, where he equally became the national chairman before picking the party’s presidential ticket."

      He was the national chairman of the Labour Party (LP), and later, chairman of its Board of Trustees (BoT) before he dumped the party for the ZLP, where he equally became the national chairman before picking the party’s presidential ticket.
  5. 2014

    Delegate (Labour Party)

    National Conference 2014

    One of the two Labour Party delegates (with A. A. Salam) among the 492 delegates to the 2014 National Conference, inaugurated on 17 March 2014.

    Read the evidence · 1 source
    • Daily Post

      2014-03-07: "LABOUR PARTY 1. Chief (Barr.) Dan Nwanyanwu, mni 2. Comrade A. A. Salam (Baraden Paiko)"

      LABOUR PARTY 1. Chief (Barr.) Dan Nwanyanwu, mni 2. Comrade A. A. Salam (Baraden Paiko)
  6. 2017

    Co-founder

    Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA)

    Co-founded the Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance with Raymond Dokpesi and unveiled its interim National Executive Committee in Abuja on Monday 5 June 2017. On 8 August 2017 the APDA National Working Committee announced that it had suspended Dokpesi, Nwanyanwu and Mainasara Ilo over an NEC meeting it called illegal, accusing them of trying to take the party to the PDP. By October 2018 he was national chairman of the Zenith Labour Party. APDA has no party record here.

    Read the evidence · 3 sources
    • Daily Post

      2017-06-05: "Speaking at the unveiling of the Interim National Executive Committee (NEC) in Abuja, he explained that the party was a convergence of patriotic citizens who were committed to the indivisibility and corporate existence of Nigeria."

      Speaking at the unveiling of the Interim National Executive Committee (NEC) in Abuja, he explained that the party was a convergence of patriotic citizens who were committed to the indivisibility and corporate existence of Nigeria.
    • Punch (via r.jina.ai)

      2017-06-05: "The founder of DAAR communications, Raymond Dokpesi and Dan Nwanyanwu, the former chairman of the labour party have unveiled a new political party called Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA)"

      The founder of DAAR communications, Raymond Dokpesi and Dan Nwanyanwu, the former chairman of the labour party have unveiled a new political party called Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA)
    • Daily Post

      2017-08-08: "Newly registered political party, Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance, APDA, has suspended three of its Chieftains namely; Raymond Dokpesi, Dan Nwayanwu and Mainasara Ilo."

      Newly registered political party, Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance, APDA, has suspended three of its Chieftains namely; Raymond Dokpesi, Dan Nwayanwu and Mainasara Ilo.
  7. Dates not recorded

    Acting Pro-Chancellor and Chairman, Governing Council

    Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko

    Acting Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Governing Council of Adekunle Ajasin University (Ondo State) in place of the substantive chairman, Erastus Akingbola: he had been acting for more than two years by October 2011 (so from about 2009) and still held the post at the university's 3rd convocation in December 2012. The university's ASUU branch passed a vote of no confidence in him at a congress on 31 October 2011, accusing him of overstaying the six-month acting period and sidelining internal council members; no response by him was found. The end date was not found.

    Read the evidence · 3 sources
    • P.M. News

      2012-12-01: "Acting Pro-Chancellor and Chairman, Governing Council of the Institution, Chief Dan Nwayawu during the 3rd Convocation Ceremony of the institution at the weekend."

      Acting Pro-Chancellor and Chairman, Governing Council of the Institution, Chief Dan Nwayawu during the 3rd Convocation Ceremony of the institution at the weekend.
    • Daily Post

      2012-02-11: "The Academic Union said Nwanyanwu, the Labour Party National Chairman has been acting as pro-chancellor of the university illegally for more than two years following the non-availability of the substantive chairman, Mr. Erastus Akingbola."

      The Academic Union said Nwanyanwu, the Labour Party National Chairman has been acting as pro-chancellor of the university illegally for more than two years following the non-availability of the substantive chairman, Mr. Erastus Akingbola.
    • Daily Trust

      2023-01-21: "He was the pro-chancellor and chairman of the Governing Council of the Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko in Ondo State (AAUA)."

      He was the pro-chancellor and chairman of the Governing Council of the Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko in Ondo State (AAUA).
  8. Dates not recorded

    Legal practitioner

    Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers

    Joined Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers as a legal practitioner after completing his law studies at the University of Lagos. The years were not found (Wikipedia gives his call to the Bar as 2000).

    Read the evidence · 1 source
    • Kapital FM 92.9 (archived 1 Aug 2015)

      2015: "He worked with the Union Bank for 30 years, after which he went to complete his law programme in the University of Lagos and joined Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers as a practitioner."

      He worked with the Union Bank for 30 years, after which he went to complete his law programme in the University of Lagos and joined Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers as a practitioner.

The path into public service

A timeline of offices held has not yet been added.

Life outside
the office.

Work, writing and public family connections. The experiences and relationships beyond a political career.

About Dan NwanyanwuBack to biography

Work & organisations

  • Dates not recorded

    Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko

    Acting Pro-Chancellor and Chairman, Governing Council · Higher education

    Acting Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Governing Council of Adekunle Ajasin University (Ondo State) in place of the substantive chairman, Erastus Akingbola: he had been acting for more than two years by October 2011 (so from about 2009) and still held the post at the university's 3rd convocation in December 2012. The university's ASUU branch passed a vote of no confidence in him at a congress on 31 October 2011, accusing him of overstaying the six-month acting period and sidelining internal council members; no response by him was found. The end date was not found.

    Read the evidence · 3 sources
    • P.M. News

      2012-12-01: "Acting Pro-Chancellor and Chairman, Governing Council of the Institution, Chief Dan Nwayawu during the 3rd Convocation Ceremony of the institution at the weekend."

      Acting Pro-Chancellor and Chairman, Governing Council of the Institution, Chief Dan Nwayawu during the 3rd Convocation Ceremony of the institution at the weekend.
    • Daily Post

      2012-02-11: "The Academic Union said Nwanyanwu, the Labour Party National Chairman has been acting as pro-chancellor of the university illegally for more than two years following the non-availability of the substantive chairman, Mr. Erastus Akingbola."

      The Academic Union said Nwanyanwu, the Labour Party National Chairman has been acting as pro-chancellor of the university illegally for more than two years following the non-availability of the substantive chairman, Mr. Erastus Akingbola.
    • Daily Trust

      2023-01-21: "He was the pro-chancellor and chairman of the Governing Council of the Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko in Ondo State (AAUA)."

      He was the pro-chancellor and chairman of the Governing Council of the Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko in Ondo State (AAUA).
  • Dates not recorded

    Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers

    Legal practitioner · employee · Legal services

    Joined Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers as a legal practitioner after completing his law studies at the University of Lagos. The years were not found (Wikipedia gives his call to the Bar as 2000).

    Read the evidence · 1 source
    • Kapital FM 92.9 (archived 1 Aug 2015)

      2015: "He worked with the Union Bank for 30 years, after which he went to complete his law programme in the University of Lagos and joined Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers as a practitioner."

      He worked with the Union Bank for 30 years, after which he went to complete his law programme in the University of Lagos and joined Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers as a practitioner.
  • From 1989

    National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE)

    National President · Trade union

    Rose through the bank workers' union while at Union Bank: local and branch secretary in Apapa, Lagos; chairman of the Union Bank unit's Domestic Committee from 1982, which made him a member of the union's National Executive Council; National Treasurer until 1989; then National President from 1989, which made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress. The end of his presidency was not found.

    Read the evidence · 1 source
    • Daily Trust

      2023-01-21: "He was elected as the national treasurer of the National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE), a position he held until 1989 when he was elected the national president of the union, which automatically made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC)."

      He was elected as the national treasurer of the National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE), a position he held until 1989 when he was elected the national president of the union, which automatically made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC).
  • 2017

    Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA)

    Co-founder · founder · Party politics

    Co-founded the Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance with Raymond Dokpesi and unveiled its interim National Executive Committee in Abuja on Monday 5 June 2017. On 8 August 2017 the APDA National Working Committee announced that it had suspended Dokpesi, Nwanyanwu and Mainasara Ilo over an NEC meeting it called illegal, accusing them of trying to take the party to the PDP. By October 2018 he was national chairman of the Zenith Labour Party. APDA has no party record here.

    Read the evidence · 3 sources
    • Daily Post

      2017-06-05: "Speaking at the unveiling of the Interim National Executive Committee (NEC) in Abuja, he explained that the party was a convergence of patriotic citizens who were committed to the indivisibility and corporate existence of Nigeria."

      Speaking at the unveiling of the Interim National Executive Committee (NEC) in Abuja, he explained that the party was a convergence of patriotic citizens who were committed to the indivisibility and corporate existence of Nigeria.
    • Punch (via r.jina.ai)

      2017-06-05: "The founder of DAAR communications, Raymond Dokpesi and Dan Nwanyanwu, the former chairman of the labour party have unveiled a new political party called Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA)"

      The founder of DAAR communications, Raymond Dokpesi and Dan Nwanyanwu, the former chairman of the labour party have unveiled a new political party called Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA)
    • Daily Post

      2017-08-08: "Newly registered political party, Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance, APDA, has suspended three of its Chieftains namely; Raymond Dokpesi, Dan Nwayanwu and Mainasara Ilo."

      Newly registered political party, Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance, APDA, has suspended three of its Chieftains namely; Raymond Dokpesi, Dan Nwayanwu and Mainasara Ilo.
  • 2014–2015

    Labour Party (LP)

    Chairman, Board of Trustees · Party politics

    Chairman of the Labour Party Board of Trustees after stepping down as national chairman in October 2014, until his resignation letter of 13 February 2015, in which he also left the party.

    Read the evidence · 2 sources
    • Daily Trust

      2015-02-17: "In a resignation letter dated February 13, 2015 and addressed to the party’s national chairman Alhaji A. A. Salam, Nwanyanwu resigned as the party’s chairman Board of Trustees (BoT) and withdrew his membership of the party but did not state which party he is joining."

      In a resignation letter dated February 13, 2015 and addressed to the party’s national chairman Alhaji A. A. Salam, Nwanyanwu resigned as the party’s chairman Board of Trustees (BoT) and withdrew his membership of the party but did not state which party he is joining.
    • Daily Trust

      2023-01-21: "He was the national chairman of the Labour Party (LP), and later, chairman of its Board of Trustees (BoT) before he dumped the party for the ZLP, where he equally became the national chairman before picking the party’s presidential ticket."

      He was the national chairman of the Labour Party (LP), and later, chairman of its Board of Trustees (BoT) before he dumped the party for the ZLP, where he equally became the national chairman before picking the party’s presidential ticket.
  • 2014

    National Conference 2014

    Delegate (Labour Party) · Public policy

    One of the two Labour Party delegates (with A. A. Salam) among the 492 delegates to the 2014 National Conference, inaugurated on 17 March 2014.

    Read the evidence · 1 source
    • Daily Post

      2014-03-07: "LABOUR PARTY 1. Chief (Barr.) Dan Nwanyanwu, mni 2. Comrade A. A. Salam (Baraden Paiko)"

      LABOUR PARTY 1. Chief (Barr.) Dan Nwanyanwu, mni 2. Comrade A. A. Salam (Baraden Paiko)
  • 2004–2014

    Labour Party (LP)

    National Chairman · Party politics

    National Chairman of the Party for Social Democracy, renamed Labour Party, from 2004; re-elected in 2009. His term expired in December 2013 and the party's NEC extended it by nine months; he announced in September 2014 that he would not seek another term, and Abdulkadir Salam succeeded him at the Akure convention on 11 October 2014, after "10 years and eight months". Under him the party won the Ondo governorship with Olusegun Mimiko (2009). He held the post when he received the OFR in 2012.

    Read the evidence · 4 sources
    • Daily Trust

      2014-09-10: "Nwanyanwu has been holding the position since 2004 and has completed two terms."

      Nwanyanwu has been holding the position since 2004 and has completed two terms.
    • Daily Trust

      2012-09-10: "53 “BARR. DAN NWANYANWU, mni” “NATIONAL CHAIRMAN, LABOUR PARTY ” OFR"

      53 “BARR. DAN NWANYANWU, mni” “NATIONAL CHAIRMAN, LABOUR PARTY ” OFR
    • Daily Post

      2014-10-11: "Salam, has replaced Dan Nwanyanwu, who had spent 10 years and eight months as the party chairman."

      Salam, has replaced Dan Nwanyanwu, who had spent 10 years and eight months as the party chairman.
    • Daily Trust

      2014-09-17: "When I came on board as chairman of the party in 2004 I was given only the certificate of registration of the party and nothing more."

      When I came on board as chairman of the party in 2004 I was given only the certificate of registration of the party and nothing more.
  • 1979–1993

    Union Bank of Nigeria

    employee · Banking

    Worked with Union Bank of Nigeria from 1979 until he resigned in 1993 (February 1993 per Wikipedia) to complete his studies; he then read law at the University of Lagos. While at the bank he rose through the bank workers' union, NUBIFIE, to become its national president in 1989. A 2015 radio profile says he was at the bank for "30 years", which conflicts with the dated account kept here.

    Read the evidence · 4 sources
    • dailytrust.com
      He was elected as the national treasurer of the National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE), a position he held until 1989 when he was elected the national president of the union, which automatically made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC). … He worked in Union Bank between 1979 and 1993.
    • web.archive.org
      He worked with the Union Bank for 30 years, after which he went to complete his law programme in the University of Lagos and joined Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers as a practitioner.
    • elections.civichive.org
      He worked with Union Bank between 1979-1993 and during his appointment, held several roles within the National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE), rising to the role of National Treasurer and subsequently National President from 1989. The latter appointment automatically made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC).
    • en.wikipedia.org
      He worked with Union Bank between 1979-1993 and during his appointment, held several roles within the National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE), rising to the role of National Treasurer and subsequently National President from 1989. The latter appointment automatically made him a member of the National Executive Council of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC). … In February 1993, he resigned his appointment with the Union Bank of Nigeria to enable him to finish the programme.

Family in public life

Documented relationships with people in public life. A family connection alone does not establish a business interest or wrongdoing.

No sourced public-family connections have been published here yet.

In their own words

Books, articles and other published work.

  • Ethnic Politics and Ethnic Minority Problems in Nigeria

    1992 · paper · National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS)

    Read the evidence · 3 sources
    • books.google.com

      front matter / p.75

      NIPSS Essays: 1990-1996 -- Jacob Tsado, Funmi Para-Mallam, Dupe Omopintemi -- National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, 1997 - Nigeria. Contents: Senior Executive Course 14 1992 5780 (p.57) ... 1 page matching "Dan Nwanyanwu" in this book (Page 75).
    • books.google.com

      p.75

      Ethnic Politics and Ethnic Minority Problems in Nigeria Dan Nwanyanwu November 1992 This paper analyses the issue of the rancour of minority ethnic groups over political, economic and cultural domination by the major ethnic groups of Hausa/Fulani, Yoruba and Ibo in Nigeria.
    • en.wikipedia.org
      In 1992, he attended the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru, Jos and was awarded "Member of the National Institute" (mni).

The record,
in public.

Elections contested, legislation and recognition. Read the entries, follow their sources, and form your own view.

Showing Dan NwanyanwuChange person

At the ballot

  • 2027 · Presidential election

    Zenith Labour Party · Pending

    Record notes

    ZLP presidential candidate for the election of Saturday 16 January 2027, with Hassan Khalid as running mate (INEC final list of candidates, published 12 September 2026, SN 18; INEC name NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU; age 66; qualifications declared: FSLC, WAEC, LLB, LLM).

    Read the evidence · 1 source
    • INEC (Final List of Candidates, Presidential)

      2026-09-12: "18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM"

      18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM
  • 2027 · Presidential primary

    Zenith Labour Party · Won

    Record notes

    INEC final list of candidates (Presidential), published 2026-09-12 — SN 18; INEC name: NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU; age 66; male; qualification (as declared to INEC): FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM Adopted as ZLP consensus presidential candidate at the party national convention in Abuja on Saturday 30 May 2026 (reported by Leadership as a stakeholders' meeting); he is the party's national chairman.

    Read the evidence · 3 sources
    • INEC (Final List of Candidates, Presidential)

      2026-09-12: "18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM"

      18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM
    • Leadership (via r.jina.ai)

      2026-05-31: "The Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) has endorsed its national chairman, Dan Nwanyanwu, as its consensus presidential candidate for the 2027 general elections."

      The Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) has endorsed its national chairman, Dan Nwanyanwu, as its consensus presidential candidate for the 2027 general elections.
    • www.premiumtimesng.com
      Dan Nwanyanwu — presidential 2027
  • 2023 · Presidential election

    Zenith Labour Party · Lost

    77,665 votes · 0.32%

    Record notes

    ZLP presidential candidate at the election of Saturday 25 February 2023. He polled 77,665 votes; INEC declared Bola Tinubu (APC) the winner in the early hours of 1 March 2023. The 0.32% share is computed from 24,025,940 valid votes, not read from an INEC result sheet.

    Read the evidence · 2 sources
    • Punch

      2023-03-01: "| Dan Nwanyanwu | ZLP | 77,665 |"

      | Dan Nwanyanwu | ZLP | 77,665 |
    • Daily Trust

      2023-01-21: "Dan Nwanyanwu, the presidential candidate of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) for the February 25 poll, is a man of many parts."

      Dan Nwanyanwu, the presidential candidate of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) for the February 25 poll, is a man of many parts.
  • 2023 · Presidential primary

    Zenith Labour Party · Won

    Record notes

    Emerged as the Zenith Labour Party presidential candidate for 2023 at the party national convention / presidential primary in Abuja, attended by 185 delegates and monitored by INEC. The day (Wednesday 8 June 2022) is read from Leadership's report of 9 June 2022 ("yesterday"); the party had first planned the primary for 1 June 2022. No vote figures were reported. The same convention announced a change of the party's name to "Zenith Progressives Alliance", which did not take effect.

    Read the evidence · 3 sources
    • Punch

      2022-05-21: "Our primaries for the state assemblies will commence on May 27 and terminate with the presidential primary on June 1, where the presidential candidate will be unveiled."

      Our primaries for the state assemblies will commence on May 27 and terminate with the presidential primary on June 1, where the presidential candidate will be unveiled.
    • Leadership

      2022-06-09: "Also, the national chairman of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Chief Dan Nwanyanwu, yesterday emerged as the party’s presidential candidate."

      Also, the national chairman of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Chief Dan Nwanyanwu, yesterday emerged as the party’s presidential candidate.
    • Daily Trust

      2023-01-21: "He emerged as the presidential candidate of the ZLP at its national convention in June 2022, ahead of this year’s poll."

      He emerged as the presidential candidate of the ZLP at its national convention in June 2022, ahead of this year’s poll.

Recognition

  • Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR)

    2012 · Federal Government of Nigeria (President Goodluck Jonathan)

    Read the evidence · 4 sources
    • INEC (party register)

      2026-09-29: "Party Leadership National Chairman Chief Dan Nwanyanwu, OFR National Secretary Yahaya Makama"

      Party Leadership National Chairman Chief Dan Nwanyanwu, OFR National Secretary Yahaya Makama
    • dailytrust.com
      2012 NATIONAL HONOURS AWARD LIST ... 53 "BARR. DAN NWANYANWU, mni" "NATIONAL CHAIRMAN, LABOUR PARTY " OFR
    • channelstv.com
      149 Nigerians have been shortlisted to be conferred with National Honours on September 17, 2012. ... Others are Wole Olanipekun (OFR), former Military Governor of Lagos State, Brigadier-General Mobolaji Johnson (Rtd.) (CFR); Cletus Ibeto (CON), Benin-based lawyer, Omoruyi Omonuwa (OFR), Alex Izinyon (OFR), Labour Party Chairman, Dan Nwuanyanwu (OFR) and an artiste, Teco Benson (MFR). ... [table row 53] BARR. DAN NWANYANWU, mni | NATIONAL CHAIRMAN, LABOUR PARTY | OFR
    • en.wikipedia.org
      President Goodluck Jonathan conferred the National Honours of Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic, (OFR) on him on 17 September 2012.
  • Otun Atunluse of Ondo Kingdom

    2010 · Osemawe of Ondo, Oba Victor Adesimbo Kiladejo (Jilo III)

    Read the evidence · 1 source
    • Daily Trust

      2023-01-21: "The Osemawe of Ondo Kingdom, HRM Oba Dr. Victor Adesimbo Kiladejo (Jilo 111), on the 50th anniversary of the Osemawa Dynasty, conferred on him the title of Otun Atunluse of Ondo Kingdom on 17 July 2010."

      The Osemawe of Ondo Kingdom, HRM Oba Dr. Victor Adesimbo Kiladejo (Jilo 111), on the 50th anniversary of the Osemawa Dynasty, conferred on him the title of Otun Atunluse of Ondo Kingdom on 17 July 2010.
Explore the complete public record

Power deserves
scrutiny.

Corruption cases, legal proceedings and asset disclosures. See what is documented, the person’s role, and the recorded outcome.

About Dan NwanyanwuBack to biography

Corruption & public accountability

No sourced, reviewed corruption-case entries are published here yet. Coverage is incomplete.

Legal proceedings & outcomes

Each proceeding keeps its own status and outcome. An allegation, charge, conviction, dismissal and acquittal describe different things.

Labour Party v. those parading as the party's 'National Caretaker Committee' - Certificate of Registration / leadership tussle; Dan Nwanyanwu named as 4th claimant (filed 19 November 2014)

Recorded status
Closed
Type / forum
Civil · Federal High Court, Abuja
Case number
Not recorded
Filed
2014-11-19
Resolved
Not recorded

Recorded outcome

An outcome has not been recorded here.

Read the evidence · 4 sources
  • allafrica.com
    The Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) and the former National Chairman of the Labour Party (LP), Chief Dan Nwanyanwu, face the risk of being charged for contempt of court for dabbling into the issue of the party ownership tussle pending in court.
  • theeagleonline.com.ng
    The lawyer in the letter dated July 31 told Wabba that the party in 19 November 2014 has sued those parading themselves as the National Caretaker Committee of the party with same Nwanyanwu being the 4th claimant in the suit pending before a Federal High Court Abuja and which hearing has been adjourned till 30 September, 2015 by the court.
  • pmnewsnigeria.com
    The lawyer in the letter dated July 31 told Wabba that the party in 19 November 2014 has sued those parading themselves as the National Caretaker Committee of the party with same Nwanyanwu being the 4th claimant in the suit pending before a Federal High Court Abuja and which hearing has been adjourned till 30 September, 2015 by the court.
  • vanguardngr.com
    Ekomaru in the letter dated July 31, told Wabba that the party on November 19, 2014 had sued those parading themselves as the National Caretaker Committee of the party with same Nwanyanwu being the fourth claimant in the suit pending before a Federal High Court Abuja and which hearing had been adjourned by the court till September 30, 2015.

Record checked 26 Sept 2026

Assets & declarations

Declarations are shown individually, with their year and source. They are not added together as a net-worth estimate.

No sourced asset declarations are published here yet. The absence of a document here does not establish whether a declaration was filed.

Sources and recorded outcomes travel with every entry. Updates, corrections and a subject’s documented response belong in the same record.

What comes next?

The campaign’s priorities and original documents, in their own words.

Campaign statements describe intentions. They are separate from the public record above.

Manifesto

A manifesto has not been published on this page yet. When available, the original document will appear here.

A story you can
look into.

This page brings together campaign material and public profiles. Missing records are marked, and disputed entries keep their labels.

Campaign record last checked 1 October 2026

Sources for Dan Nwanyanwu

  1. 01INEC (Final List of Candidates, Presidential)2026-09-12: "18 ZLP NIGERIA Presidential NWANYANWU DANIEL DABERECHUKWU None 66 M FSLC WAEC LLB, LLM"
  2. 02Punch2023-03-01: "| Dan Nwanyanwu | ZLP | 77,665 |"
  3. 03Daily Post2014-10-11: "Salam, has replaced Dan Nwanyanwu, who had spent 10 years and eight months as the party chairman."
  4. 04www.premiumtimesng.com
  5. 05Daily Trust2025-11-01: "He joined the Zenith Labour Party in 2018 and remains the national chairman of the party."
  6. 06Daily Trust2023-01-21: "The Osemawe of Ondo Kingdom, HRM Oba Dr. Victor Adesimbo Kiladejo (Jilo 111), on the 50th anniversary of the Osemawa Dynasty, conferred on him the title of Otun Atunluse of Ondo Kingdom on 17 July 2010."
  7. 07Kapital FM 92.9 (archived 1 Aug 2015)2015: "He worked with the Union Bank for 30 years, after which he went to complete his law programme in the University of Lagos and joined Chief Rotimi Williams Chambers as a practitioner."
  8. 08dailytrust.com
  9. 09elections.civichive.org
  10. 10en.wikipedia.org
  11. 11books.google.comp.75
  12. 12Daily Trust2014-09-10: "Nwanyanwu has been holding the position since 2004 and has completed two terms."
  13. 13Daily Trust2014-09-17: "When I came on board as chairman of the party in 2004 I was given only the certificate of registration of the party and nothing more."
  14. 14Daily Trust2015-02-17: "In a resignation letter dated February 13, 2015 and addressed to the party’s national chairman Alhaji A. A. Salam, Nwanyanwu resigned as the party’s chairman Board of Trustees (BoT) and withdrew his membership of the party but did not state which party he is joining."
  15. 15Daily Post2014-03-07: "LABOUR PARTY 1. Chief (Barr.) Dan Nwanyanwu, mni 2. Comrade A. A. Salam (Baraden Paiko)"
  16. 16Daily Post2017-06-05: "Speaking at the unveiling of the Interim National Executive Committee (NEC) in Abuja, he explained that the party was a convergence of patriotic citizens who were committed to the indivisibility and corporate existence of Nigeria."
  17. 17Punch (via r.jina.ai)2017-06-05: "The founder of DAAR communications, Raymond Dokpesi and Dan Nwanyanwu, the former chairman of the labour party have unveiled a new political party called Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA)"
  18. 18Daily Post2017-08-08: "Newly registered political party, Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance, APDA, has suspended three of its Chieftains namely; Raymond Dokpesi, Dan Nwayanwu and Mainasara Ilo."
  19. 19facebook.com
  20. 20P.M. News2012-12-01: "Acting Pro-Chancellor and Chairman, Governing Council of the Institution, Chief Dan Nwayawu during the 3rd Convocation Ceremony of the institution at the weekend."
  21. 21Daily Post2012-02-11: "The Academic Union said Nwanyanwu, the Labour Party National Chairman has been acting as pro-chancellor of the university illegally for more than two years following the non-availability of the substantive chairman, Mr. Erastus Akingbola."
  22. 22Leadership (via r.jina.ai)2026-05-31: "The Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) has endorsed its national chairman, Dan Nwanyanwu, as its consensus presidential candidate for the 2027 general elections."
  23. 23Punch2022-05-21: "Our primaries for the state assemblies will commence on May 27 and terminate with the presidential primary on June 1, where the presidential candidate will be unveiled."
  24. 24Leadership2022-06-09: "Also, the national chairman of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Chief Dan Nwanyanwu, yesterday emerged as the party’s presidential candidate."
  25. 25INEC (party register)2026-09-29: "Party Leadership National Chairman Chief Dan Nwanyanwu, OFR National Secretary Yahaya Makama"
  26. 26channelstv.com
  27. 27allafrica.com
  28. 28theeagleonline.com.ng
  29. 29pmnewsnigeria.com
  30. 30vanguardngr.com
  31. 31books.google.comfront matter / p.75